We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing retreat in Suffolk countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing retreat in Suffolk countryside”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Westleton after eating here a few times and always being impressed. And we were not disappointed. The rooms are simple in décor but comfortable and we enjoyed relaxing with a pint in the pub once we'd settled into our room. We used the Westleton as a base for a few days whilst exploring Suffolk and it was great for that. Our evening meal was lovely, their selection of desserts is particularly lovely - we had sticky toffee pudding! Our only quibble is that on our second morning, the breakfast was quite busy and staff seemed overstretched. We didn't quite get what was ordered (missing baked beans and mustard!) and the mushrooms were burnt. But this in unsual for the Westleton and so we are going to put this down to a one-off and will return! Breakfast on the other days was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    221
    102
    55
    20
See reviews for
98
485
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

lovely hotel,quaint village setting but nothing else there, need transport to get everywhere. Staff are delightful, booked our room on line, went for good has we only wanted a base to stay but no mention at time that there is two goods, one good, one small, definitely had small, though nice furnishings lacking space.
Creaking floorboards and mossies at night, keep your windows closed, otherwise ok.
Suffolk though nice seems a very tired area, sitting on beach in a gusty wind or perhaps walking your socks off.

Room Tip: Dont go for good/good small, same price but bruised legs from lack of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Still basking in the memory of our fantastic stay at The Westleton Crown last weekend. Yes, we were blessed with great weather, which always helps, but this gem of a hotel would be a welcome retreat come rain or shine.

We booked with less than 1 week's notice, so were able to enjoy a rare 1 night stay on a Saturday night (usually a min 2 night stay is required at the weekend). The sensible and flexible approach demonstrated by the hotel in this regard set the tone for their "nothing is too much trouble" style of hospitality.

We booked a Suite (called "Marsh Harrier") and were delighted with the accommodation provided. This suite is set over two floors, with a wet room and small lounge area on the Ground floor, and a light airy bedroom on the first floor (complete with roll top bath and juliet balcony). Toiletries provided were of a good quality (White Company) and other nice touches included the provision of fresh milk in the fridge, a cafetiere with decent coffee, Earl Grey tea and nicely presented homemade biscuits. The room was spotlessly clean and the balcony overlooked the hotel garden. Due to the terracing of the garden, a net curtain might be a nice touch for the hotel to add in, but this would be my only comment for improvement.

We ate twice in the restaurant (evening meal & breakfast) and both meals were top quality. All food is prepared from scratch and the menu is creative. The dining space itself is stunning with bi-fold doors linking the courtyard dining room seamlessly to the Crown's terraced garden. Perfect for a summer's evening.

The location of the Westleton Crown is superb as a base for exploring the Suffolk Heritage Coast; we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel's "Inn to Inn" walk which is approx 8 miles in total, with a welcome stop at "The Ship" at Dunwich. The following day we headed out to Walberswick and Southwold before visiting the peaceful coastal village of Orford.

We felt thoroughly refreshed after our night at the Westleton Crown and very much hope to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different - the staff will be more than happy to chat through your preferences to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wow, a lovely warm welcome, friendly staff and amazing food served in the restaurant and bar. Clean well designed suites with towels changed daily, lovely large bath in the bedroom for a relaxing soak and fantastic comfy bed. Relaxed atmosphere where you feel at home and the staff were very accommodating to our needs....ie: reserving our table in the restaurant, helping us to change rooms and moving luggage. Very impressed with the service and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner and I were in bed talking about how wonderful this place was, when our neighbour came back from dinner and started watching TV. It was like a third person in the bed with us. Horrible. Lots of thumping around, water pipe noise. Had been looking forward to a good nights sleep but that didn't happen. The food is great tho. Such a shame, there is so much going for this place, but we won't be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed in a room called bittern. Rather odd giving us a twin room with a roll top bath in the actual bedroom. I had to wait in the bar while mum had a bath! Not sure it was worth the 180 per night price tag. Dinner was nice, could have been larger portions. Breakfast was eaten with a cloud of flies buzzing round everything which really put us off. However my biggest gripe were the patronizing, grumpy staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsreeves82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola BVI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Crown has been extensively and sympathetically refurbished. From the road it is still the village pub, but behind the frontage is a very stylish and comfortable hotel. The dining area and garden are lovely. The room we stayed in had originally been a small cottage in a line of similar village cottages and from the road that is exactly what it remains visually. However inside the room was large and well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom consisted of a large tub bath and wet room shower stylishly decked in black slate tiles. Ate in the restaurant on three occasions and was not disappointed. Varied selection on the menu with reasonable sized portions, and a good selection of ales and wines. The staff were all very helpful, attentive and polite. The location is ideal for exploring the Suffolk coast line and is situated in a beautiful village, close to the RSPB reserve. Try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saladdodger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,399 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
964 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
The Westleton Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing