We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden and helpful staff . . . and just right for Minsmere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely garden and helpful staff . . . and just right for Minsmere”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we recently spent three nights here and were blessed with wonderful weather. Our room was comfortable and clean though not one of the larger ones. Although we entered from the drive up to the car park we overlooked a small garden and the room was quiet. The hotel's garden is lovely and the restaurant opens up on to the terrace so you can eat outside. We also enjoyed eating in the 'parlour' at the front which was nice and quiet. Food really high quality - a dish of duck with spiced plums was particularly delicious and the poached eggs at breakfast were just right. The young staff were hard-working and attentive. The hotel is a short drive away from the RSPB reserve at Minsmere - you could even do a dawn visit and be back for breakfast! We didn't manage that but we did get spectacular sighting of a bittern fishing for his dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgLondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    244
    114
    62
    22
See reviews for
109
524
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was able to book a suite at the very last minute - the weather report looked good for the weekend on the east coast, so it was an impulsive decision. Very glad I did though. Westleton is a lovely village with a true old fashioned country feel to it. Our suite itself was fine: large and airy with a roll top bath. The shower could have been more powerful - it was a bit on the weak side. Our only real complaint was that the suite overlooked the entrance which was at times very noisy even after 11pm (but almost all of the rooms appear to give onto either the car park or a dining area). For a small village the nighttime traffic was pretty heavy! And the motorbike rider who works at the Crown (André I think) left work at about 12.30am - that was far too loud - the whole village must be woken every night by him! However, back to the good points: the restaurant was a gem! On a lovely warm night, dining in the garden - who could ask for better. Extremely pleased with the food and presentation and all the staff were friendly. Breakfast deserves equal praise.
We live in the west of Suffolk but The Crown is so well placed for the east coast - we'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON KEYNES, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We go back and back because they truly welcome dogs; have great rooms; good bar menus; and the most fabulous breakfasts. It was a treat on this last visit to exploit the pretty gardens by eating outside in the overdue sunshine and then walking it all off on Dunwich beach. England at its hospitable best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just enjoyed a 3 night stay at The Westleton Crown and overall it was a very satisfying experience. The rooms were clean and the food was tasty. The service given by the hotel, particularly in the dining room, was excellent. The only problem that we had in the restaurant was that the dining chairs were all wood, inevitably extremely hard and older people would certainly not linger over a meal. The value for money particularly in the case of wine was higher than would have expected. However, we would certainly return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here 1st July 2013, lovely building although we stayed in the adjacent converted cottages, room clean and modern with all facilities. Shower was a pain, scolding water difficult to control, a simple mixer unit would be so much easier, warm night so a fan would have been lovely but a minor issue. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good as was the breakfast, prices on the higher side of normal for food but the wine prices are eye watering for this type of establishment, how about £6.50 for a 175ml glass of Pinot Grigo and £9.15 for a large 250ml glass..ouch, the bottle prices are similarly inflated. Location is lovely particularly if the sun shines, one member of staff stood out a country mile(the slim guy with the glasses) but otherwise a bit unremarkable. Overall not bad but we wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at the Westleton crown for 5 days whilst touring around the area with friends in various vintage and classic cars. Our stay was somewhat marred by the poor service at meal times, we were a group of 14 people and were kept waiting for quite a long time for our meals, I wondered if it was because we were a large group and tended to be a little noisy at times, even so that was no excuse . When our meals did arrive they were very good so compliments to the chef. The room we were allocated which was yellow hammer was a little tired with the double glazed windows having blown and therefore were constantly misted, the rooms however were spotlessly clean and comfortable beds, but the shower needs sorting as you either got a freezing cold shower or so hot you could not stand under it. All in all we enjoyed our time in Westleton but would think twice about staying there again.
Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. All in all

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMannering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent three nights at this lovely hotel. My room (Waxwing) was a bit small but it was OK for one. Very comfortablem clean and quiet. Wonderfully hot and powerful shower. The staff were all, without exception, friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome and this is important as a single traveller. The food was excellent and the dining environment very pleasant. Yes it was a bit pricey but I felt it was worth it. It was an ideal base for exploring the Suffolk coast and convenient for Snape Maltings. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in blocks across the car park or garden. Waxwing was in one of these blocks upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
711 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
661 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,017 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
The Westleton Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing