We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Blanke Top
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Lovely place to go”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Nice hotel with excellent service near a quiet and beautiful beach. can be nice for couples as well for families with children. Ideal for long walks.
I loved the style the hotel is decorated , modern and cosy as well. The restaurant and coffee place are very nice . So does thd bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islizip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    91
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
185
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night in August. I was in the area for business purposes and needed a good place to stay overnight. Based on TripAdvisor reviews this hotel scored high - hence the choice so stay there.

The hotel is located on top of a dune, right near the beach. A small road leads to the hotel parking. Upon arrival unfortunately all parking spots on the hotel parking were occupied so I had to be creative to park the car. This is a bit unfortunate and not really what you want after a long working day.

Upon my arrival in the hotel the staff was extremely friendly. After a quick tour through the hotel the room was presented in a very polite manner. All required information was passed on in just 10 minutes.

The room itself is really spacious and nicely decorated. Quality of the beds is just superb. The minibar had plenty of choice and as a Nespresso fan I really appreciated the Nespresso machine in the room. The bathroom was very clean and well equipped, with the Rituals bath products being a very nice extra. The view from the balcony over the beach is just great.

I did not have dinner in the restaurant but I can highly recommend having breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast buffet in the morning is huge and excellent with plenty of choice: croissants, pistolets, all kinds of bread, bacon and eggs, yoghurt ... etc etc.

The hotel also has a swimming pool but as the opening ours were limited (it closes at 8PM) I could not try it out. Other than that I also noticed a very nice and large playing room for kids - definately a plus for a family stay.

This is for sure a place where I would return to if I needed a hotel in the area. A bit of a downside is that it seems like the town of Cadzand seemed pretty dead in the evening. Not a lot of (attractive) places in the area to go for food or drinks. You need to go to nearby Sluis for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great venue for a 5 day stay on the Dutch coast. Hotel is situated right on the beach, we had a sea view room and it was excellent. Breakfast is good and rooms and beds were very comfortable. They have secure garaging for bikes which can be hired from a local shop at €9 or lower per day, free wifi, free parking and nespresso machines in the room. The only downside is the pricing in the restaurant Le Sommet, which along with upper end restaurants in the locality is quite expensive for what it delivers.
We had a nice meal there on one evening, but it was more expensive than upper end London or Manhattan. from then on we opted for the many good quality but cheaper beach style cafes and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent four nights in this hotel in late July - early August, which is probably the busiest time of the year for this hotel.

LOCATION




The hotel is located at the top of a dune, in a typical beach landscape of the North Sea. Basically, it looks over miles of a wide beach, the sea goes as far as your eyes can see and it is nestled in a wild dune vegetation. The beach is a few steps away, and a path busy with bikes and pedestrians runs through the herbs right in front of the hotel. This all gives a wonderful sense of freedom and a touch of wilderness. Although it is at the edge of a small beach town, you quickly forget there are other hotels around. Even though this was arguably the busiest week of the year, the beach is so huge that it did not feel crowded at all.

The hotel is about 15km away from Knokke-Heist and Sluis. It is very easy to visit the area with bicycles.

There is a free parking lot, and when the hotel is full, it can get challenging to find a spot!


AMBIENCE



From the outside, the hotel looks less than charming. However, as soon as you step in the reception area, you are immediately transported to New England, with charming tones of grey, earth tones and off white. The common areas are tastefully decorated with nice photos and touches of deco.

The only downside about the decoration and ambiance are the hallways and ceilings, which look more like a convention center than a hotel, but it is not too disturbing.


ROOM



We chose one of the junior suites, located on the first floor, with an alcove and a balcony overlooking the sea. The room is decorated in the same style as the hotel, and very agreeable, despite art work, which was not in sync with the style (photos would have been much better). We also wished it had hardwood floors rather than carpet. On the balcony, a couple of simple chairs and a table. Unfortunately, the bathroom, although fully renovated, would have looked more in place in a cheap chain hotel. However, the bathtub was equipped with a jacuzzi. The room comes with tea and nescafé facilities (I wish they would lose the Lipton yellow, yuck!)

To note, we had recurring issues with our key cards, which kept getting demagnetized...


BREAKFAST & FOOD



Tables in the breakfast area are attributed by room, and you keep the same one for the duration of your stay. It seems that if you choose a superior room or suite, you get seated in a nicer, more secluded area of the restaurant, which is very nice, because you are away from the crowds, with an unbeatable view of the sea.

The breakfast spread was pretty good. Lots of choices of bread and pastries, as well as savory food, although it seemed smaller than the sweets. No choice of teas, again stuck with Lipton yellow.


SERVICE



Overall, a nice service. People were generally helpful and could speak English. Service at the reception is quick and efficient. They will not give you help with your luggage, but there are some carts you can use. We particularly appreciated one of the ladies serving breakfast, who took good care of us and would get worried if she did not see us eat enough :-)


VALUE



As it was peak season, the price was a bit steep, but we still felt it was worth it.


IN SUM

Good choice to enjoy the beach and the great views of the North Sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013


We stayed in this hotel for over one week in high season. It was brilliant, this family run hotel was on a par to the many international 4 hotels, in international cites rather than out of the way, beautiful quite holiday resort area. Most be the best hotel in the area.

The reception staff were always a delight, attentive and welcoming.

The hotel location is perfect for beech lovers and family, a perfect place and something you have to expect to pay a premium for, as it offers exceptional views and holiday experiences. Our family suite looked over the sea and was perfect and made our vacation. The suite was well suited for a young family, watching the ships cruise past. Get a sea view suite! A must at such a hotel....

The breakfast was excellent, high quality and huge choice and delightful service. Children were very well catered for in all respects. Healthy food options are ready....

We stayed in the hotel for dinner every evening and got the most generous welcome and service in the gastronomic restrante. The food was a joy and young children were made to feel so at home in this wonderful dinner. The staff were welcoming and professional.

The hotel pool is cosy, while same offers near private swimming when we were staying. The play room for the children is a great idea to keep young ones occupied during dinner or other times.

Only a couple of minor things may be added to compliment our stay (eg coffee machines in rooms, access to ice machines), but these are simple small personal preferences rather than necessaries, and in no way altered the joy of this hotel experience.

So if you can afford to treat yourself and need a family break, and you expect the best for your family, then don't hesitate to book this hotel. You and your family will be well taken care off and have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1247912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Chose a sea front room on 2nd floor for a week retreat with my spouse. The view, including spectacular sunsets, is wonderful, sitting on the balcony, or just lying down indoors with large glass door window open. Perfect, the beach is nicely quiet and deserted early morning and early evening, and the noise at the height of the July summer season never overwhelming. No noise from neighbouring rooms either. The room was functional, well finished and pleasant, with (weak) wifi and nice bathroom. No air conditioning though (as far as I could see or feel), but the sea breeze largely makes up for that.

Staff always helpful and polite.

Other facilities in hotel include a locked bike shed (cycling is a compulsory means of visiting the region. Leave car in parking), a nice terrace for cocktails and snacks, a smallish indoors pool, a miniature "wellness centre" (not great: sauna box, etc), a indoors playground for small kids, etc.

The hotel restaurant (Le Sommet) is high quality. We had the best "dorade" fish ever for 24€ a pop + wine and a very nice cheese platter, but ended up eating most evenings at the "Caricole" joint down on the beach itself (one of the best mossels casserole I ever had).

This is a highly recommended place for your weekend or short break getaways, with or without kids if you live in Holland, Belgium or around Koln or Aachen. Fully worth the drive. The region is absolutely gorgeous, with the island of Walcheren or Brugge an hour bike ride away.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Balivernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in the hotel with my husband for one night in March attracted by seaside location and wild nature. Property is good, clean.. Sea is just 50 meters away. But our main impression is relevant to absolutely amazing dinner! Food was so delicious and well prepared that to be honest I was shocked (in positive matter). We are gourmands, and have been to many famous places awarded by Michelin, Relais Chateaux and other guides, but this was absolutely exceptional - we had lobster, bouillabaisse, mussels and after (which is absolutely not typical for me) had a dessert - litchi coco ice cream with meringue and something.. Dinner was a real pleasure and we never tried anything similar before - bouillabaisse was less heavy than usual but more tasty, lobster was mild and perfectly flavored. We thanked The Chef personally as both were really impressed. This restaurant deserves appreciation and I highly recommend to visit it.

Room Tip: We stayed in corner suite - more light and spacious than double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadzand
0.5 mi away
Strandhotel Cadzand
Strandhotel Cadzand
#3 of 6 in Cadzand
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Badhotel De Wielingen
Badhotel De Wielingen
#5 of 6 in Cadzand
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Drie Gevels
De Drie Gevels
#4 of 6 in Cadzand
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwvliet Bad
8.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
9.4 mi away
Fletcher Zuiderduin Beachhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Blanke Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Blanke Top

Property: Hotel de Blanke Top
Address: Boulevard De Wielingen 1, 4506 JH Cadzand, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Cadzand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Blanke Top 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Blanke Top reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing