We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Knip means Wallet in Dutch, and that is what you need to bring here”
Review of Restaurant De Knip

Restaurant De Knip
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Voorschoten
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$95
Cuisines: Seafood, European, French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“the Knip means Wallet in Dutch, and that is what you need to bring here”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

food is perfect, ambiance is just what one expects, the wallet however will be plundered at this wonderful food place, it was a favourite in the 80ties and still is a good place to go and have a supperb meal, better do not look at the prices, it is worth it that i must say, but food and wine for 3, de KNIP

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a real treasure close to Leiden & The Hague”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

fantastic food, warm hospitality, great wine pairing recommendations and a lovely view of the canal ...what more could somebody want after a full day's work?
Came to this place the 1st time last year and then kept on coming back. Never regretted it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bidisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK food, but absurdly slow service”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nice location, you will need to drive out there, as this we with my guest for business dinner, but we won't be back.

We had ordered the starters and main dishes within 15 min. of arriving in the restaurant. After 1 hour 15 minutes the appetizer was served and after 2 hours the main course. To be fair, the food was OK, but after 2 hours and 20 minutes in the restaurant we were definitely not taking the risk to go for desert and coffee as we were afraid that this would taken an additional hour and half from our evening.

Also, we order a bottle of white wine and a bottle of red wine for the table, to accompany the fish respectively the meat dishes. But the waitress started serving white wine to all my guests with the appetizer... not even bothering to ask if they were having fish / meat. Strangely enough the table next to us were having the surprise menus with accompanying wine and here the waiters did understand that the fish menus were on white and the meat menus on red wine.... ackward...

Won't be back, will not expose any of my guest to this again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Knip is always on our list”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We make an annual trip to Holland from San Antonio, Tx and Knip is always on our to-do list. It's become our family tradition. Last year, we took a boat from Den Haag to Knip on a glorious & sunny Mother's Day afternoon, taking in all of the sights and exquisite back yards along the canal. We're always greeted by the upbeat, friendly staff and the owner/chef usually stops by our table to say hello. I completely trust his creativity and talent, so there's no need to look at the menu. Ask what they suggest and you will surely be in for a memorable meal from start to finish. Each course was perfectly portioned and beautifully presented. The high point of the evening, not counting the picture of my Mother & the Chef, was DESSERT...completely out of this world, homemade toasted marshmallows, chocolate, vanilla and so much more. Needless to say we will be back at Knip in May 2013.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Went on Valentine's Day with the family and although it was busy, the service was personal and excellent. We had the set menu which was very good value as part of a special promotion. We had four courses and they were all good without being spectacular. It has a Michelin star so I think I was expecting more "wow". Still, they do not charge silly prices like some Michelin restaurants so they get additional marks for this. Will come back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naga64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant De Knip also viewed

Voorschoten, South Holland Province
Voorschoten, South Holland Province
 
Voorschoten, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Voorschoten, South Holland Province
Voorschoten, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant De Knip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing