We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Everything we needed it to...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sas van Gent
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Did Everything we needed it to...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Its a lovely hotel in sleepy Sas Van Gent.

The Reception as you have probably read, is in the Restaurant (Bottles) then there are rooms upstairs or in other buildings outside. Breakfast is served behind the restaurant in a nice room. Breakfast was your typical....cereals, pastries, eggs and bacon, cheese and ham, make your own toast, tea, coffee and juices...enough to set you up for the day. Our room was in one of the buildings outside which was not a problem for us. Nice and secure. A big room with TV and small fridge in the wardrobe. Masses of storage. Big walk-in shower. Fixtures and fittings and carpet all appeared to be new. I think there has been a small refurbishment recently. The only thing is, you have to go outside and walk a few steps to the restaurant for breakfast which was fine for us as it was dry but I can see it being a problem if its pouring with rain.

The staff are polite and non intrusive. We didn't try the swimming pool facilities so can't comment on them.

If you need a Hotel in the area, visiting friends or on business then I throughly recommend it. Sas Van Gent is very quiet but you can reach Ghent by car in around 20 mins so a cheaper option to staying in the City.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

we were there after 1st january so there was nobody there (on arrival but the next morning) even receptionist. They called and informed us before. We were the only one in the hotel! That was nice. We got the first room. It was too small so the next day we asked for a bigger room and it was arranged. Breakfast was fine for the small hotel like this. Luckily, we could enjoy swimming there but we had to go to another building of the Hotel Royal because the pool is in the zone of Apartment Royal.

In that area, it's just so quiet. We went to Gent, Belgium. So we could see something we had expected such as museums, shops, restaurants, etc. It was a short ride to Gent.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Depending on which building your room is located in, you may have a different opinion of this hotel. Some of the rooms are quite large and have separate sitting areas, and others are a lot smaller and are up a flight of steep stairs. No air condition was available. Sas Van Gent is a small town, so you can open the windows and not get a lot of noise, but if it it hot it would be hard to get enough air flow to cool the room down.

Some of the padded chairs had a musty smell when sat in. My major issue was with the lack of soundproofing between the rooms. You will hear even the smallest noise from the next room if you have one that adjoins the next room.

Restaurant has a limited menu. It is an upscale place and you need to allow some time to have a meal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmond, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The hotel is actually a retaurant (including the reception) and a few buildings in the very near surrounding wich contain the hotel rooms / appartements.
Our hotel room was not very big, but it was okay. Bathroom a bit dated, but also okay.
Restaurant modern and nice.
Very friendly personell.
The hotel has a swimming pool and sauna area.
Sas van Gent is a nice, Dutch place, with a small harbour.
It's not located directly at sea, but a 20-30 minutes drive brings you at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sas van Gent
7.7 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Churchill Terneuzen
18.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Goes
11.3 mi away
Hotel Hulst
Hotel Hulst
#1 of 2 in Hulst
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 1 in Aardenburg
773 reviews
1.9 mi away
Den Hof Hotel Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Golden Tulip L'Escaut
Golden Tulip L'Escaut
#3 of 4 in Terneuzen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent

Property: Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent
Address: Gentsestraat 11-13, 4551 CC Sas van Gent, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Sas van Gent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sas van Gent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Royal Sas van Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing