We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway could have been slightly better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Blanke Top
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My BF and I wanted to do a quick weekend getaway that wasn't too far from where we live. We both found Hotel de Blanke Top as we were searching (independently from one another), so we thought we'd give it a try. We couldn't book anything online on their website, so we called, and luckily they had a beachside room left. It was high season there, and the weather was really humid. Just beware that there is no air conditioning in the room, and the management encourages everyone to keep the windows shut. I was sweating like crazy when I slept.
Anyhow, the location is top, and definitely get a beachside room. The breakfast is also decent! But there seemed to have been something lacking: the price was definitely on the higher end, and like another reviewer said: the crowd is a bit older. Also for a four-star hotel, the toilet paper came out in sheets as opposed to a roll. Weird to write about this--I know--but it was noticeable and felt like a public restroom in our own hotel room. ;)
But there are some great restaurants that are walking distance from the hotel. And if you're looking to "recharge your batteries", this is the place to go: a whole lot of nothing going on (unless you're looking to hike, bike, etc). I would return to Cadzand Bad, but I'll probably seek accommodation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go for the beachside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooper212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the perfect place if you want to rest in a (too) quite atmosphere and enjoy a relaxing stay at the beach. Very nice hotel and restaurant, breakfast is amongst the best you can get. Only negative side of this is that this is the silence kingdom with most guests being closer to 80 than 28 years old so you won't be partying there on the last hit of David Guetta (nor on any other music, there is no party at all). This can be annoying if you are there with a group of friends and have to behave like in a church all day long ;-). Anyhow, good place to rest and enjoy the wonderfull beach.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor to avoid being in a circulation area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ples72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very beautiful place on the top of the dunes !!!! So calm and quiet !!! Great hotel and lovely people. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The sea is reachable by foot in less than 2 minutes and it is so beautiful and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is perfect. Ideal if you need to escape busy and successful city lives. You are out of the way, on top of sandy Dunes and a must is the family rooms or suites overlooking the sea. It's so dynamic, even on the stormy days the views are of great ships sailing past.

The hotel services are up to the high standards we have had during past visits. The food is great. Service at dinner friendly and quick and always with a smile. It's family friendly. With young ones dine early to take the pressure of as the restaurant gets busy many nights. The wine menu is great, but we often drink water. The own brand bottled water is a very nice touch, but a bit on the expensive side, over 6 euros, if it's for a family at a dinner,

The Wifi is much improved and faster than before.

Room service is great. The reception staff are always friendly and helpful.

Our room was perfect. Clean. Excellent beds. Great views. We still had no coffee machine in the room, which would be great to have for a family suite.

The pool is perfect, so long as a small group goes.

It seems from reading local advertising signs that new building of 30 apartments is planned for next door could coming in the next year, as this entire area is hot and growing, so best visit while this remains untouched and until spoilt secret gem. This hotel is still my top recommend one of the many I have visited, so suggest you give it a shoot and enjoy the bounty that's one offer by this delightful family run hotel,

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 1,247,912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Strange how 150+ people rate this hotel "Excellent"; and most of the writers have less then a few reviews on their account....

Anyways, I will cut the crap:
PRO:
- excellent location
- clean rooms
- they have a kitchen
- there is staff
- private parking available free for residents
- good views from most rooms (we were a big party located in several rooms), also the landview rooms on the back of the hotel have mostly nice views

CONS:
- Level of friendliness of staff is around 0 degrees C. Example: an old lady checking in had to carry her luggage herself, staff made no single attempt to help
- No bar
- Rooms are neat but completely devoid of character:about the level of a Holiday Inn
- If you ask for tea, just one kind (the bland Lipton kind) is given. The nearby beachhouse Moio Beach even serves much better quality tea
- Kitchen fare: what you find in a common chain steakhouse. Those commenting as if it were top quality do not know the insides of a good restaurant
- A drink in the lounge after 22:00 is with the fireplace already shut down: they make it very clear that you are not welcome at that hour anymore.
- Breakfast:fairly complete, but make sure you are served before 9:30 because nothing will be refilled anymore. When asking for tea, a one-liter pot is placed on your table with 1 (One!) Lipton size teabag;when asking for more, you are told that you have to do with that one teabag.
- Sauna open from 15:00 until about 20:00 (not exactly the most convenient hours), has the size to fit 2 people, and was heated to about 75 degrees C, not exactly sauna-temperature.
- Jacuzzi, IR-room are paying with a coin-operated timer
- Check-out: make sure to take your time; we had 2 complaining customers before us.

Summary;:

This hotel surely all they could to obtain their 4 stars, but nothing more. No value for money. Hard to believe that the 150+ positives have no business link with the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brice3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Blanke-Top, Eigenaar at Hotel de Blanke Top, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Mister Brice,

We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectiations. We definitely try to improve ourself whenever possible. Unfortunately we did not hear any complaints during your stay what could of helped us in finding a way to serve you the best.

Yours,

Patrick Dielen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed three nights in the begining of january at De Blanke Top in Cadzand-Bad, Zeeland NL.

We knew very little about the hotel but as such it was a very pleasant surprise:

The location: right on the Dunes on the sea front, our room had a splendid view.
The staff: very nice and helpful.
The food: Excellent ( breakfast, luncheon and dinner) Michelin star level.
The room: besides the view, mentioned above, it was rather cosy, large bathroom, all very tidy and modern.
They're family friendly, it has a swiming pool, and a kids play area.
The town of Sluis is very near and quite lovevly, and you may also go shopping in Knokke-Het just a few miles from the hotel.
It was a very pleasant stay and we shall look forward to go back as soon as possible.
And we certanly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-de-Blanke-Top, Eigenaar at Hotel de Blanke Top, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked the overall stay in our hotel.

Looking forward to see you soon at Hotel de Blanke Top.

Yours,

Patrick Dielen

Owner
Hotel de Blanke Top

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with the beach just next to it, very friendly staff, beautiful room, fantastic pool and wellness, the breakfast was wonderful, lots of choices, great quality. Would go back immediately!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadzand
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#1 of 6 in Cadzand
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Badhotel De Wielingen
Badhotel De Wielingen
#6 of 6 in Cadzand
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strandhotel Cadzand
Strandhotel Cadzand
#3 of 6 in Cadzand
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Golden Tulip Beach Hotel Westduin Vlissingen
13.4 mi away
Badhotel Domburg
Badhotel Domburg
#1 of 13 in Domburg
200 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rivers Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Blanke Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Blanke Top

Address: Boulevard De Wielingen 1, 4506 JH Cadzand, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Cadzand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Price Range: £133 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Blanke Top 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Blanke Top reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing