We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great & Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms - Dusthole
Ranked #32 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great & Friendly Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for over 7 weeks whilst working in the Bath Area .

The owner looked after me well and included me in conversations with the locals
This is a 15th century Coaching Inn with all it nooks and crannys. It is not a Travellodge .

Linen and towels are always clean .The Hotel rooms are dated but comfortable The Chalets in the garden are great Fun to stay in all individual in their design .

Breakfast is cooked well and plentiful Evening meals are great .

Characters from all over the world stayed there during my time there. great debates were held over several pints of beer in the courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    36
    34
    15
    35
See reviews for
23
71
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall a nice stay in a quirky place. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast good and plentiful. The food in the restaurant looked good but we never tried it.

We paid for superior rooms and were given the chalet style accommodation which is located around the garden. These are Scandinavian in style and my biggest criticism is that there is a lack of complete privacy between the bedroom and the bathroom - the wall only goes three quarters of the way up. I would have preferred a room in the main part of the hotel.

I think this hotel probably comes into it's own in winter rather than summer.

Room Tip: I would probably choose a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A week prior to our return from holiday we booked a room at the Dusthole hotel for one night. On arrival quite early in the afternoon we were told they had given our room to someone else and had not bothered to re-allocate us to another room, although the gentleman we spoke to was apologetic and offered to try to find us another hotel in the area we were not impressed and decided we may as well continue our journey and come home. The small area of the hotel we saw looked quite nice but as they are obviously unreliable I would not book there again. Had our arrival been later in the evening in would have been a very different story.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineRNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shepton Mallet hotels

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Can only review room 8 but makes you wonder about the rest. It was dreadful!
Thankfully the sheets and towels were clean, the beer was good and the food okay BUT the room was dreadful. Not only where there gaps between the door and the door frame (outside door) but the gaps in the window where equally bad and the letter box, yes I kid you not, was blocked with what seemed to be toilet paper. The bathroom was gross! It was dirty and grubby.
The bar was pleasant and the food okay but be warned the owners dog, German Shepherd I think, roams where it pleases including under your table when food is delivered.
We didnt bother with breakfast but went instead to a cafe in the town centre.
Oh and the car parking is street parking.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Excellent few days. Very friendly and accommodating. Wonderful time had. Lovely food. Great staff. Beautiful location and what can we say about Jake? He makes the place! Looking forward to our next stay there..........

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Beer, food and staff all very pleasant. Butcombe's Ale (Rare Breed) in perfect condition and a bit too more-ish. The Silverside and Stilton pie and Cajun Chicken were extremely tasty and not for the feeble appetited. All in all an experience I can't wait to repeat, deciding which pie to eat will be the problem.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Wow that's what I first thought when we arrived here I said to my husband who had booked this as a surprise I'm gonna love it here ! We were greeted by a very nice young man very polite who showed us to our log cabin which was lovely very clean and was lovely and warm and cosy !! We met the owner tony and his fab dog Jake who's adorable we dined there both nights can defo recommend the steak reasonably priced !! But I'm sure what ever u choose especially the homemade pies you would not be disappointed !!!
It is a 15th century inn you do feel totally relaxed there especially sitting next to the roaring log fire . What more to say other than yes we shall return again loved the place enjoyed hearing all the history of The DUSTHOLE and the area from tony the owner ! Great atmosphere sure would recommend staying here !!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank josiemendit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
0.2 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#6 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longbridge House
Longbridge House
#5 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Highwayman Inn
Highwayman Inn
#33 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maplestone
Maplestone
#20 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#14 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms - Dusthole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms - Dusthole

Property: The Kings Arms - Dusthole
Address: Garston Street, Shepton Mallet BA4 5LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms - Dusthole 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms - Dusthole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms - Dusthole Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing