We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

For a best western hotel I expected a bit more peace at night being as the location of this hotel was quite far from the pier and busy town. Room rate was too steep being as breakfast was not included & was awoken between two and 4am by the noisey lift and guests in room next door. Thankfully the night porter got them to keep it quiet. I give this hotel a brief sea breeze stay. To anyone who books here look forward to a disturbed nights sleep.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Decappitated85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon006, Manager at Best Western Princes Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I can see looking at the above the main concern you had was with noise, I'm glad to hear the night porter got the noise level under control for you, I think most hotels in Brighton/Hove will come a cross the noise issue sometimes over busy week ends when alcohol is involved!! I do hope you will give us another try and we will get you a room away from the lift too! Sorry.

Our room rates over week ends are very competitive and more often than not a lower price than the centre of Brighton, we also have free car parking on a first come first served basis and can save you up to £30 a night!!

Many thanks,

Jonathan Ailion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed a week in one of the fresh renovated family rooms. The room was very clean, very thourough room service every day. The only thing we missed was a fridge in the room as you can find it normally in combination with some drinks and food in a mini bar. Breakfast was very good. All members of the staff, at the reception, room and restaurant service, where extraordinary friendly and always ready to help. We experienced Princes Marine Hotel as a house where children are welcome. Parking space around the house is a little bit limited. But after all, Princes Marine Hotel is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival you have to negotiate a VERY narrow passageway ro gain acvess to the car park at the rear which is limit in space. The spaces are so tight you can hardly get out of the car. Walking into the hotel, the aluminum door scaped along the floor with a shockingly intense screatch. The bar area spillis over into receprion. Checkin was smooth enoigh. Once in the room i found it to be sparse and poorly light by way of uplighters that arw below eye level by the beds. The result ia rhat the bulbs shine straing into your eyea ao i had these turned off. The bathroom waa nice and looked as though it had recenrly been updated. I went down for some dinner. I had the baked cheese to start which was preswnted well ans tasted nice. The main was primw rib eye steak which i orderd as well done. When it arrived I could hardly cut it ler alone chew it and it was medium at best. I swnt it back and had an omelte instead. The reaturant in the photos shows it fully dressed with flowers and tableclothes etc however these must have been just for the photo as there was no tablecloth in site. The next day at breakfast i was presented with a cold buffett that was put to shame by Travelodge and everywhere else for that matter. A few bowls of tinned fruit and a few cerials. I had sausage and egg and bacon. Personaly, the sausage was too coursely minced for me and was quite herby/spicey.

The next evening I asked the bar maid if there was an Indian restuarnt nearby but due to her poor grasp of the Engliah language I had to walk away and ask someone else as she kept directing me to the hotels restaurant but explaining it was not Indian!

All in all not a good experience for me and I am staggered how it has such a high rating on Tripadviser as this hotel was chosen based on that rating

Two stars only sue to comfy bed and nice bathroom

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon006, Manager at Best Western Princes Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Glen T,

Thank you for your recent comments, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed parts of your stay, I will of course be looking into the areas mentioned and will iron out any noted problems you encountered as soon as possible.

I do agree the front doors are a little noisy thanks to the recent storm we had, we are looking into changing them in the near future.

As for the car parking I do agree the entrance is a little narrow, there is a large sign on entrance to the car park to warn about this-it is possible to drive large 4x4s in there which we often have with care. Its a great asset to have free car parking in a hotel which is very rare in Brighton/Hove and free!

Regards

Jonathan Ailion
Director


ave as long as you take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nicely situated on the sea front, couple of miles outside Brighton. Receptionist was very pleasant. I had asked for high floor but was given first floor, but that did not spoil weekend. The room was clean and very presentable, bed was comfortable. Bit noisy at the front of hotel with passing traffic, but nothing too unbearable.
Staff at breakfast very pleasant but full english took a long time to arrive, but nice choice of items to eat whilst waiting. Breakfast was good, served on very big plates, which made cooked breakfast look small, but it was just an illusion.
The only down side is the car park is very small and done on a "first come first served bases". Which is a problem if you arrive late evening. There is parking across the road at £1 hour, so would suggest keeping an eye out for when guests check out in the mornings.
Overall a nice stay and would go back there again.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice, but bit more expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as were coming to the abirtday party of a friend. We got a lovely room with seaview on the fourth floor. Rm 37. The room was extremely clean. Check in process was very quick and the receptionist that welvomed us very nice and polite. Excellent location to stay if you want to go out and about in Brighton! Definetely coming back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dimitrios L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Plenty of room and a great sea view. Pleasant staff. Lovely breakfast and well organised. We were there for a weekend but it would be good for a longer stay too. A little too far out of Brighton for us to walk comfortably but the buses were easy to get.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Remakably good. Everything from reception on arrival, room, breakfast and general service...impeccable. A lot of other hotels in the Brighton area would do well to take a leaf out of The Princes Marine book..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hove
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,702 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.8 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Princes Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Princes Marine Hotel

Address: 153 Kingsway, Hove BN3 4GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hove
Price Range: £63 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Princes Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Princes Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brighton
Brighton Best Western
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel Brighton And Hove, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing