We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“althoug a top breakfast, I will forget this Hotel next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Voorschoten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

3 times changed room , the first room i had the idea a horse had slept there, the smell, than we get smoke free havana room, finaly I got something, has been better before, sorry to say they need to redo their act of playing hotel. Restaurant is fine, always good no complaints there, service extremely slow, we had neighboring tabel who tried to stay nice, but at one moment started to comment on the time spend waiting. price is what you pay value is what you get, well that is definitivley out of balance. Valk has wonderfull places all over holland where it is good to stay, de gouden leeuw need a kick in the right direction to get back to splendor of before, if it ever goes back. Hotel is not for business, internetservice you can forget. in room wifi, i could see i had a connection, but e mails did not even open. Comments of the front desk, yes that is our free service. So do not give service when you do not have it. will go to other Valkjes in the future. volendam is nce. most of them are good sleep overs, good plain understandable food, perfect breakfast I must say, really that is super. not honest to say all was bad.

Room Tip: eat don't sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel in August as we were meeting friends who were staying at duinrell park. The hotel was fairly easy to get to from voorschoten station, it was a bit of a walk though, 20 mins the first walk as we werent too sure where it was. We were checked in very efficiently and the receptionist was very helpful when we asked how to get to duinrell.(Theres bus stops right outside the hotel that go to leiden and den haag) We'd booked a comfort deluxe with bath, room (through booking.com) and it was exactly how it looked in the pictures, although we were a bit dissapointed that the room didn't have a balcony (1st and 2nd floors only have balconies) but the room was clean the bathroom was lovely and the decor of the room was great. The bed was a little uncomfortable as it was 2 single beds pushed together(the booking said the room came with 1 double bed) but this seems to be the norm with hotels in holland. The hotel has a well known resturant and it seems people come from all over to use it as the big car park did fill up around dinner time. We didn't use it unfortunately as there seemed to be a lot of older people using the resturant and in fact the hotel, so we went to Leiden to eat both nights. Both nights sleeps were interrupted quite early in the morning as there seemed to be a distribution warehouse in the hotel grounds which happened to be outside our room and my partner got woken up both mornings by trucks coming in, palettes reversing and general loud chattering. The nice thing is in the fields they have a sort of animal sanctuary and we were really suprised to see kangaroos, Ostrich's, and deer amongst the chickens, sheep, ducks and lambs.lovely for the kids to see. One other negative is the entrance to the block where are room was, smelt very badly, like mould, the carpets could benefit a very good clean. All in all this hotel is very good value for money, we paid €99 for 2 nights, excellent public transport near the hotel that takes you basically everywhere. If your looking for value for money outside the city then this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauLauDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel yearly. Standard rooms are ok, but the comfy-rooms are better equipped, especially room 319 on the 2nd floor. Plenty of parking spaces. Breakfast is excellent. Lots of choices, cold and hot. Great portions for dinner at not too pricey. One can help as much as one likes from the free salad counter.

Room Tip: Rooms 319 (comfy type)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was a stay moivated by practical reasons, I needed somewhere cheap and cheerful to rest our heads in the vicinity of The Hague. At 89 euros (through booking.com) for myself and two kids it was a great deal. Shame they tried to charge me 20 euros more for an extra bed (which was already included in the booking.com price). to be fair, this was solved fairly rapidly. Room was dated but adequate. Bathroom could do with renovating, but again, at these prices... Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, the most elaborate I've ever seen in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Third time we stayed here. Spacious room, lovely bathroom. Free wifi. Free parking.
This time we had diner in the 'Upstairs' restaurant. We liked it. A very nice menu for 25 euro.
Overall the hotel could be a bit cleaner. It is a problem we saw in other van der Valk hotels aswell.
But we will return as we think this hotel offers good value for money.
This time we did not have breakfast included, we decided to drive to Scheveningen on the coast and have breakfast on the beach (9.50 €).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ellis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I agree with some other reviews: the corridors need some work, the building has cigarette smell all over....the rooms look like a box, a really big box though, but still they could add something to the coziness of the room. Also: the coffee/tea facility has paper cups to serve the coffee in... What's that about?
The shower has a 'green' shower, which is supposed to be good for the environment, but this one is not too great for showering, so they might want to look in to this issue. The bathroom could also do with some hooks to hang your bathrobe etc.

That said: we've been here several times and always had the Standard plus room. The bed is big and very comfortable, the accessories in the room are stylish, the room is spacious, lots of closet space. There's a lot of information about Voorschoten and surroundings and lovely magazines in the room. The whirlpool is really nice, enjoyable. It's clean and tidy, love the small balcony, the room is bright and the free WiFi is easily accesible and appreciated by us.
Breakfast... what can I say: really good, fresh, extensive, lots to choose from. Utilities in bathroom and coffee/tea in the room are present in abundance, so no complaints there!
I also enjoyed the animals in the pastures behind the hotel very much, don't hesitate to make a stroll!

Room Tip: Room at the front are just a bit more cozy
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night, rooms are nicely furbished, but smell of smoke, although we had a non-smoking room. Free WiFi, great shower, includes safe, minibar, comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet was extensive and very good. Plenty of parking space. Highly recommended and excellent value for money (we paid €72 for one night incl. breakfast).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Voorschoten
3.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
4.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Den Haag-Nootdorp
3.8 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#5 of 5 in Wassenaar
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
960 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
659 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 5 in Wassenaar
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw

Address: Veurseweg 180, 2252 AG Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Voorschoten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Voorschoten
Price Range: £52 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gouden Leeuw Voorschoten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing