We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Average Hotel at High Prices”
Review of Hotel Rabis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rabis
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Sanliurfa
Chichen Itza, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Utterly Average Hotel at High Prices”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

There is absolutely nothing special about this hotel, yet the prices would suggest otherwise. The bathroom was dirty, but the rest of the room was clean. There is television and air-conditioning, but the street noise is tiresome. The staff supposedly speaks English, but I was told some misinformation that was only cleared up by my Turkish partner. I would hope there would be another hotel similarly average with lower prices in Urfa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoswim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel Rabis is a good overall choice for a short stay in Urfa. It is quite close to the souq and the birth place of Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham).

For the price, the Hotel Rabis is a very good choice.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank krafih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I arrived at the Rabis without reservations and secured a room for one person at 60 TL per night bed and breakfast – they gave me a double - the same price as the Arte further up and 10 TL cheaper than the Kilim.

Everything is great about this modern hotel: location, helpful staff, comfort, cleanliness, cable TV, air-con, free in-room wi-fi, décor, good breakfast, quietness (round the back anyway), large windows that can be opened for ventilation overnight should the air-con become too cold….except for one thing: hot water. There is pretty much no hot water after dark until the next morning and only then is it really good.

That said, I did stay there for two nights in the end because I liked it so much that the hot water issue can probably be overlooked in this instance as it was so hot outside, and the lukewarm water did its job at night. Otherwise, beware of this if you like hot water 24 hours day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed at the Rabis for 2 nights in September 2009. We found the room to be very clean, large and comfortable, abundant hot water, with satellite TV and free wireless. The breakfast was good with a large range of hot and cold food to suit western and local tastes. The hotel's location was excellent, some staff were sulky but generally front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Telephone call charges are steep so check the rate before calling. We used a pre-paid International calling-card from the room but were charged for use of the hotel's phone system equivalent to normal international calling rates. Otherwise this hotel is a good solid choice and we would stay here again. We also found Urfa to be an excellent base for an excursion to Nemrut Dagi which we organised through a local tour company located close to the hotel (Oscan Aslan Travel?if you can find them ask for driver Yousef who we found to be excellent!).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The Rabis is a modern hotel close to tourist sites, restaurants, etc. It is clean and comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and polite. There is a nice view from the Terrace off the dining room. I would stay there again if I were in Sanliurfa.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

This new hotel (1 year old) is right in the centre of Şanlıurfa. It's very convenient for all the new town amenities as they're right on your doorstep - restaurants, bars, shops, eateries, buses etc.
All the main sights of the old town are less than a 15 minute walk away down the main central road on which the hotel is situated.
Everything is new here obviously but we had a few gripes. There was a problem with the hot water so we ended up going almost 2 days without a shower. Even then I think the hotel's hot water was only at it's best in late afternoon.
The breakfast buffet looked better than it actually was with only an average selection of items. The hot ones were cold (even when we came down early for breakfast) and the only fruit juice was cherry! The breakfast room itself was permanently freezing.
Having said all that, the beds were incredibly comfy but the room was on the small size. Worryingly, there was no safety or even any information about the hotel posted in the room.
We paid 38.60YTL each B&B for a twin room via a Turkish travel website so it was good value. I'd definitely recommend it for a stay if you're visiting.

  • Liked — Very comfortable accommodation in an excellent location.
  • Disliked — Problems with the hot water and the limited breakfast offer.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanliurfa hotels
0.1 mi away
Edessa City Hotel
Edessa City Hotel
#11 of 17 in Sanliurfa
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sanliurfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Istiklal
Hotel Istiklal
#7 of 17 in Sanliurfa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilim Otel
Kilim Otel
#9 of 17 in Sanliurfa
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dedeman Sanliurfa
Dedeman Sanliurfa
#3 of 17 in Sanliurfa
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beyzade Konak
Beyzade Konak
#15 of 17 in Sanliurfa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rabis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rabis

Property: Hotel Rabis
Address: Divanyolu Cd. No: 61 | Sarayonu PTT Karsisi, Sanliurfa, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Sanliurfa Province > Sanliurfa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Sanliurfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rabis 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rabis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing