We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Return”
Review of Hotel van Beelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Beelen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would Not Return”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Arrived late on a windswept January night, deciding to stay in Katwijk for the the first time (usually I stay in larger Noordwijk). This hotel offerred decent rates, but the room was tiny and cramped. Free wifi was slow, and I found the owner unhelpful with my queries. At least they gave out bags of peppermints at the end of the stay.

Katwijk itself was a sleepy town in January, with just a few locals walking around. Shops were open late, so good for a stroll. But there's little to do without a car to get you around. I'll be staying in Noordwijk again on my next trip....

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
55
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent there only 4 days , but we did appreciate each one.

This is a very smart little Hotel, making you feel welcome right from the first minute of your stay. Mrs. Mol and her friendly crew are doing everything in order to make you feel comfortable. Hotel is very clean, the crew is cleaning everything each day..

You are offered breakfast for just € 5,00 p.person, a ridiculous sum if you consider quality and quantity and the variety of what you get.

We felt like at home and we decided to come back and stay a few days longer.

There ist just one point which might surprise you, going up to the first and second floor might be a bit difficult for elderly people as the steps are "really dutch type", i.e. quite a bit steep, but people without handycap will be gettting used to it wihin short.

We have been trying out quite a number of B&B in the Netherlands, this one is far the best, go and try it out yourself !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Minutes away from the sea and sand at Katwijk. Good value, friendly and with good facillities. I used for two nights on a cycle tour, but would be equally good for a family week

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbreakwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We went to this hotel last weekend because we had a party and didn't want driving back. It's a clean and very neat familyhotel of a hardworking family. Three generations are still in the business. Good breakfast and gentile prices. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwijk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#1 of 4 in Katwijk
246 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
75 reviews
4.5 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#3 of 27 in Noordwijk
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicolette Apartments
Nicolette Apartments
#3 of 4 in Katwijk
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zee en Duin
Hotel Zee en Duin
#4 of 4 in Katwijk
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Beelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Beelen

Property: Hotel van Beelen
Address: Koningin Wilhelminastraat 10-12, 2225 BA Katwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Katwijk
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel van Beelen 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Beelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing