We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lunchtimes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Poachers Pocket

Poachers Pocket
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely lunchtimes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Been here quite a few times for lunch.Been with my husband and also my girlfriends,for casual lunches also birthday celebrations .
Been very satisfied at all visits.
Portions on the large side but you will not leave hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane40Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Poachers Pocket was recommended to us by the local B & B we were staying in. We ate there for the three nights we stayed in Chelynch - a recommendation in itself. The Staff were friendly, welcoming and great fun and the food very good pub food - large portions and very tasty. The pub is very popular, busy every night, and it is advisable to book.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindseymoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Somerset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, shame about the hosts.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I rang to enquire what time they started to serve form and was told they were very busy but they had one table free and would I like to book it which I did. On arrival, all the tables were reserved (this was 6pm) but not all taken. We were greeted with 'have you booked?' Before anything else, not a good first impression! We were told where our table was and to order at the bar which we did. Another couple came in shortly after and were told they could have a table only until 8pm when it was needed for someone else! The food when it arrived was lovely and plenty of it. I had chicken wrapped in bacon in Stilton sauce which came with sautéed potatoes and vegetables on the side. The sauce was very rich and a bit too much especially as one of the vegetables was cauliflower cheese! My husband had the steak and ale pie with chips, the steak was really tender. We also had desserts, banana split for the other half, frangipani tart for me. The main meals ranged from about £9 to £16-17 with selections on a specials board as well as the menu. Sweets were about £5. It is obviously a very busy place and quite a few people were turned away, the food must speak louder than the service but to me the two come hand in hand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went there last week for a pub lunch with my family and it was fantastic. I had one of the specials and it was a very large and delicious portion.

Highly recommend going there and we will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khanage77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“X”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a lovely evening. The food was excellent and staff was friendly. I've heard lots about it prior to my visit and well worth it. Definitely go again. X

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poachers Pocket also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Chilcompton, Somerset
 

Been to Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing