We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little spot with nothing to complain really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful little spot with nothing to complain really”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent 4 lovely days here including a wonderful wedding party at the hotel. Decor and rooms are as advertised. We slept perfectly, staff was friendly and helpful.

Other raters advertised food being cold or taking a long time to arrive. None of that while we were here. While it's no gourmet kitchen nobody would expect it to be and so we don't really think the black and white way of people rating this place is helpful.

The kids felt at home in spite of their lack of speaking any english and as far as we are concerned if the kids are happy at a foreign place we usually are too.

We'll be back and gladly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc-Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    221
    102
    55
    20
See reviews for
98
485
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for a bite at lunch time and ordered 2 steak sandwiches. After 45mins I chased them up and amazingly they appeared straight away along with an apology of "we've got a new chef started and he doesn't really know what to do" Really!!?!? We each took a bite and the sandwiches were STONE cold. I called the waitress over and said this, then they were whipped away and two more appeared within 10 minutes. "Great! I'm thinking!" Well it would have been, only my sandwich was only half filled, the bread had been either toasted and drenched in butter or deep fried-very strange and quite unpleasant. Also there was a lot of fat on my steak....not sure why this couldn't have been cut off? The chips had obviously been cooked in very old oil and the side of coleslaw must have been made at least 4 days ago. It was soggy, and the one forkful I ate repeated on me all afternoon! When I've paid £8.35 for a steak sandwich I expect it to be edible and reasonably nice! On the plus side, when we complained the food was taken off our bill but I would have preferred to have had a LOVELY sandwich and paid for it!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Moley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just finished a superb Sunday lunch at the Crown. The service is excellent and the pub itself is lovely but the meal was delicious. We had roast beef and it was beautifully cooked - nice and pink and very tender. The accompaniments were also delicious and very generous servings - a big mound of roast potatoes, parsnips, sweet potato (or squash?), red cabbage and a huge squishy lovely yorkshire pudding. Sensational. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We only had the one night available in our diaries, unfortunately, but the excellent time that we had with our stay at the Crown made it nevertheless completely worthwhile. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient throughout and nothing from the point we arrived to the time we paid the bill was too much trouble. The double room we had was well appointed and well thought out, with good attention paid to detail. A good quality mattress and good pillows made the night a restful one. We had an excellent meal in the main restaurant, having been offered different seating options, and the full English breakfast served in our room the following morning was delicious. The location of the Crown is superb and we would not hesitate to return. Absolutely lovely!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place is trying so hard to get things right, but failing on almost all counts. The building is pleasant and characterful; the garden room restaurant and landscaped gardens are beautiful and much money has clearly been spent on them. However they're trying to get too much onto too small a site. Our room, which was in their 'best' category at £162 pn b&b, was clean and pleasant enough although bland and décor was 'tired', - but it was very small, poky and airless. There was no sense of luxury here despite the homemade biscuits and bathrobes: I'd expected so much more after reading glowing recommendations from some well known guides.
We had to wait over an hour for our cooked breakfast to arrive, swimming in grease and with dried up bacon.
We had dinner in the restaurant and had real problems as items on their menu were labelled as gluten-free when, on close interrogation they proved not to be. This is a serious matter which I have reported to Trading Standards. Also a treacle tart had been overheated in the microwave and was dried up. I had 3 scoops of homemade icecream and sorbet: all of them had an unpleasant amount of undissolved sugar and were inedible after they started to melt.
Service was very mixed. Some staff are surly to the point of rudeness; most just seem poorly trained and to have no idea what they're doing. Members of the management team we spoke to were polite and helpful but clearly have no grasp on what's going on.
Value wise I would be a lot less dissatisfied if we'd paid about £30 pp which is what it was worth, rather than £80pp.

Room Tip: No point looking for a spacious room here. Don't waste your money on a 'best' room. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PBcoeliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethJClarke, General Manager at The Westleton Crown, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I am disappointed to read that The Westleton Crown fell so far short of your expectations. As an old coaching inn our rooms are naturally of differing sizes and are simply decorated in Fired Earth colours to match the Fired Earth roll top bath, it’s a shame this did not suit your taste.

I am very sorry that the dish that you chose for dinner was described as being gluten free rather than a dish that could be adapted to be gluten free. We try to cater for many dietary choices to ensure we give each of our guests the opportunity to experience the menus we serve and we unfortunately miscommunicated this during your stay, as a result of your feedback we have made the wording even clearer on our menus.

We have many really positive comments about the friendliness of our team so I am disappointed this was not the experience you received. We have all read your thoughts regarding your stay with us and will ensure that all future guests benefit from your feedback. We would love to see you back at The Westleton Crown sometime to show that your visit was not to our normal standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The place is a small hotel, not a cosy pub, as you would be led to believe. There is absolutely nothing charming or friendly about the place or the serving/bar staff.
My room was up a steep flight of stairs, with more steps down into the room, [ fortunately I am fit]...it was pokey, cramped, lacked any comforts / luxuries and was noisy with a fan /? boiler running all night in the background.

The place is unwelcoming, and lacks care and consideration, especially for people who may have any mobility problems.

The bar has a large choice of wines, a couple of beers, [ nothing very imaginative] and staff that are slow to serve. Prices are London prices OR tourist prices.!
The dining area is cold, and lacks atmosphere with staff who lack interest, experience, attention to detail, or any sense of where their wages come from.............
My first meal was ok, hot, as described and nothing very special. More vegetables would have been good for the price being charged.

It is run by young people who need training,supervision, strong leadership, and a role model,along with robust recruitment and selection strategy,by the management.
Feedback - the place doesn't deserve this detail!!!.......- or maybe they still won't get it!..

I was made to feel most unwelcome and uncomfortable, by a female bar staff member who was abrupt, rude, very disrespectful, and who demonstrated this by blaming 'the customer', with an approach and attitude of 'that'll do' for you, and then threatening me with my food order[ soup] being served cold.!
It was quite shocking to be spoken to in this manner,& I voted with my feet.

Food is varied, expensive and delivered to suit the kitchen, NOT the customer.
Breakfast is an experience, & not a great one!
Coffee is served in tea pots, warm milk[,after requesting] arrives ten minutes later and the breakfast order has items missing. Some items being barely cooked, eg., half a hard tomato,an anaemic sausage, or over cooked eg., dried baked beans.....and mushrooms...fresh fruit salad looks tired.
The next morning - no fruit at all, its 'run out' along with 'we've run out of brown sauce'!!
such BASIC ITEMS, when so many guests...
Bread is described as 'home baked and a variety', when asked what bread there is available, the answer 'the same as over there'..........? No product knowledge ..then. Brown or white- home baked hey?!!
Toast arrived before the cooked breakfast with the' tea pot' of coffee!
You guessed it - cold toast !!
Would I recommend here , certainly not - go else where - just down the lane perhaps- to some where friendlier that has great value beers, wines,& food, and excellent customer service.
Staff at the Crown are unfriendly, indifferent, slow and abrupt in the bar and dining areas. Some serving staff are just plain rude, and hostile lacking any manners, or basic customer service skills at all.
A few staff clearly demonstrate they don't enjoy their work, stamping around in contempt,and should be directed elsewhere by the management.
Would I employ these staff, in the main no! - They would damage the business far too much.
The only redeeming person, was the receptionist who was very helpful, and pleasant.
Overall,- Disappointing, and hugely over rated, not value for money.
Avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a weekend with some friends of ours. It appears to be and old pub from the front, but as you drive into the large car park at the rear, you see how the building has been considerably extended to provide accommodation. The reception staff were excellent and the room tastefully presented in a cottage style with all the normal trimmings. Everything was spotlessly clean and the homemade biscuits with the tea making facilities were a delight.
The pub part of the hotel was very cosy and offered a good range of homemade food from quality local produce. The homemade pate was particularly good.
The main restaurant is housed within a huge garden room which opens up fully onto a terraced garden. The ambience is excellent.
On the first night we ate in the restaurant, we ordered steak pudding. After a long wait it arrived completely dried out and they were unable to provide unsweetened gravy to bring it back to life. The breakfasts we had on both mornings had food that was also dried out. However on the second night we had an excellent meal which clearly demonstrated that the chef is more than capable. We put the dried out food down to the waiting staff leaving food warming for too long before serving. To be honest the front of house staff did not seem to be very experienced.

Coincidently, I understand that a new chef has recently been appointed - hopefully he will iron out these issues. Having said all this, I would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise but might not recommend the restaurant to anyone unless I have tried it again first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhmyGod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
The Westleton Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing