We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langfords Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Imperial(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kings Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Topps(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
91
164
102
65
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
164
102
65
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablepolite staffsea frontstreet parkingcomfy bedtwin roomexcellent value for moneynice walkcouple of nightstea and coffeeribabrightonseafrontbusespubsensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had booked a windsurfing course and needed a place to stay. We chanced on this hotel and, more importantly , it had a double and a single room available, total cost £310 without breakfast for one night.
It would have been bearable if this hotel offered great accommodation...
The front of house has had a makeover and looks ok, but the rest of the hotel ( several grand villas joined together) lack any form of style and investment, bare walls, old carpet, poor paintwork and creaky stairs and corridors. The door to the rooms are made from cheap chipboard and the room furniture is MFI circa 1960. The bed was hard and the pillows thin. The towels schratchy and the state of the room poor. The mirror in the bathroom was chipped, the wc had a crack as had some floor tiles. the window rattled all night and the hairdryer had to be collected from reception. There was one picture in the room of a seabattle, the sort of thing you find in a amusement arcade. This hotel urgently needs updating and investment. I wonder who accorded it four stars!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet. There was a loud party opposite
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for visiting from Hertfordshire. While your critique is valued and we were sorry to learn that the hotel did not meet fully your expectations, equally we were pleased the Langfords was able to assist you and your friends in your 'hour of need'. Hopefully the windsurfing course was a great success and what a fun way to spend your time in the City

We liken the Langfords to a grand Victorian lady of some standing with the hotel the subject of ongoing maintenance and upgrade. As with any building which was not 'purpose-built' we have to be diligent in our planning and execution of the works, more so given her age

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Depends what you expect for £70. Cheery front desk, but room desperately needed a makeover. Saggy mattress, frayed carpet, dirty widows, bathroom extractor not working, tiles around bath mouldy. A large room with huge potential and hotel well placed for Hove and Brighton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drungeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We appreciate your visiting from the West of England though were sorry to learn that you felt elements of your stay were challenging. Positively it looks like you snared an excellent rate for a peak season visit, so well done

It may help if I tell you that we have in the last couple of weeks invested in a large number of new mattresses and carpets which are now being deployed. We also have clear plans, as we move into the Autumn, to make further improvements to the hotel which, as you say, is well located and strives to provide value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very tired hotel which could do with a lot of TLC - décor, paintwork, upholstery all disappointing. Reception service OK, bar expensive for what it was. The fire door in the corridor outside our room wasn't properly set to softly close so we had bang after bang all night. One of the lamps in the room had a test certificate which was out of date. Our toilet seat hinge cover was broken and the hinge below badly corroded. The mastic around the shower tray was stained. An odd lip between the bathroom and bedroom meant stubbed toes every time we walked through.

Location good for access to Hove and a good walk over to Brighton. On street parking relatively easy and not bad price - don't buy the £7.00/day permit at reception as pay & display is only £5.00/day.

Wouldn't rush back for sure, but if desperate it does offer a comfortable bed with clean sheets in a relatively convenient location

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

This is a disheartening review overall though we are pleased you found a number of aspects of your stay positive

The Langfords strives to provide her guests with value for money and choice - the choice for example of having peace of mind by leaving sufficient parking vouchers in ones car so that there is no 'feeding of the meter' to remember. This is an incredibly popular service but equally if a customer chooses to do things 'manually' then that is great too

To be clear, our electrical test responsibilities were completed a couple of months ago and, of course, the hotel continues to receive investment to further upgrade the property, not least as we view the Langfords as very much the Grande Dame of Third Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable prices for our 3 night break with friends. We were pleasantly surprised because its B&B prices but the hotel is spacious with nice rooms, bar area, good breakfast and very pleasant, helpful staff. The location was more like a 20-30 minute stroll,but we weren't in a hurry and it was generally a nice walk in the sunshine and it was away from the hussle and bustle of central Brighton. You could get buses or a taxi back from central Brighton was about £7. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

What a super review and we really appreciate your support, particularly as there is so much choice in the City

The Langfords strives to provide value for money and is ideally located and, as you say, a pleasant stroll along the seafront into the city centre

There is no greater tribute than the return of a loyal guest so hopefully we can see you again before too long. Renewed thanks meanwhile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I really did this like this hotel. I stayed here from Sunday to the Thursday with my friend and I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews!

We got to the hotel and i was shocked. We really liked it. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We got to the room and it was really big!

A double bed, chairs , Table, sofa and the bathroom had a bath and a shower! ( Shocked you would get that for a budget price compared to Travelodge)

The baloney was nice and I could see the sea from it.Our friends stayed in a travelodge in Brighton centre and they were jealous of us!

The only downside is parking is expensive in brighton so we got the train. It's quite a distance to carry bags to the hotel but you could easily get a taxi for a fiver...

Overall, we really did enjoy our stay at the Langfords. So much that we are organising another trip down to brighton for New Years and we will defo stay at the Langfords!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesshintonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much for this stellar review. The staff are ecstatic too and while there is plenty of 2014 still to enjoy, we are really looking forward to your return trip in the New Year. As your plans come together, please contact our manager Pavol as he is standing ready to help with your booking

It is kind of you to acknowledge the range of reviews here - we welcome genuine reviews and take seriously guest feedback and the opportunity it gives us to learn which is why we will respond to each and every review, unlike the majority of hotels

Thank you again for your kind remarks and support - a real summer pick me up

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews