We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown Remains a Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westleton Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Crown Remains a Favourite”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have stayed here many times but this time we took our son & daughter and their partners to share in a special celebration.

The food is served in the 'conservatory' restaurant and in the traditional bar and restaurant area.

Good beers and wines with a good choice of both and good food served unfussily.

As I have mentioned before the rooms are all very different and therefore have a look around before deciding, if you can.

A suite sounds excellent until you finds that it is quite small but provides an excellent sleeping arrangement for a couple with a young baby!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    234
    112
    58
    22
See reviews for
106
511
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Really nice hotel in a lovely village. The hotel is lovely with a nice atmosphere, although some rooms could be described as tiny, the one I stayed in was lovely and clean with a nice feel.
The hotel bar is well stocked with good ales, and the restaurant delivered very nice food with good service.
Back on business next week to the area and am looking forward to my two night stay here.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and avoid the small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a lovely place to stay. Rooms are comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities and lovely toiletries. The location is excellent as it is close to Southwold, Aldeburgh and Snapes Maltings.
Staff are excellent and always ready to help.
However service in the restaurant is very slow we waited 45minutes between our starter and the main course and whilst we were happy to have our meal at a leisurely pace this was stretching our patience a little. We had two evening meals at the hotel but on our third night we ate at the Brudenell Hotel in Aldeburgh which is great. Please note if you want a cooked breakfast allow yourself plenty of time because cooked breakfast takes ages to be served and the buffet is very uninspiring.
I would recommend this hotel it has lots going for it but something is wrong in the restaurant and there doesn't seem to be anyone in charge to put it right.
Mobile and WiFi reception are almost non existent so be prepared to do without your phone. This is one place where you won't see a mobile phone on a restaurant table. Hurrah!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and comfortable. There are no views but the hotel is in a nice village. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castagnari
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Daughter and I stayed here on the 19th August for one night. I was in Swallow and my daughter in Beeswing?? Lovely rooms, very well equipped and well designed. Very nice smellies in the bathroom and great supply of tea and coffee in the room. The village is lovely. The most excellent bar man pointed out places of interest for an evening stroll. We walked around the lovely village happy in our choice of hotel.
All came crashing down with the evening meal., Wobbly table and chair was quickly remedied. I order mussels and fish and chips. Now I go to Whitby very often and know just what both dishes can taste like. Unfortunately these did not compare in any way. A good number of the mussel shells were empty and then a wait of almost an hour for our fish and chips. The only other couple in the room were a bored looking couple waiting for their sweets. Our fish and chips arrived eventually .. Dark brown batter showing long overcooking. Cutting through the thick brittle batter revealed a small portion of sour tasting fish. Chips were thick cut but not tasty as they can be. So very disappointed and the meal was certainly not cheap either. Breakfast was excellent . I complained the next morning to be told they were short staffed in the kitchen. Really not my concern is it ? Will stay again but have evening meal elsewhere..... Wi Fi very intermittent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castagnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are frequent visitors to this part of Suffolk, but can't believe we hadn't chanced across the Westleton Crown before. Our room was snug for two of us, but spotlessly clean and the Fired Earth bathroom fittings and the high quality bedding made for a really luxurious experience.
The staff couldn't have been more genuinely helpful and friendly, from the warm welcome at reception, the barman kindly organising a taxi, and even phoning ahead to let our restaurant know we were running late, and then the lovely attentive service at breakfast.
All in all a fantastic experience, and we very much look forward to staying again soon, but for me the highlight was the fabulous breakfast, freshly cooked to order, but SO worth the wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fever969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Rooms I had was basic but clean and the bed was comfortable as were the pillows. Service was great, food was really good too. The barrel sirloin was cooked perfectly. The gardens are pleasant when the sun is out.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros:
- A pretty, quaint building with lots of character.
- The option to eat/drink inside or outside in the gardens at any time of day.
- Good bedding, towels and roll top baths.
- Very clean.
- Customer service - any problems were soon dealt with and staff seemed eager to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.
- Location/surroundings - lovely village within walking distance of nature reserve, good walking/cycling options, only a short drive to Dunwich, Southwold and Aldeburgh.

Cons:
- Food - the breakfasts were lovely, very generous and lots of options. We ate dinner twice - most of what we ate was nice but not outstanding and probably not worth the prices.
- Variability of rooms - We booked a 'best' room thinking that we would have a room looking like the 'best' one on the website, however, it turns out that every room is quite different and when booking a 'best' room you are charged the same £165 per night rate regardless of whether your room has a four poster bed or not etc. We were offered alternative rooms when we expressed our disappointment in the room that we were allocated and although nice it was still not what was pictured as their 'best' room and I wouldn't say it was worth £165 per night. If you want what is shown as their 'best' room on their website (the one in which Kate and William stayed in!) then you need to request the 'Swan' room.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others, however, it is probably a bit overpriced and to ensure that you get what you have paid for be specific in your room requirements. The food could probably do with a bit of improvement too! The best asset to the Westleton Crown is a member of staff called Rob; his customer service is second to none and he cannot be faulted in his effort to make our stay everything that it should be.

Room Tip: If you want what is shown as their 'best' room on their website (the one in which Kate and W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westleton
2.5 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
706 reviews
6.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
654 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,002 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Property: The Westleton Crown
Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
The Westleton Crown Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing