We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Seafield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seafield House
Ranked #8 of 16 Hove B&B and Inns
Brooke,Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

After lots of research, very pleased to have chosen this guest house. Lovely light airy room, comfortable bed, and lots of extras: a very small ironing board, iron, hair dryer, robe, peanuts, coke and even a small bottle of wine. Odd that the peanuts and biscuits weren't replenished on our second night. Breakfast good, and all staff very helpful and friendly. The bathroom looked great from a distance, but looking a bit tired and distressed up close.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    53
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
24
93
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having experienced many hotels in Brighton, Hove and surrounding area, I can honestly say that this B&B is far better than many.
It is clean, quiet and extremely good value
I would not hesitate to recommend it for a visit to the area
Personal touches such as wine, chocolates and water put this way above many hotels
Great breakfast
Give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The buildings next door are being renovated so this end of the street will end up looking quite nice, but the street generally is a little scruffy. The hotel itself is small with steep stairs that are quite narrow - don't have big suitcases! The room was very small with barely any room around the bed and the ensuite tiny. Nice touch of having a small bottle of wine when you check in and the breakfast was made to order and well cooked and served. You have to pay for parking and we were lucky to find a space. Even if you have paid for the voucher, you may have to park some distance away though there seem to be spaces during the daytime. Just around the corner is a good choice of restaurants but I would not relish the walk into Brighton itself - though parking the car in the city is difficult and expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The toilet seat in our room was too small, kept slipping off everythime we sat on it. The cream coloured carpet was quite dirty looking, not the right colour for a B & B. Breakfast was a lucky dip, whatever we asked for got lost in translation as what we got wasn't what we asked for. I asked for scrambled egg on toast, i heard the young woman ask the chef for full english with scrambled egg on toast, I had to go tell him I didn't want that ( for one thing thing I am vegetarian), next morning I asked again for scrambled egg on toast, I got fried egg on toast. My husband asked for sausage, bacon and beans and he got a full english, he asked for toast twice one morning and still didn't get any. one night we heard a lot of commotion on the corridor, a woman had came back to find a man in her bed! The owners don't live on-site so after a phone call to them the police arrived. It says it is 20 mins walk from Brighton centre, it is in fact 35 minutes walk. It is situated on the worst, scruffiest street we have see in that area.

Room Tip: Don't know which are the best but keep windows locked, especially as there was a strange man fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulhollands_inwakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was my first night away with my boyfriend. We went mid week as it was quieter and cheaper.

The hotel location:
Great location, 10 min walk from the pier and 5 min walk from the beech. Tesco round the corner. Quiet road but please be warned... Parking is not free. We booked online expecting free parking as it states on the website 'free parking if booked online' but we had to pay £4.50 to park overnight on street and when arriving back late at night we found it hard to find a space.

The hotel/room:
Its a nice hotel. We stayed in room 1 which is on the top floor. It was quiet and a nice room. The room was small but did the job. The bathroom was really small. I knocked my knee about 3 times and burnt myself on the shower as it got really hot all of a sudden on a few occasions. Also it had no bath matt so you slide around a lot, please be careful!
The sink is right behind the door so the door doesn't open all the way meaning you have to squeeze round it. Also a lot of stairs to climb so not for the faint of heart!
The room had a fan in it which helped as it was really hot (although the fan was noisy)
The bed was a king size and nice. Although the pillows where a little soft for my liking.

The staff:
The guy on reception was nice. Showed us to our room and was helpful with giving tips on places to eat and visit etc. The only major problem we had was the staff walking into the room without knocking. It was wrong and we had to speak to the manager about it in the end.

Other:
The breakfast was really nice although you don't get much (only one sausage,bacon,egg etc) so I had to ask for extra toast etc. But it was nice.
The rest of the hotel was modern and clean. The other people staying there where quiet. We could come and go as we please.
The room comes with dressing gowns and some basic toiletries. Also has a free bottle of wine and cans of coke and bottles of water and a mini fridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_DaveyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spent 3 nights at this excellent B&B. Friendly reception, particularly as we arrived very early. Reasonably quiet and comfortable room, excellent breakfast.
Well situated for the beach and for buses into the centre of Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have just had two days at the Seafield House hotel. On turning into Seafield road we were confronted with a drugged/drunk guy wandering down the middle of the street in his socks. The road is a bit scruffy and probably one of the worst in Hove. However, the hotel was good, spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful and polite. Our first night's sleep was interrupted quite a bit by various drunks wandering down the road so a rear-facing room might be best. The hotel itself was nice and quiet. The hotel has two free parking spots (I believe) which are allocated to however asks first for the duration of their stay otherwise it is paid-for street parking and there always seemed to be a couple of spaces available.

Room Tip: Rear-facing might be best as there can be some street noise late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon Womble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hove
0.3 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 43 in Brighton
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield House

Property: Seafield House
Address: 23 Seafield Road | Hove, Hove BN3 2TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seafield House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seafield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafield House Hotel Brighton
Seafield House Brighton And Hove, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing