We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% lovely! Perfect romantic night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“100% lovely! Perfect romantic night away”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The spa was really lovely - lots included (pool with jacuzzi sections, adjoining outside pool, outside covered jacuzzi, experience showers, ice, sauna and steam room) sumptuous décor and dim lighting make it rather romantic. NOTE: feel free to go down to the spa in your dresing gown and slippers (included with your room) as we weren't sure but it's more than ok. Staff were very nice and attentive. We only ate room service but the food was good (fish & chips and club sandwich). We didn't get charged for checking out 30 mins late. The bathrobes were so soft! The beds were really comfy and we loved the décor in the rooms. The roll top bath was lovely, and the underfloor heating was a nice touch. Huge shower as well as bath, and double sinks. Bathroom and bedroom both had dimmer lights were you could choose settings for your lights. Grounds looked nice, although it was raining so we didn't get to experience them. Free wifi too. Only one small thing - the breakfast arrived to our room later than they said, and this made us late for checkout, however we were half an hour late and didn't get charged and they also didn't charge us the £5 fee for bringing us our breakfast. The rooms were pretty hot and we couldn't work out how to turn down the heating but apart from that it was great!

Room Tip: We went with the superior deluxe which was really romantic and sumptuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear MaddyT,

Thank you so much for awarding us five stars.I am glad you enjoyed your time in the Spa.
I hope that you will come and visit us when the weather improves so you will be able to explore our grounds,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    234
    101
    29
    14
See reviews for
104
559
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We absolutely love this 'hotel'. We come every year, normally in the summer as a little treat away.

On every occasion the staff have been top class, a real asset to the company. We normally stay for 1 / 2 nights and the rooms are gorgeous and clean!

The spa is very relaxing and I would definitely recommend the full body massage. The last time I was here I was 12 weeks pregnant so the lady gave me a gorgeous head massage which made me totally relaxed.

Again, the restaurant is fantastic. The staff have a vast knowledge of the menu which helps when trying to decide on a dish!

I would also highly recommend getting an afternoon tea and sitting on the lounge chairs on the lawn! Perfect.

I couldn’t fault this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Melissa 358,

Thank you so much for awarding us five stars.I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
I am sure you will welcome a relaxing break after the baby is born !

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We regularly meet up with family for birthdays and Christmas. I find this hotel very relaxing and excellent food The atmosphere is great and menu excellent. The service is always very good. Not too attentive but just right. The lounge area is relaxing for a drink before lunch or afterwards. I find it a bit strange with spa guests arriving dressed in robes.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Laura P,

Thank you for awarding us five stars, I was so glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your Christmas celebration with us.

We look forward to welcomong you back to Charlton House very soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, united kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Booked an overnight stay for New Year's Eve and was very impressed, included champagne and canapés to begin with then a 3 course meal, the food was delicious, followed by a disco, was a lot busier than I thought it would be and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We stayed in Folley room which was big and lovely, made use of the spa to, and it wasn't too expensive, will definatly look at again for next year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cls205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear cls 205,

Thank you so much for awarding us five stars.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your New Years Eve with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my Mum for an overnight spa break and had a lovely time. The reception welcome was good and they showed us around before taking us to our room. We had number 24 and it was lovely to walk into a room that had some character which so many hotels lack now. The spa area was relaxing and had everything you'd expect. Service to get towels was a little slow, as was clearing up around of towels people had left in rest areas. We had a lovely dinner with an aperitif in the comfortable bar area beforehand. The food was very good, well presented. I can understand comments regarding slow service, we did have to catch their eye a couple of times, I think they've taken on the idea of not rushing you and letting you dine at a leisurely pace a little too far at times. The breakfast was good, cold buffet to help yourself to and then you ordered from a cooked menu. Overall a great stay and I would definitely revisit as would Mum.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank crazeeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear craze e emz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I was so glad that you and your Mother enjoyed your stay with us,I hope that you will come back and visit us again soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with a spa break midweek deal. The hotel is tastefully decorated, peaceful and relaxing. Was able to use the spa and mini gym on both days, which was lovely. The spa was on the small side, but we enjoyed the outdoor Jacuzzi and saunas. The food was wonderful, both dinner and breakfast. Staff were attentive. Enjoyed using the tennis court as well - we borrowed rackets and balls from reception. I'd come again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We visited on the 2nd of Jan for an over night spa break. On arrival we were upgraded to a never room which was nice. The room we were given was 21 (has a garden leading straight into the spa) the spa area and hydro pool were very nice and everything was clean. The only disappointment was the evening meal. The service was nearly not existent and I had to keep waving at the waiter to get any service. There was a good 15 minute wait between courses and are plates were. Only cleared after I asked for them to be cleared a good 10 minutes after we had finished eating. They then cleared the plates and then I had to wave again to ask if we could see the dessert menu. The restaurant was nearly empty (only 6 tables in use) however at breakfast the following morning the service was extremely good (different waiting team)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L200SHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear L200SHG,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Customer satisfaction is very important to us and I have passed your comments back to the team.

I do hope that you will come and visit us soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
15.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
16.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Property: Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing