We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, quiet and thoughtful near beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Burgh-Haamstede
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and thoughtful near beach”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

What you think of this hotel undoubtedly depends on the season. In peak times this part of the Netherlands is full of beach lovers looking for sun, sea and sand. Servicing them is an army of seasonal workers from outside the area. I have no idea how the hotel is in summer, but be aware I'm writing about an off-peak visit.

Off-peak only small numbers of locals can be found in this part of Zeeland. The Zeeuwse attitude is very direct (more so even than elsewhere in NL), but very hospitable and polite. This hotel was a great example of that. No "welcome bla bla bla" at the reception, just a short businesslike "good afternoon". Within a minute we were heading off to our room with keys in hand, real keys, not a card.

Not that anything in the hotel was old, all fittings were nearly brand new and spotlessly clean, but there was no unnecessary fancy stuff. A door with a key. A heater with a knob. A shower with two taps. And a bath as well. Plus the plumbing to let you run both at once without temperature dropping.

The room itself was very roomy, with a double bed, sofa, wardrobe, cupboard with TFT television, low table and a writing desk. We booked a 'comfort' (i.e. regular) room, but the size of the room suggested we'd been bumped to 'deluxe', possibly because we also booked a baby bed. Either way it was great. Staff was very thoughtful to us as well as other guests by putting us right at the end of a corridor so that our baby wouldn't keep anyone else awake, nor would they interrupt his naps. We ordered breakfast in the room and it was served exactly on time. Other services were as good. Free wireless internet worked excellently.

And then the location - at the edge of dunes within walking distance of the beach. On the landward side a glider airodrome meant no other builidings for over a km. We walked to the beach and only encountered two other people on the path and had the entire beach to ourselves (admittedly this was with a strong, scouring subzero wind blowing). Beautiful and very restful.

Only two issues:
- despite being off-season, so many locals came to have dinner in the restaurant we had trouble finding parking space. At peak season parking would be a major issue.
- the hotel is called "Duinhotel Burgh-Haamstede", but is actually located in the nearby village Nieuw-Haamstede. This managed to confuse us when we couldn't find it in Burgh-Haamstede.


Bottom line:
Completely unpretentious and understated, thoughtful and friendly staff and very authentic local atmosphere. Plus some very good off-peak deals available. We paid less than we would have at a youth hostel but enjoyed a genuine ****-experience. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet getaway off-peak.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dion_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    78
    30
    14
    1
See reviews for
18
117
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed there for one night during a trip around the Netherlands. Not too close to the beach (despite the name), but a short drive will take you both close to the beach and the town of Burgh-Haamstede, which has amenities. The room was comfortable and large, and the breakfast was nice too. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a fletcher hotel, rated 4 stars. Responded to a discount call but ended up paying extra because of the 4 star level of this place instead of 3 star.
did not have breakfast in th eplace as it was not included.
The place is in a silent corner far away from village and a good walk forom the beach. You need bykes and car.
Staff friendly but not very outgoing and informed about routes and possible venues to visit. No central maps or info in the lobby. Making me wandering around for hours with wrong directions from reception lady.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esplendid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I’ve chosen this hotel for a working seminar with my colleagues. We were absolutely delighted with the provided facilities in a regenerating environment.
Furthermore we booked a beach activity via the hotel.
http://www.natural-high.nl/clinics/clinic-powerkiten---buggyen.html
We did the transfer with our own transportation, it’s a 20 minutes drive.
Pros:
- Correct breakfast with enough choice between cold and warm dishes and between sweet and salty. Tip: take your breakfast on the terrace.
- Buffet lunch in Dutch style, very enjoyable (for a few days at least)
- Quality dinner served at the table
- Large rooms, slightly old fashioned but very comfortable beds and full silence.
- Tasteful meeting rooms with all needed facilities (beamer, snacks, coffee, airco,…)
- Friendly and helpful staff.
There was nothing that I’d describe as disturbing.
Disappointing for me, but insignificant for most, was the absence of a good espresso machine. You can have one at the bar, but it tasted as an Americano.
Nighthawks may also be disappointed since you have to use transportation to go to a pub or a bar.
In summary I recommend this hotel for a short stay or a business meeting, like we did.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselStardancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

The hotel is just outside of Haamstede next to an airfied used by glider pilots. Our room was the largest and most comfortable of any we used during our recent 17-day trip to France and Holland.

There is ample free parking. A sumptuous breakfast buffet is included in the price. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Liked — Spacious room - ample storage space
  • Disliked — Nothing at all to dislike!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgh-Haamstede
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Ter Duin
#1 of 5 in Burgh-Haamstede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel De Zeeuwse Stromen
3.1 mi away
Badhotel Renesse
Badhotel Renesse
#1 of 9 in Renesse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fletcher Landgoedhotel Renesse
4.8 mi away
Resort Land & Zee
Resort Land & Zee
#1 of 2 in Scharendijke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Renesse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede

Property: Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede
Address: Torenweg 1 | Burgh-Haamstede, 4328 JC Burgh-Haamstede, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Burgh-Haamstede
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Burgh-Haamstede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near a beautiful dune area, this attractive 4-star hotel offers a culinary restaurant, garden and terrace. Have a work-out in the fitness room and relax in the sauna and solarium. The Fletcher Hotel Burgh-Haamstede provides you with tasteful guest rooms and luxurious dune suites for your relaxing stay in the characteristic town of Burgh-Haamstede. The hotel also offers great business facilities for meetings and conferences. Walk every morning towards the beach or visit the beautiful forest. The a la carte restaurant offers a warm atmosphere for your delicious dinner. You can also choose from the delightful selection of wines. If you are looking for peace, quiet and a beautiful nature for your holiday, this hotel provides you with the perfect base in beautiful Zeeland. Make also use of the free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fletcher Duinhotel Burgh Haamstede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing