We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent a night here for our recent wedding anniversary & it was amazing. Booked some spa treatments and so spent most of our time there. Spa is small but really good. Loved their little therapy rooms (sauna steam etc). Staff at Charlton House really were lovely and helpful. Unfortunately couldn't have our massages together but that's prob for the best considering how loudly my husband snores! We also had dinner & breakfast and the food was fantastic. Service was timely and not too intrusive. The decor was wonderfully old fashioned & eclectic. Drinks can be expensive though. The room was refreshingly big & beautiful with a roll top bath, unfortunately we'd had enough of water by then to use it. So many options for lighting in the room and all the standard amenities. Slight niggle was the toilet door is frosted glass so not very private in the ensuite. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrods_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome. Everything was clean and felt very luxurious. Our room was amazing, with the bathroom on a mezzanine floor. Huge roll top bath, walk in shower. The room also had direct access to the Spa. The restaurant and food were both lovely. Will definitely be going back. Came home totally relaxed.

Room Tip: Having direct access to the spa was lovely, but I would imagine could get noisy when the Spa is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Wow - After arriving with minutes to spare before our treatments were booked in quickly at reception and bought through to Spa area. Introduced to spa staff and treatments began. Hotel room had a mezzanine floor with extra bed and bathroom which my daughter thought was great as gave her own privacy as well. Room had walk in wet room and two single beds downstairs. Walk out of patio doors straight through to hot tub and into back entrance of spa section. Every member of staff we met with went out of their way to help. The food was great - Cream tea yummy and breakfast and evening which were included within our break were well prepared and presented. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a short break and wished to be totally pampered.

Room Tip: We were in Room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabbygus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Went to Charlton House for a night as a treat for my 21st. We received a friendly welcome with a tour of the facilities. Everything felt very luxurious but cosy. Used the spa which was lovely as it also had an adjoining pool outside as well as jacuzzi, sauna, 'tropical rain shower', etc... We felt very relaxed and our superior room was beautiful! Didn't have dinner here but breakfast was tasty in the elegant conservatory. Would recommend if you feel like spoiling yourselves!! Thank you :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very good location for weekend or romantic break. Ambience excellent as are facilities if you require spa treatments. Food was really good at dinner but a shame that main course took an hour to arrive. Guests at next table had three courses to our two but still finished fifteen minutes before we did. Also disappointing that dinner guests wearing tracksuit bottoms and trainers. It is always appreciated when a certain minimum dress standard is required. Gives a much better feeling of quality. Breakfast was excellent and with a speedy service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited the lovely Charlton House for a rather flying visit, but we were most impressed. Our room was great, with many added extras. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and left feeling very relaxed after a morning in the spa. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecca88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Despite a couple of minor issues during our stay I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good quality, romantic and relaxing spa-break with their partner. The building itself is beautiful and very inviting. First impressions on entry are also great. It is both elegant and stylish and the reception staff are very polite and accommodating.

We were delighted to find that we had been given a complimentary room upgrade and wow - our room was stunning! It was very spacious, beautifully decorated and had various 'his and hers' features such as two bathroom sinks and a double shower. There was a set of double doors which opened onto our own private terrace and the bed was also very large and comfortable so we were able to get a good night's sleep!

We went to the hotel bar which was set in a lovely lounge area. I fancied a cocktail and although they didn't have these on the menu the bar manager was very accommodating and offered to make me whatever cocktail that I would like! I was very impressed by this and I must say that all of the staff during our stay really out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were ultra polite and friendly which really enhanced our overall enjoyment of the spa-break experience.

We expected the pool to be larger than it was but this was due to the fact that we had made an assumption that there would be a standard type swimming pool rather than a hydrotherapy pool. The hydrotherapy pool however was wonderful! It was divided into two parts (inside and outside) and the inside edges had areas where you could sit and enjoy your own 'jacuzzi space'. My fiancé and I particularly enjoyed doing this while sipping on champagne cocktails!

The spa contained a large hot tub which we were able to enjoy despite the rain as it was covered by a glass roof. There were a number of other facilities such as sauna, steam and laconium rooms, and there was also a beauty spa. The beauty staff were friendly and very professional and we were both able to enjoy a relaxing back massage there.

The only element that I would say that we found a little disappointing was concerning the restaurant. At dinner we had a three course meal which overall was delicious (my fiancé enjoyed all three of his courses and both my starter and dessert were beautifully presented and tasted excellent) but I ordered steak and didn't enjoy it as unfortunately the meat very fatty and somewhat gristley. It was more disappointing aswell that the dish was a special so I had to pay extra for it too.

In the morning we were also a little disappointed at breakfast. It finished at 11am and when we arrived at 10.30am we found that there weren't any clean tables to sit at. First impressions of walking into the room were therefore that the tables looked messy and dirty. In addition, there weren't any staff available to speak to so we had to wait a while until someone appeared and could advise us on what to do. The guests arriving after us also encountered the same problem. I thought that these evening and morning issues with the restaurant were a shame as these small details affected what would otherwise have been a perfect stay.

In summary therefore, we had a very enjoyable break. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were excellent, the staff were very helpful and welcoming and the spa was great - our experience was just let down a little by the main course I had and the bad management of the restaurant in the morning during breakfast. I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone and am hoping that they iron out the small problems that I mentioned.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites by the spa. It means you don't need to walk through the main parts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
684 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,384 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
16.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: £80 - £837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing