We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To recommend...”
Review of Lucky Lake Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucky Lake Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Grigny, Rhône-Alpes, France
2 reviews
“To recommend...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very good youth hostel: colored, quiet and beautiful environment (with the lake), good welcome, good services(departments), clean(appropriate). The distance separating the youth hostel in Amsterdam was not problematic. Negative petit point: not enough information to my taste concerning museums, the exits(releases) or others. I advise(recommend) it to every traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    92
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
215
91
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've stayed in several hostels and Lucky Lake was by far my favorite. The location was so peaceful and beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The free breakfast of bread with multiple toppings, coffee, cereal, yogurt, and make your own eggs section was superb. This hostel really made my first time in Amsterdam perfect. I will recommend it to anyone and everyone and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octopusrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Probably the best hostel I stayed during my euro trip, the staffs were very friendly and interactive. Other facilities are good and to reach the city it just takes 20 minutes from their shuttle and Holendrecht metro station. Ambience is good and located in a very silent and beautiful neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank niru_utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Manager at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Yay!!! Nice review, we're glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This place wasn't for us, but I don't think we were quite ready to try a hostel!

We stayed in a double cabin. It was clean and the bed was really comfy. The shower and toilet facilities were also really clean and well maintained,

We knew the distance from Amsterdam before we booked and decided to go ahead anyway. The metro ride is fine but the shuttle is only every hour and this can be a little frustrating. It's 1 euro each one way so for a couple it is 4 euro return which does add up each day. There isn't an alternative walking route to get to the metro station so you're stuck and have to use it.

The staff were friendly and always accommodating. We thought that the hostel was closer to the nearest town and restaurant than it actually is. We were told when we asked that it was actually a 40 minute walk away so we didn't bother because it was raining,

This place is great for younger people who are travelling and want to use the smoking facilities. But the non-smoking lounge is tiny and never has anyone in it so it lacks an atmosphere. The cabin is tiny so you can't really spend time in there. We missed having somewhere to go in the evening.

Tip - have plenty of change for the ticket machines at Holendrecht station to get to Amsterdam. The machines do take notes but they were broken the entire time we were there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Manager at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry that our hostel wasn't the best place for you. We are a smoker friendly hostel and i understand that when it's rainy and you don't want to be in the smoking lounge there are not a lot of other possibilities. In 2015 the shuttle will be free and we'll see which other things we can improve so thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good for couples, stayed in a caravan and it was perfect.
Very laid back but really helpful staff.
Good transport links although about 25 minutes from the city centre on the metro.
Great facilities and yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemojitomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Manager at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying and enjoying our yummy breakfast:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We liked vefy much. Nice place. Wesuggest to put afan inside the rooms during summer .
The rooms are nice and the services are good. The hostel is closed to a lake and to a small and beautiful city. The hostal is 20 minutes by metro from central station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MDALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Manager at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for staying and leaving a review. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I really enjoyed my recent stay at Lucky lake it's a fantastic place and it has a great atmosphere which is infectious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this place and are looking forward to going back there next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangermouce84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinkeveen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#143 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Lake Hostel

Property: Lucky Lake Hostel
Address: Vinkenkade 75, 3645 AP Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Vinkeveen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Vinkeveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Lake Hotel Abcoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing