We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, beautiful hotel and spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, beautiful hotel and spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

My husband booked for both of us to stay here for 1 night for my birthday! I was very excited when we arrived it is very beautiful in a lovely old building, we got upgraded to the superior suite which was amazing, a massive four poster bed big enough for four people! Walk in shower, and old fashioned bath tub in middle of room! Also private terrace.
The deal my husband had booked included afternoon tea, a spa treatment, 3 course dinner and breakfast. The afternoon tea consited of scones and a selection of cakes this was lovely however the selection of cakes actually turned out to be very very small but still very nice. We both had the floatation treatment in the spa which was very relaxing, I also booked for us to have a massage each, which was good but the treatments are expensive. Dinner was also very good as was breakfast the next day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it was amazing and would definitly return but will need to save up first so I can fully make use of the spa.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bexyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear bexyb81



I really appreciate your feedback and am so pleased that you had a thoroughly enjoyable time at our beautiful hotel.



I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.



Kind regards.



Sakis Dinas

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    228
    99
    29
    14
See reviews for
99
546
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My friend got married recently in Shepton Mallet and we stayed at Charlton House Hotel along with many of the other wedding guests. We decided to make a weekend of it and stayed two nights which turned out to be a great decision as the hotel has a lot to offer. The hotel itself is a lovely old manor house and had a very homely, relaxed atmosphere with beautiful gardens and a fantastic spa. We arrived around 11am and although check-in isn't normally until 3pm the staff were great and had our room ready within an hour of our arrival. Our room was lovely, bright and airy with a nice big bathroom and a huge flat screen tv. Bathroom products were all Elemis which they also use in the Spa. I didn't have any spa treatments but some of my friends did and were very impressed.
The food at Charlton House was excellent throughout our stay, they have a lovely bar menu with a good choice of snacks, sandwiches and some larger meals. We ate from this a few times as it was nice and informal and you can sit in the gardens or bar to enjoy. I don't normally get excited about hotel breakfasts but I was most impressed with this during my stay. Good selection at the cold buffet which included locally produced organic yogurt and delicous fruit juices which weren't from concentrate for a change, lovely! Hot food was all freshly cooked to order and is definitely worth waiting for. Breakfast is served in the conservatory but you can also sit outside on the terrace.
They also serve a delicious afternoon tea!
Apart from the food and surroundings the thing that stood out about this hotel was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, they all seemed to genuinely enjoy working there and nothing seemed like too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Charlton House and would highly recommend it, we really did find it hard to leave...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear BigSH



It’s fantastic to learn that you had such a wonderful stay and I really appreciate all your kind comments.



It’s great to know that you found it hard to leave and I hope you may return soon.



With best wishes.



Sakis Dinas

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed in the best suite which was sensational. Fabulous food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We arrived to an extremely friendly receptionist and although early by an hour or so and not expecting the room to ready, in a matter of minutes we were being shown around the hotel and escorted to our room. Included in the break was a treatment - we chose a back, neck, shoulder and head massage each; 1 word: amazing! The perfect start to our stay. 45 minutes later, we then decided to enjoy the rest of the facilities on offer: spa, jacuzzi, crystal steam room, Finnish sauna, hydrotherapy pool and ice fountain to name but a few... Once completely relaxed, came the next treat: food. I chose the fillet steak and have to say it rivaled even the best American steak of it's kind.

I can't speak highly enough about my break and would urge you to sample it for yourself!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Corkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear T_Corkett

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are pleased to learn that you particularly enjoyed the spa treatments and food. We really appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback and your comments have been shared with the relevant departments.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We decided on a whim to stay here for a night after getting horribly stuck on the M5 trying to get home to East Anglia on a bank holiday Monday. As we pulled off the road into the driveway we thought, "Ooh, this looks nice", and it indeed it was.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. They were more than happy to accommodate us with our 15-month-old baby, and showed us around five rooms - they were all very different but all fantastic. The first was a "standard" double room, which we though must be a "deluxe" room - it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever seen.

The other rooms we looked at were all deluxe rooms, and were just amazing. One had a staircase and an upper mezzanine level; one had a fabulous four-poster bed; no two were alike but all had fantastic furnishings and bathrooms. The rooms at the back of the house had great views over the rear gardens. Those at the front had a bit of noise from the road traffic but with the double-glazed windows closed it was no problem at all (and we decided to choose a front-facing room).

The staff gave us a cot for the baby and a monitor to listen in on him while we went to the bar for a drink and then dinner afterwards. The bar served a couple of really good local real ales (in bottles), and the dinner was excellent - not particularly cheap (at £29.95 for three courses), but very good posh nosh.

Breakfast in the morning was superb - a nice range of cereals (including several different Dorset Cereals mueslis), fresh fruit, home-baked cake, and a really good selection of delicious cooked dishes.

We'll definitely treat ourselves to another visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear LRandE

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The whole team is committed to delivering service at the highest possible level and we are proud that we succeeded.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The male and female manager that dealt with us were exemplary, providing the sort of service you would expect in a 4 star hotel, but the "youngsters" and the male receptionist...deary me....Don't think I am ageist, I think it is comendable that anyone seeks active employment, but the lack of confidence/personal grooming/experience was glaring! I was going to speak to the manager regarding the uniform standards, but wanted to utilise my time there on better activities. All the serving staff (and the male receptionist with glasses...more about him later) wore creased shirts, unpolished shoes, stained aprons and ties askew. I expected Hotel Du Vin standards, crisp, immaculate uniforms, are the staff not inspected before service?
Drinks list rather lacklustre. Thought that the bar would have a cocktail list with an experienced mixologist. Took aeons to be served a Pimms.
Requested change of pillows (due to asthma) and duvet...left a note by housekeeping stating they only had 2 and the new duvet was basically a sheet. To add insult to injury,the bed was like concrete.
The male receptionist seemed rather bored with it all. No big smiles or interest in us when we attempted to engage in conversation. But his biggest faux-pas? Firstly, complaining about some rowdy guests to his colleague in the kitchen, whilst at breakfast we heard every word! Then... as we were leaving (08/05/11), he was on the phone to his manager (?), saying how unhappy he was being left to deal with them at 5am, demanding free drinks. All this conversation was on the front-desk, we heard every word. Yes, the general public are a pain, but as a guest I find it highly unprofessional to hear the staff moaning. Very poor behaviour.
Soft furnishings are a bit tired. Place needs a good refurb, smiley groomed staff, a decent drinks list and don't tell me that my beef sandwich will come on "crusty bloomer" when the saddest piece of cheap white sliced turns up. I am a not an idiot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintagequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear Vintagequeen

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that aspects of your visit were not satisfactory. I have addressed your comments with our Night Porter and can assure you that positive steps have been taken to avoid similar situations in the future.

We are very proud that the majority of our guests have an excellent experience when staying with us and can only apologise that on this particular occasion we failed to maintain our usual high standards.

With best wishes.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Bannatynes Charlton House for her 21st birthday on a 'summer special package'. We arrived just before midday and checked in with no problems. Receptionist was very helpful and showed us around the hotel and spa. She also gave us a complimentary upgrade from a standard double to a deluxe room (great start).
Our room was ready one hour earlier than expected which was also a great plus point. The spa is amazing and we had treatments as part of our package which was also fantastic.
The room was huge and had the biggest and most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, it also had two bathrooms and a big flat screen T.V as well as a private outside seating area right next to the Jacuzzi.
The staff there could not do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.
My only negative is the food. Included in our package was a 3 course candle lit dinner for 2. It taste fantastic but the portions are extremely small. We ordered afternoon tea which was £15.00 and was dreadful, the bread was a little stale and again the portions were unacceptable for the price we paid, the service at lunch was very slow but was much better at dinner. Also the drinks at bar are on the pricey side, a pint of coke and half a lemonade was £6.00.
However this is the only negative, the grounds are lovely and the hotel / spa overall is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemini1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Dear gemini1288

Thank you very much for your review. We have discussed your comments regarding the food with our Head Chef and have taken quick action to rectify the issues during your stay.

We are determined to make Bannatyne's Charlton House one of the finest hotels and appreciate all feedback that will help us on the way.

With kind regards.

Sakis Dinas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
6.8 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
15.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Property: Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing