We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Fish Market

The Little Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'The little Fish Market Restaurant'A local welcoming Restaurant Serving Exciting Food,Reasonably Priced, with Produce Sourced Directly from local Fishermen,Butchers and Farmers.
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretentious.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were impressed with the quality of the food, but not with anything else. Dishes too small, prices too high, service slow, so quiet as to be subdued. No atmosphere. Just way too pretentious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FrejusFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“long wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

have read the reviews and was really looking forward to visiting this fish restaurant. The food was really good, well cooked and presented,but, with one chef in the kitchen and only one server for 22 covers ,the service was slow and there were only 8 other diners. This is the only fish place i have been in that does not offer chips or fries or any side dishes to add. As the portions are not big I left still not full. The pricing was too much for this back street bistro, If they insist on only taking cash they should offer the 7%-!0% they save by not taking credit cards, to the customer.
Suggest a commis chef in the kitchen and another server to really make this a place to seek out.If the chef pops out for a quick smoke ,he should put on a cleaner jacket and trousers as the ones he had on were very grubby, did not look good. For a better experience, try GB1 the fish restaurant in the Grand Hotel, better service, nice view, and half the price with equally god food,more choice and Chips. Will not hurry back..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlieb235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too little ... too late ... (but prepared to give it a second try)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Sorry, in this case, I agree with the minority who haven't raved about this restaurant. And for similar reasons. Portions really are too small, OK for a light lunch perhaps, but not a full evening's dinner. Maybe the multi-course tasting menu would have given more satisfaction? Hungry diners should perhaps give this serious consideration.

Also, given the cost of our meal, the cash only rule here is unacceptable. I for one, prefer not to carry that kind of money around with me.

The real disappointment for us was the slow service. The person who took our telephone booking specifically asked we arrive on time, which sort of jarred: did they suspect we were going to be late? Why? This minor, and otherwise forgivable, eccentricity stuck in my memory as, even though the restaurant was less than half full on the night we ate there, service was dreadfully slow. We were at a bay window table where I spent far too much pre- and between course time contemplating signs in the opposite bay displaying the restaurant's two AA rosettes and Good Food Guide listing. A note artfully enclosed in a bottle on the table reassured me we had our table for the evening, etc. Well, we needed it. The longueurs were somewhat alleviated by a delightful and attentive waitress (memorably good, in fact), but presumably she could only serve our food when it was ready. It was slow enough in coming to spoil the evening.

This, and the small servings aside, excellent (and mainly local) ingredients were were brilliantly cooked and the Little Fish Market, surely is the best (if about the only) fish restaurant in Brighton's gastro-wilderness. Superb desserts, too.

One further matter non-meat eaters should note is, that on the evening we ate there, two of the main dishes on the quite short menu included meat products -- pork belly, chorizo. A current fashion, but for a variety of reasons, not too everyone's taste.

In spite of the flaws, given I'm in a minority, we will give this place another try. They'll know it's me, as I'll probably order two starters...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Quite simply the best fish dish I have ever tasted. Monkfish and Pork belly cooked to perfection. I have been fortunate enough to visit Birmingham's Michelin star restaurants, but always save them for special occasions because of the formal nature of the dinning. Duncan Ray has created the perfect combination of exquisite food in an environment that you can really relax in, leaving you to focus on what is really important - the food and your company. Wow!

My only criticism was of the very hard working waitress - her lack of knowledge of the menu and lack of passion and enthusiasm for the food we were about to eat was a shame. However, it didn't spoil the good and a quick google revealed the details I was lacking about my Tart Tatin a bread dough that made the dish so distinctive. The service was friendly and unhurried and we were welcome to sit and relax after our meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant meal in Hove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Superb meal this evening. Lobster risotto to start; Main course of Sea Bass, followed by desert of Tart Tatin - but in fact much more subtle than it sounds!
Accurate explanations of the dishes followed by discrete service. A great place for a high calibre meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Fish Market also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Little Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing