We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cave a Fromage

La Cave a Fromage
Ranked #66 of 292 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cheese - Charcuterie - Wine. We specialise in farmhouse and artisan cheese from across Europe and the UK. Our tasting cafe is open daily, serving a selection of cheese and charcuterie platters along with wines by the glass or bottle. We hold regular cheese and wine tasting events in the cafe.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We came here on Saturday night after a terrible meal in Brighton. We were instantly greeted with excellent friendly service, offered a lovely table in the back and offered expert advice on which cheese and wines to try. The staff are surprisingly knowledgable about all of the products. We got a generous portion of bread to go with our charcuterie board and the wine was lovely. The prices were really reasonable and the ambience was great. Will definitely be returning :) Top marks!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    25
    5
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing cheese, great knowledge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

It has become a tradition on any visit to Brighton to go to La Cave for Sunday lunch, and every time it is as charming as it has been previously. We actually had somebody different serve us to usual, and it was nice to see that the same knowledge and passion wasn't just the individual, but is obviously shared by all the people there.

Once again, the variety of cheeses was amazing, (the port Stilton would have been a winner in terms of taste until we were brought out a bonus Dessert wine addled Fourme d'Aubert, which has the fizz and lightness to offset the lovely rich creaminess of flavour - but I digress).

Not cheap, admittedly, but the little stories about each of the cheeses, and the combinations put forth with thought and planning make it a great visit.

This was the busiest I'd ever seen it, and even then it was very quiet - perhaps cheese isn't a Sunday lunch thing!

Great cheese, amazing meats, lovely bread, nice stories. A lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I just wish you'd open one in Bristol because it's a bloody long way to go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hove
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Went along for a cheese tasting evening and had an excellent time. The mixed cheese board we were given was extremely good as was the selection of wines provided for each cheese - they were very generous with the wine as well. The descriptions and explications of the cheese and wine were very informative and interesting. An excellent evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack_karen_Hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun & Interesting Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We went to La Cave for a cheese and wine tasting as a gift to my partners parents, we had no idea what to expect (as we have only been in to buy cheese before), it was great, really interesting to learn about the cheese and accompanying wines. Don't go if you don't like cheese! The staff as always were friendly and helpful. Well worth the money and we will be returning soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizabetW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Memorable but perhaps not for the right reasons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

As our small platter was served the waiter (with an elbow placed between us) proceeded to tell us stories of the various cheeses' escapades and various shows it had apparently gone to. Not too sure when my wife and I could could resume our conversation that was interrupted by these milky tales, we smiled politely and secretly wished he would leave us alone.
In hindsight (and as fans of Portlandia) it was funny, but at the time if I want to hear cheese based tales I'll book a show. I merely wanted to eat some cheese, drink a glass of wine and most importantly talk to my wife.
If you're on a first date and you're worried the conversation might run dry it's perfect. Other than that the cheese was .........erm....quite nice cheese and the wine was...Ok wine.
This place is worth a visit only to marvel at the level of pretentiousness, but please, if you haven't watched Portlandia, try and watch season 1 before you go. It'll make it more enjoyable. I promise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC71BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cave a Fromage also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to La Cave a Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing