We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly”
Review of The Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Claremont
Ranked #2 of 16 Hove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have just returned from a 2-night stay at the claremont. We found it to be very clean and great value for money. The breakfast was excelent, good choice and great quality.
Location is superb with it being away from the bustle and noise of Brighton itself but only a brisk walk or short taxi ride away.
We feel its worth mentioning that there is quite a big difference in the size of the different room grades and facilities that are avaliable in them so be sure to book at least a superior and avoid the classic double as this is very small. Particulary room no. 1, as this is located on the first landing with every single guest passing the door on their way to all the other rooms and you can hear everyone coming in the front door !!!
Dont let this put you off though as we would highly recommend this guest house to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wot_it_says_on_the_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice, clean and spaceous, little bit cold in the rooms in the afternoon, due to the heating going off. Beds very comfortable. Only down side, the breakfast was cold, and had to wait half an hour for it. Will stick to the Premier Inn from now on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed at the hotel as a last-minute weekend getaway and weren't really sure what to expect. Thankfully, the hotel was delightful - the staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Our room was spacious, clean and well-equipped. The location was perfect - a brisk ten minute walk from all the local attractions.

The hotel is decorated throughout with some intriguing works of art (which can be bought) and the breakfasts were simply outstanding. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halstde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I stayed at The Claremont with my partner for my birthday.
Dan who greeted us upon our arrival was extremly helpful and ensured that whatever we wished to do he advised the best routes places to go etc etc.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and had lovely little touches from dressing gowns to DVDs to watch shuld you wish a quiet night in.
Its location was on the outskirts of Brighton itself but plaenty if buses pass directly through the city centre.
I could not truly fault the place and felt very welcome and certainly shall be visitng again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just got back from 2nights B & B at the Claremont in Hove and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Hotel is ideally situtated close the bars, restaurants etc in Hove and it is easy to walk into Brighton. The room was very comfortable with lots of little extra touches like slippers & gowns, toiletries etc. I must say I was particlularly impressed with the Breakfast selection and the quality of it. Brighton is a bright and buzzing resort, with excellent shops, bars & restaurants. The Lanes are worth a visit and so is the Marina where you will find a cosmpolitan atmosphere. We will definitely return for another visit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hotel. Chris & Dave - Warwickshire

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and this was our second visit. Easy to walk to everything in Brighton and you can park right outside with purchased vouchers ( £5.00 per day, cheap for Brighton ! )
Rooms were immaculate, breakfast was outstanding ( they have awards for wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts .) Lovely restaurants and bars on the doorstep, staff very friendly and helpful. Bottled Water provided in rooms as was tea, coffee ( caffetiere )biscs. etc. bed linen and pillows top quality. Excellent value, all round very enjoyable, we will be back again soon, can't wait !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed in The Claremont with several of my family members in 6 of their rooms. We were there for 2 nights as I was getting married locally. The staff were all fantastic, particularly Andrew who was an angel, as they were all so accommodating. We had lots of people in and out all morning including the hairdresser, florist, photographer, additional family members and were never made to feel in the way. They also provided a travel cot for my nephew which was really helpful. The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated and was exceptionally clean tidy. There was a wide choice for breakfast and the staff were more than happy for us to move a few tables so my family could all sit together. The modern boutique hotel is very in-keeping with the local area and suits Hove (actually) down to a tee! The only downside is there is no bar (although there are many very local) and it would have been nice to have somewhere peaceful and private to wind down with my family after the wedding day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty-Kearsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hove
0.7 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont

Address: Second Avenue, Hove BN3 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hove
Price Range: £83 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claremont 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claremont Hotel Hove
The Claremont Brighton And Hove, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing