We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most charming hostel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucky Lake Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucky Lake Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most charming hostel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My two friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was one of the nicest places in Amsterdam. The staff were really welcoming and gave us a map suggesting the best places to go. It's a little out of the way of the city centre, but it's totally worth staying here. They've got a cinema that's really comfortable, and with a collection of awesome movies, a communal smoking room that's filled with board games, a piano and a guitar! Definitely the best place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    85
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
193
79
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have been staying here for 3 nights and were totally amazed. you can just see and feel how much love has been put into this hostel.
the best part is that you can have your own private space as you rent a small trailer for yourself, or a friend or whatever. and even the dorms are big enough for everyone living in there with enough private space.
breakfast is served in an old school bus on the site and you can have as much you want. during the day the outdoor kitchen can be used to cook stuff and store your groceries in the fridges.
in the lucky lake hostel you can do everything at your own pace and time and no one is stopping you from it.
and when you have enough of amsterdam just rent a bike or a boat and take trips on the lakes or the very beautiful and charming countryside or the small city around the corner.
we have spend only 3 nights but coming back I feel as relaxed as a two week vacation somewhere else.
I think this is a close as it gets if you look for the fountain of youth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a interrailing trip round Europe. Originally wanted somewhere that was in the centre but came across lucky lake on trip advisor and saw that it was very highly rated.
Arrived at hollendrecht station whilst it was pouring it down but there was lots of bus shelters and the station itself to wait at until the shuttle came which was on time.
Checking in was simple and we were given a booklet of all important info including maps to the nearest village. We stayed in one of the cabins (or Wendy houses as my boyfriend liked to call it) which was very clean, cosy and had lots of room under the bed to store luggage.
Sadly the weather wasn't too good during our stay so we didn't get to try out any of the activities by the lake however we made use of the bikes and in site cinema which were both fun to do.
For our third night in Amsterdam we stayed in a central hotel so we could be nearer the station however this was a mistake as it was basic and very noisy, wish we could have spent the extra night in lucky lake!
Transport isn't a problem due to the shuttle and they have a deal with a taxi service incase you were arriving back after 1.30am (which I think is the last shuttle from the station)

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend to friends

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flappybird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had an absolutely amazing break at Lucky lake with my boyfriend Kris and would recommend it to any traveller who wants a relaxing place to retreat to. I've stayed in the centre of Amsterdam before and for me it has been too intense but this was an entirely different experience. I couldn't fault the hostel in anyway, it was the best campsite/hostel I have been to by far! We arrived and it was raining but the shuttle bus arrived on time and did so for the rest of the week.The drivers/hostel staff were all super friendly and very helpful and not for a moment did we feel uncomfortable or unwelcome in our surroundings. Although it was a wet day, the accommodation (caravan) was spotless and warm inside due to a heater and had loads of space to store luggage. The location was beautiful and bike hire was so cheap, we really enjoyed our trip into the near by town. The facilities were fantastic, excelling all expectations including a (very stylish) smoking room with games, kitchen area, free internet, small tuck shop and cinema. The breakfast was delicious and the staff went the extra mile to make sure that the guests were 100% happy. I would recommend renting a movie for 1 euro and making use of the caravan cinema (they have a huge film list and beanags!). We both felt so at home at Lucky lake and were so sad to leave but will return again soon! We <3 Lucky Lake!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Île-de-France, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed one night there, and really appreciated the place. The staff is really nice, the amenities like nowhere else. Cooking and eating with the other guests is fun, the breakfast was nice.
Would totally recommend the place to my friends. And go back there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grigny, Rhône-Alpes, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very good youth hostel: colored, quiet and beautiful environment (with the lake), good welcome, good services(departments), clean(appropriate). The distance separating the youth hostel in Amsterdam was not problematic. Negative petit point: not enough information to my taste concerning museums, the exits(releases) or others. I advise(recommend) it to every traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've stayed in several hostels and Lucky Lake was by far my favorite. The location was so peaceful and beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The free breakfast of bread with multiple toppings, coffee, cereal, yogurt, and make your own eggs section was superb. This hostel really made my first time in Amsterdam perfect. I will recommend it to anyone and everyone and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank octopusrubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinkeveen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hotel Breukelen
#1 of 1 in Breukelen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
Volkshotel
#44 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Lake Hostel

Property: Lucky Lake Hostel
Address: Vinkenkade 75, 3645 AP Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Vinkeveen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Vinkeveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Lake Hotel Abcoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing