We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel on top of the dunes, some improvements advisable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Blanke Top
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Overall very good hotel. Very good restaurant, reflected in the pricing. Breakfast simply excellent. Rooms very good.
Remarks:
- breakfast was excellent with a big choice of different types of food, bakery, etc. Quality wise also very good and well organized. A bit "stiff" atmosphere as people felt the need to whisper.
- rooms (we had a deluxe land side room first and later a seaside room) were well equipped but missed air conditioning. With the nice and warm weather that was not nice!
The sliding door to the balcony was big but missed a mosquito screen door. The balcony was nice but the separating glass was not matted allowing the neighbors to look at our bed... Also people at the cycling and walking path alongside the hotel could look on the balcony and in the rooms.
The ventilation in the bathroom and bedroom was really minimal.
- Good private parking facility for cars. Also a storage room for bikes available (though very full..).
- Nice outside terrace

Room Tip: Ask a room at the 2nd floor, these have more privacy. Rooms with seaside views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarmSittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you are looking for a very good hotel with a friendly personnel and located on the beach that's where you should go. It is located 10 km away from Knokke in a very small village named Cadzand-Bad. A peaceful place.
The restaurant and the bar serve tasteful meals and they've got an outstanding view on the sunset. You can go biking along the coast line for kilometers. Well to make it short since we went there some ten years ago we feel the need to come back every year and even during fall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed in Hotel de Blanke Top with two families for three nights. The location is unique for the Netherlands, on top of a dune. The rooms are spacious, with good views and balconies (off course, book a see side room). They've got good family rooms for 4 or 5 and luxury rooms for 3. There is a nice swimming pool and a wellness, small but OK. When I booked, I found out that they only had rooms with twin beds. Because I don't like that very much when traveling with my wife, I asked them to arrange a double bed. We had some discussion about it, but when we arrived they had made up double beds for us and for our friends! I never met this much hospitality in the Netherlands before (the Dutch aren't very good at this. I may say so, because I'm Dutch). Cadzand beach is terrific, visiting Knokke is nice, having lunch in Pure C, the bistro of the Netherlands best chef Sergio Herman, is a great experience, and having diner in The Blanke Top itself is OK too. So, if your looking for a good, quit hotel, in the Netherlands, near the beach, with good quality rooms, food, wine, views and friendly hosts, choose De Blanke Top. Realize it is nearer to Antwerp / Brussels than Amsterdam or Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A great hotel at a wonderful location. Where should we start first.... Very warm welcome, professional and friendly service , great facilities and accommodation and very relaxing atmosphere. The quality of the 5+star food must go on record, with exceptional presentation and variety. Rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean. Location of the hotel is unique just next to the North sea, provides endless sea view with beautiful sunsets. We strongly recommend Hotel de Blanke top for any kind of vacations.
We really look forward for our next visit !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in order to eat at Pure C, the Sergio Herman restaurant. The hotel has recently been refurbished completely, with great style. Richely equipped rooms, some with wooden floor (no more carpet!), sumptuous breakfast, ... . Perfect base for relaxing at sea...

Room Tip: Ask for room with wooden floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LieFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Great setting on top of the Dunes, with direct view on the sea.

Spacious rooms with terrace, lovely to wake up with the sound of the sea.
Evening dinners are very good, and have this "additional touch"
Swimmingpool is good for a "work out swim", don't expect a "fun pool"


Ideal hotel and location to go for a Long Weekend,but not the cheapest!

Tip: rent some bikes and drive on top of the digue to Breskens, take the boat to Vlissingen, have lunch and after that back to De Blanke top: fantastic tour!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelluxemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Lovely hotel which is almost situated in the sea. We have compared it with the other hotels in Cadzand but these are not as nice and further back into the dunes. Take a junior suite, quiet and with beautiful views to both land and sea for only 40 bucks more. Restaurant great food, but rather on the price level. Sauna is free between 5 and 7 are in contrast to what has been written here.

Two points for improvement. Better products at breakfast (especially bread) and mattresses are fairly soft and hard suspension.

Room Tip: room 24 on the front site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadzand
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#1 of 6 in Cadzand
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Badhotel De Wielingen
Badhotel De Wielingen
#6 of 6 in Cadzand
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strandhotel Cadzand
Strandhotel Cadzand
#3 of 6 in Cadzand
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
0.6 mi away
De Drie Gevels
De Drie Gevels
#4 of 6 in Cadzand
13 reviews
13.4 mi away
Badhotel Domburg
Badhotel Domburg
#1 of 13 in Domburg
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Blanke Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Blanke Top

Address: Boulevard De Wielingen 1, 4506 JH Cadzand, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Cadzand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Price Range: £139 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Blanke Top 4*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing