We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively with good food”
Review of The Hove Kitchen - CLOSED

The Hove Kitchen
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hove Kitchen is owned by former River Cafe trained Chef Steve Beadle and former Raymond Blanc trained Manager Ben Ranger. Focusing on the use of the local land and sea to use the finest and freshest ingredients to create fantastic dishes at reasonable prices. The restaurant is warm and cosy with a seperate bar area with fine wines and fantastic mixologists hard at work. Perfect for an intimate meal, business or private occasion.
Burnham on Crouch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lively with good food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good place to watch the hustle and bustle of Brighton, while eating some nice grub. The seafood here was good and plentiful. Some cocktails £5 and a bit of fun. You'll find cheaper alternatives but tasty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    31
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went there for the first time in a while and couldn't work out why the food was so bad! Ordered the lamb shank which was just a massive piece of tough meat sat on mashed potato with the consistency of play doh. The Hove Kitchen did our wedding breakfast last year which was awesome and we used to love this restaurant. It was only when we got back that we found out it had changed ownership since then and Ben and Steve had left. Nooooo! What a shame, it used to be a great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK for a glass of wine but not much more!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Three of us went to The Hove Kitchen last night and had a not very good experience. We found the prices to be very high for the quality of the food. The main garnish appeared to be rather weary lettuce leaves - I don't feel the chef has even heard of rocket! My vegetarian dish - a type of mezes - was very starchy and it lacked the promised mushrooms. The two guys had burgers which they thought were not up to the standard of other burgers, eg Gourmet Burger, which has lower prices. The conclusion would be that our meal was lacklustre and overpriced. The Hove Kitchen needs to look around at other places in the Brighton/Hove area which have a more modern approach to food and don't charge so much. And they must get rid of that tired lettuce garnish! Last but not least, the stairs to the toilets were not lit and we felt they were asking to be sued if someone fell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Quite Average”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I can remember this establishment from my first visit, some years ago. Part of the reason I remember it so clearly, is of course, because it hasn't changed. Indeed - if something isn't broke, then why fix it?

The decor, ambience, and staff at Hove Kitchen felt very familiar upon my most recent visit - for a hearty breakfast following a night on the gin. They greeted us, seated us, and fed us. Two full cooked breakfasts, one of which (mine, unfortunately) was absolutely freezing. With two pots of tea, to wash it down, it set us back some £25, but we left feeling slightly unsatisfied.

Nothing wrong with the food, certainly, but nothing spectacular, either. Visit or don't - your time in Brighton and Hove won't be enriched or lessened any.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark01824093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's changed since new owners took over.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Hove kitchen on numerous occasions since moving to Hove in 2012..I have been twice since the new owners took over, one expects changes on these circumstances and whilst the staff are very polite and friendly I found that the quality of the food and I refer to the breakfast menu..has gone downhill..overcooked eggs, sausages over seasoned with herbs and very salty bacon. The hollandaise sauce with the eggs royale was tasteless. The price is reasonable so I would give this establishment 5/10 where before I would have given it 8/10.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank italianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hove Kitchen also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing