We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not the worst in the world.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Airman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Airman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meppershall
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's not the worst in the world.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Airman Hotel is a 22 bedroom establishment in a good location, near to a roundabout on the main road between Bedford and Hitchin. We stayed there for 3 nights in early September 2013. Car park is cost free on-site.
Bed & breakfast daily rate was reasonably low, I've paid a good deal more for worse places.
Our room was spacious and reasonably clean. It was on the first floor corridor served by a creaky staircase.
Our breakfast meal experiences were interesting. On the second day, the fresh milk for cereals or tea etc was strange smelling/tasting. Perhaps the exceptionally warm weather was in part to blame. On another day, bacon served was in crispy streaky small slices, very brittle. Baked beans were of the watery tomato sauce variety.
Our first evening was marked by an electrical problem in kitchen which ruled out hot food in restaurant and hot snacks in bar. It seems that the problem was rectified by contractors later in evening.
Staff encountered were all pleasant and helpful. We noticed that those on duty in evenings were different each day. Things worked because people were tolerant. Overall, OK.
I would stay there again but I'd only recommend it to friends who might cope.

Room Tip: Park in the shade on those hot sunny days when things in car might melt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacGotraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    37
    33
    32
    54
See reviews for
39
59
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in the family room on the top floor, but as there were just the two of us, we had plenty of space to rattle around in. No sur-charge either for under occupancy so that was good. The TV didn't work, though we were not fussed about that so never reported it. Bed was large and comfy. The bathroom was distinctly average though, the shower was very poor and noisy and no 'power shower' that's for sure! The bar area is pleasant with an outside area as well but its by the road side, so noisy a lot of the time. I queued for food at 20:50pm and when the bar staff finally got to me at 2105pm I was told 'no more food', kitchen shuts at 2100pm! Terrible customer service, no effort to ask chef or explain to chef I had waited for 15 mins beforehand! We found a lovely curry house a mile away thankfully! Would never eat there again after that. Its a good base for the greyhounds (1 mile away) or Woburn Safari Park (25 min drive), but take your sense of humour with you if staying here!

Room Tip: Book the family room even if a couple, lots of space and no extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We are a family of 6 so we needed a family room. I had booked the room last october for my friends wedding. First impressions looked ok a bit tired def needs a facelift. The room was nice and spacious even for 6 of us. We were told we would need a extra fold up bed which was fine this was confirmed as we made our payment on arrival. However when we asked for it they didnt have any left. Not good enough i'm afraid.
During the wedding breakfast it was a very slow process I had to in the end get one of my kids to say we don't have a dinner. The staff were friendly but no way enough of them. The soup was nice and so was the mains however the chocolate torte was terrible it was so soft and almost mushy when it got to us ( it was a very hot day) but still this shouldn't have happened. The other annoying thing was you had to come out of the marque to get to the toilets it was a pain especially if you have young children
Next morning my husband went to go have a shower and it wouldn't work properly one minute cold water was pouring out then he would get a splash of scorching hot water.
Breakfast was ok. We had that and went straight home.
I wouldn't go there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeve2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAirmanHotel, Manager at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We apologise unreservedly for the poor service you experienced during your stay with us. We recognise there have indeed been some issues, and we have been listening. Since your stay the Airman has recruited new key team members along with staff training and essential and on-going maintenance. As ever we aim to improve guest experience, and are grateful for your feedback.
Sincere Apologies
The Airman Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meppershall hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

When I went to my room I found it already occupied by somebody else. This was a bit of a shock.

The food was generally poor: the pudding was really grim; at breakfast the white of the eggs was uncooked. Couldn’t find staff most of the time, the bedroom was unpleasant.

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLC_UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
The hotel would like to apologise for the mix up with your room. Reception staff have put new measures in place to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This attractive looking pub offers no frills pub rooms. Our room was clean and a good size. The walls are thin, but we weren't disturbed during our one night there. An ironing board was provided quickly when asked. Tea bags and coffee sachets, plus milk, were not provided in generous quantities, but I have no doubt that we would have been given more if we'd needed the same. The TV was very small, so you will need good eyesight! We watched TV on our tablet (wifi is free), which was an easier option. There is no air conditioning and the pub is located on a roundabout - consider this if you need windows open. The curtains are thin - consider this in the summer months. Toiletries are very basic, but most people travel with their own these days - we do so this wasn't an issue. Our double bed had a good mattress. The single bed did not. We did not pay for breakfast, so cannot comment. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. This pub does not provide a luxury stay, but it doesn't promise to. The room rate would be excellent value for money if breakfast was included. If you need to be in the area on a budget, then this pub is fine. Unlike Beadlow Manor Hotel nearby. Steer clear of there. If you prefer corporate, then you may pay less if you book ahead for a Travelodge or Premier Inn etc., but you wouldn't get the convenience of a more rural location close to Hitchen and Shefford.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are small with sloping ceilings. Rooms at the front overlook the roundabout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My parents came to visit this weekend and stayed here. They wouldn't ever again. They were met on arrival by a polite receptionist but when they asked her a little later on about a missing remote control for their tv, the woman gave them a key for room 27 and told them to go into room number 1 to get their remote. Dad found room number 1 empty but clearly occupied as clothes were strewn around the room, so he backed out fast. Safe to say when my parents left the room for the day they took all of their valuables with them.
They said their bed was lumpy, they tried to compensate by laying the extra blankets underneath them, it didn't really help. They would have preferred to have complained, but there was no one around.
They waited an hour for breakfast this morning after ordering it (sunday) as there was only one girl serving seven tables.
The cleanliness of the room was ok, but I'll upload a picture of their bathmat. I wouldn't bathe in there.
They described it as tired, noisy (you could hear the people in the room above and in the halls) and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank This-is-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
The hotel has removed all the non slip bath mats from the bedrooms and replacing with new ones. TV remotes have also been replaced. Refurbishment to the hotel bedrooms is due to start this winter to improve standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here because of attending a wedding nearby. Disappointed in the room, needs updating, sparse and gloomy. we had a room on the top floor with a gabled wall in the bathroom which meant you would need to be a 3 ft midget to use the shower. Nothing in the hotel worked. the TV wouldn't switch on, I had to beg and chase to get an ironing board. The beer taps needed new gas which the hotel never had, and the meals were miserable. It looked like the poor young man and young woman working were running round doing everything themselves, from reception to bar, to kitchen. Never going back I am afraid...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekay911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAirmanHotel, Reception at The Airman Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
The hotel has since employed a new head chef and we are very pleased with the general feedback of his new menu's. Additional staff are now on shift through our busier times of the day. The hotel has taken all other points on board to help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meppershall
8.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
5.1 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Piggery Guest House & Yurts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airman Hotel

Property: The Airman Hotel
Address: 16 Hitchin Road, Meppershall SG17 5JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Meppershall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meppershall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Airman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Airman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Meppershall
The Airman Hotel Meppershall, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing