We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, Grand Café was disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Ter Duin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burgh-Haamstede
Certificate of Excellence
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Grand Café was disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel, with friends (with their baby). When entering the hotel, we realized that this hotel is not very accessible for people who have difficulty walking. The entrance is below, with some steep stairs or rollway.
Check-in went very fast, and the room was very spacious. We were surprised to see the low level of 'extra's' in the room: no minibar, no facilities to make tea or coffee, limited guest supplies (and not even indicated whether it is shower gel or shampoo, or 2-in-1). The bed itself made up a little bit for these missing things, as the bed is very comfortable.
We decided to have dinner in Grand Café: we had made reservations upfront. We liked the menu, but the execution was disappointing: the pasta and vegetables were overcooked, which took away the pleasure in having dinner. After dinner, we wanted to have coffee in the lounge. We are not sure whether people get served in this area, but after 15 minutes no one appeared at our tabel, so we decided to get our coffees at the bar. We cleaned even our own table... Fortunately, these coffees were not chared to our bill.

Breakfast was very good: a lot of choice, good quality.

In the end, we liked the hotel, for everything around it: the area, beach etc. I would stay here again, but surely make reservation in of of the many restaurants in the area for dinner.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and spacious, so no preference from our side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIcke537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    518
    141
    40
    12
See reviews for
175
723
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night. On first sight it looks really good. The outside of the hotel looks very modern and the area is very beautiful. The room is spacious and clean. Parking for the car in front of the hotel. So far so good. There are points of improvement.

In the middle of the night our neighbours decided to have a party. Lots of laughing and loud talking. It woke me up, but I was too exhausted to get dressed and ask to be quiet. After a while it died down. Next morning we went to breakfast, the broken night and a kid banging on our door at 8 o' clock did not help my morning-mood, and there was nobody to walk us to our table. After 5 minutes of waiting, we decided to find our own table. I think we came at the wrong time, because we could only find the left overs of eggs and pancakes, which both had become crispy. Luckily, after we had eaten that, the breakfast was replenished and we had some more choice.

At checkout we were asked how our stay was. So I mentioned that we had a rough night due to our neighbours. And the only response we got back was "So the room was noisy". Nothing like that they were sorry to hear that. So I did not bother saying anything about breakfast.

Reading the other reviews here, I think we just had some bad luck. Therefore, I would try this hotel again if we were again going to Zeeland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roszalief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Given that this is a four-star hotel, I was rather disappointed. We booked a deluxe room for 2 nights. The room, though really large in size, was very dark and depressing. It was also not very clean given the 'spots' in the toilet. Plastic cups in a 4-star hotel? Plastic undercovers (below the sheet to protect the mattress)? They are not conducive for a comfortable bed climate at night. No WIFI in the room? Having to pass along the kitchen to get to our elevator (and a rather shabby staircase)? On the positive side, the lobby is spacious and nice with free newspapers and WIFI. The breakfast is nice as well, though there is a shortage of space if the hotel is well-booked. The prices in the bar are also rather high for Dutch standards. But the location is very nice, though not in the village and not at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL_Suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Breakfast is excellent: plenty of choice, quick replenishment and some typical Dutch items (little pancakes/poffertjes). Sometimes you have to open some cupboards to find extra bowls or fruit juices, but everything is there. This does not necessarily apply to the rooms.... They are spacious, good beds and big shower, but no tea/coffee making facilities, no glasses (not even in the bathroom) and a safe, which is locked (did the cleaners really thoroughly clean the room before we checked in is then my first question....).
It is at least 20 mins walk to the village centre if you don't want to eat in the hotel or if you want to hire kids bikes (you can only hire adult bikes in the hotel). There is not sufficient parking at the hotel, but there is an overflow car park. I suggest you check in first though with your luggage, as it is quite a hike.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite different: some have balconies overlooking a golf course , some have big bathrooms e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

You don't expect plastic cups in the bathroom.
You don't expect soap out of a flacon.
But you do expect wifi in your room.
Now you have to go to the lobby.
I did like the breakfast. Especially the filet americain and the liverworst.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstanteVanPlanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel itself is beautiful and well located. Nothing to complain and I follow other travellers' opnions.

BUT...
- Some sockets were not working in the room. Resulty: phone not charged in the morning.
- The bathroom was huge but sparsely equipped. No bath tub, not enough space to put one's washbag.
- We spent the first night in the hotel bar which is very nice and spacious. The service however was very poor. It took a long time before the server took the order although there were not a lot of guests in the bar. When our drinks and snacks were served, they forgot to give us napkins and some cutlery (there was a salad on the plate, how could we eat it without a fork?) I had to ask ut explicitly. Afterwards, we chose the 3-course menu. The food was good. But again the service was rude. And when we had finished our main course, they forgot to ask us for the dessert. No-one passed at our table anymore for a while, so I had to ask a waiter after (again) a long waiting time. Inacceptable.
- Breakfast was good and savory, everything you would expect was available. It was perhaps a little bit difficult to find the glasses, cups, plates etc. because they were well hidden in a dark cupboard.
- Before leaving to the beach, we bought some drinks, fruit and a salad a the local supermarket. We noticed that there was no cutlery so I asked the reception staff whether it would be possible to get a fork that we would of course return. The lady replied in a very uppish manner that this was impossible. Not what I would expect from a 4-star hotel...
- When we returned from the beach on the 2nd day, we found a bag with towels in front of the door. On entering the room, we discovered that the room hasn't been made up. Some wag put the sign 'Do not disturb' on our door. And housekeeping wasn't wondering that the card hung there all day long...When complaining at the reception, the staff member was not very perceptive and just asked me: 'What are you expecting to do me now as the cleaining staff isn't there anymore?' I replied that I would appreciate a financial compensation. She agreed and deducted the price of the dinner in the restaurant from the bill. Not a bad solution but I'd have preferred to sleep in a clean room.

So all by all a very disappointing stay at this 'Grand Hotel'. There's still a lot of work to do to really earn the 4-star rating and to improve mainly the service and friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maago070873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is new and it has lots of great potential to transform it into a great hotel. The hotel is still new and you can feel the staff is not yet trained to deal with the daily operations. In the morning at breakfast for example you will not see many staff, only staff passing by in the restaurant to get coffee and cakes for themselves. In the bar you can have a drink and something to eat but the barman did not understand we would like something to eat and did not bring a menu. It was a bit awkward.

The rooms are nice and very comfortable. Great swimming pool. No locker room, so people will go in their wet swimsuit through the lobby back to their room (why doesn't a new hotel build a proper locker room?).

The beach is nearby and the little typical Dutch village is great to have a walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Like_Gooood_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgh-Haamstede
14.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Middelburg
4.2 mi away
Hotel De Zeeuwse Stromen
2.1 mi away
Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
Boutique Hotel The Roosevelt
#2 of 10 in Middelburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
17.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
7.0 mi away
Amadore Hotel Restaurant De Kamperduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ter Duin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ter Duin

Property: Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Address: Hogeweg 55, 4328 PB Burgh-Haamstede, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Burgh-Haamstede
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burgh-Haamstede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ter Duin 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Ter Duin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing