We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Westleton B&B and Inns
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited the pub this morning (8th) after our annual Sax Ramblers breakfast walk. Staff worked very hard to give 18 of us a lovely big breakfast. Looked after us beautifully, constantly checking that we had all we wanted. A lovely start to a stunning summers day! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    19
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This used to be a great pub with a 400 year history and good quality local food run by a husband and wife with character and superb cooking skills.

We returned after many years to find a sanitised bland venue with a visiting (to the bar waitress) who clearly wanted to be working somewhere else - probably McDonalds.

They serve food and drink in a traditional setting. It's safe and clean and completely lacking in character and food is competently served from the freezer with a short stop in the microwave.

This is now a run of the mill pub with adequate food and drink served adequately.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are sorry that a returning visitor should not find the pub the way it was. Such is the nature of the pub trade now. It has changed radically in the last few years. Fortunately, our pub has, on the whole, changed for the better - especially our food, and our numerous reviews from happy customers are testament to this.
I know for a fact that the gentleman did not eat in our pub at all on the day in question, so his comments are misleading. Reviews should be based on facts, not speculation, and I look forward to him eating in our dining room on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a local hotel for the weekend, and visited the White Horse for dinner. We were given such a warm welcome, and there was a lovely selection of Adnams beer to enjoy. The menu was massive - so much choice, and we had a lovely meal. We both started with risotto and then I had tempura prawns and my husband had a fish broth. Both meals were lovely, and the dessert menu was very tempting. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner here last night (22nd) and were completely bowled over by the quality of the meal. The food and service at the White Horse just couldn't be faulted, everything to our complete satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked to stay at the White Horse Inn after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. A friendly welcome from both John and Rob. The food was excellent, proper pub atmosphere with really entertaining staff, locals and visitors. Exceeded our expectations so it was lucky that we could stay an extra night. The Aspall's Harry Sparrow is a very easy to drink... We will return to drink some more. Situated close to Minsmere RSPB reserve and Dunwich Heath. Comfortable bed, two great nights sleep. Many Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Arrived at 4pm on Sunday, by 4:30pm was in the Church for a great concert by the Seraphina Choir - fantastic. Then checked in at the White Horse Inn. Lovely room, bright and cheerful. Suppoer - great Goan fish curry, and Adnams beer. Then walked up to the common and heard 3 nightingales at the darkness fell. Amazing!
Breakfast - the best scrambled egg I've ever had (and I'm 52, so I've had a few!), cooked by the proprietor who claims not to like eggs!! Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had dinner on a Friday night and were not disappointed with either the menu, food, drink or service.
The beer is more expensive than average, but not ridiculously so and was in excellent condition. There was a standard menu plus a specials board, boasting mainly locally produced food, all splendidly prepared and speedily served.
Some nicely unusual dishes, including game suet pud (which I had) and Tornedos Rossini which I saw and looked excellent.
Not cheap, not overboard, definitely worth a call - who knows what will be on the specials board?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
0.1 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: Darsham Road, Westleton IP17 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and welcoming country pub set in the midst of the quintessentially English village of Westleton in the heart of Suffolk. We serve excellent real ale, tasty local food, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation, with unparalleled Suffolk hospitality ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Inn Westleton, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing