We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real birthday treat”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely night at Charlton House on the couples' spa package for my birthday. We were upgraded to the fantastic Duncan's Den for free, which was absolutely amazing. We loved the huge flat screen and blu ray collection and the massive bath tub with twin monsoon showers for starters. Probably not to everyone's taste but was a lovely surprise - thank you. Service was exemplary throughout our stay. The spa is cosy but facilities are excellent, especially the jacuzzi outside. Really enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the lounge with Leon, the very helpful and friendly member of staff who attended to our every need. Dinner was really tasty too, and couldn't help but add dessert to our two-course dinner (inc. in spa package) and it was worth every penny. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Charlton House team, too many good staff to name all individually.

Room Tip: Duncan's Den has the wow factor for sure, great facilities. Not in keeping with the style of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    234
    105
    29
    14
See reviews for
107
562
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent and the service fantastic. Had the Adam and Eve suite over looking the beautiful garden. The most comfortable bed I've slept in. Enjoyed the spa. Service once again v good. Couldn't fault anything. Will definitely go back and will recommend to my friends and family !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli020711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed on a Sunday night and had a lovely time. Would highly recommend for a romantic night away. Drinks are expensive but worth the price as lovely wine .The hotel staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast was amazing. I had eggs Benedict best I ever had! Couple small improvements could be made mostly in relation to spa staff and lack of lockers etc but nothing distracted from our break. Spa was small but really wonderful. Loved the fact that we could check out and use spa all day. Dinner was lovely and we were treated so well cannot wait to go back. Nicest hotel we have ever stayed at :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateoakes2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A very different kind of experience altogether. Lives up to the name of being one of the most romantic hotels in UK. Good service, nice little gym, excellent breakfast facilities. Room sizes vary a little bit. Ask recommendations from the hotel staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Ayan_On_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were extremely pleased with every aspect of the wedding we planned and chose to have at Charlton House. the planning was informal and thorough, and the day went exactly as planned. our main aim was to relax with our guests and enjoy the day and thanks to the whole team at the hotel this we achieved. the venue, rooms and facilities are excellent, the service and the food were matchless. we are most grateful to Sakis and his team for ensuring our weeding day was one to remember for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: we had the bridal suite (obviously), but Adam and Eve is very Traditional or duncan's den is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardjWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I can't praise this hotel enough, from the minute we stepped through the door we encountered 5 star customer service. Our bedroom was fantastic with views over the gardens and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. The food in the restaurant was superb and amazing value for money as part of our spa package, it was definitely to Michelin star standard. The spa was superb with an amazing hydrotherapy pool and steam rooms and comfy seating all around when you fancy an afternoon snooze! The treatments we had were first class and the staff all extremely helpful . I left a jumper and when I rang to see if they found it there was no hesitation at all in offering to post it back to me. I will definitely be returning and would recommend this spa and hotel to anyone. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so pleasurable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank louisesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear louisesolihull,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for awarding us five stars.
Our chef was delighted with your comments .
Customer service is very important to us and the team were all very pleased
to see that you had such an excellent stay .

We do hope hat you will come and visit us again soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were looking for somewhere for our anniversary and despite some less than favorable reviews, we decided to give Charlton House a go ... and very glad that we did. We were greeted warmly by Alex, who allowed us to get settled in our room and than showed us round to get the layout. We booked dinner for both evenings of our stay at the time, and then went outside to take advantage of the spring sunshine. Drinks were served promptly and with friendly service. We stayed in "Duncan's Den" which has a fantastic double shower / bath, and although close to the spa and reception was very quiet. We decided to have a drink before dinner and this is where we encountered Megan & Beni ... two of the nicest people you could hope to meet. Their friendly yet professional service was certainly a highlight of our stay. Food was of a very high standard with cooked to order food for breakfast, generous portions for lunch and then a very varied selection for evening dinner. We did not experience any of the delays or issues mentioned in other posts ... but we did eat relatively early and on neither evening was the restaurant particularly busy. The Spa was nicely laid out and the full body massage I had certainly did the trick. We would certainly go back, a great blend of romantic and relaxed ambiance, good food and excellent service. The staff all seem keen to please, and if you engage with them, they certainly do. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
663 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
16.0 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
15.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House

Property: Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Address: Charlton Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 4PR, England (Formerly Bannatyne's)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne`s Charlton House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Charlton Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing