We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Food, Good Menu, a bit too fried!”
Review of Thatched Cottage

Thatched Cottage
Price range: US$15 - US$39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Good Menu, a bit too fried!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Menu was great, delicious cod loin and lovely pesto and tomato salad.
However, my lasting memory is the 'panko mozarella' on top of my risotto actually being cheese wrapped in heavy beer batter and deep fried, rather than the delicate japanese Panko breadcrumbs i was promised! i left unable to move!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank legz_eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    61
    23
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We popped in early evening on a Sunday and, although we were a little early, were greeted warmly and given a menu to browse with a drink. We were made to feel very welcome, and the food was really good. it looks like they have a very good wine selection, so if this appeals to you it may be worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wife's 60th birthday afternoon”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

After leaving Shepton Mallet a year ago, we still had many friends and family still in the area. Pew decided to have afternoon tea at the Thatched Cottage. The staff could not have been more helpful. Afternoon tea was well presented and just good food. The sandwiches were like they used to be, good and basic. Lovely. Will go again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“To Absent Friends”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Reasonably good ambience, slightly better than average food and good service, but the gaps between courses were so vast that we raised a glass to absent friends (the waiting staff). We even contemplated doing a weekly shop in the nearby Tesco store between courses. Three hours for a three course lunch, is way too long in a busy reatuarnat, but it wasn't Maybe that's why.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ditchgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just what Shepton needed”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have visited this restaurant 6 times now for lunch & evening meals on our own, for Sunday lunch, weekday lunch and evening meal with family. We have never been disappointed with our meal or service. The menu is good and interesting, and reasonably priced, the staff friendly and welcoming. Some reviews say that service is slow but I feel that usually means food is freshly cooked and not microwaved. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cruising18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thatched Cottage also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Chilcompton, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing