We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service a joke” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thatched Cottage

Thatched Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service a joke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Food ok. Service a complete joke. The guy on the next table complained he was the first table in & the last to be served. Our roast dinners came out without any roast potatoes. Service was slow & everything had to be asked for.
On paying the bill I was asked if everything was ok. When I said service was a disaster I was told 'that's because there's a lot of people in'. I won't bother next time so they can cope.

Helpful?
Thank rikbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    59
    22
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped off for a meal last Sunday, on our way
back from the toy fair at the show ground, before heading back for Hungerford.
Made very welcome by all. The surroundings were very pleasant.
The food was excellent.
We shall be back for more
Thank you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Visited the Thatch for dinner tonight on the advise of the Manor in Ditcheat. Thanks it was a really good recommendation and everything was spot on. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Julesbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Called in for a Sunday lunch , we were made so welcome by all the staff also we had a look at the rooms which you can stay in , they all looked fabulous the wife and daughter are staying there in June !! Lucky them . The Sunday lunch was one of the best we have had , you could tell all fresh veg and the meat just fell apart Mmmmm lovely place all round 10 out of 10

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best night ever.... A1++++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Soooooo pleased we booked The Thatched Cottage for the start of my wife's 40th birthday celebrations. The hotel rooms were all booked for our friends and family and all I can say is that the rooms were fantastic, very warm, clean and the bed was so comfy we nearly missed breakfast... The evening was made so special for my wife, the staff were all so accommodating. Complements to the chef and his team. Getting a table of 16's, food out hot and too such perfection was just TOPS.... Ohhh !!! and breakfast was amazing too... The Thatched have quite an extensive wine list which we all took advantage of... All in all Thank you so much at The Thatched Cottage for making our celebrations so memorable..... We will definitely be returning...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thatched Cottage also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 

Been to Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing