We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast with friends”
Review of Goodfellows Cafe - CLOSED

Goodfellows Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In association with the Goodfellows, Wells. Operates evenings and weekends only.
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast with friends”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had an excellent breakfast here all cooked to order. The staff are very efficient, my only criticism is that the lighting is very poor. They have an excellent range of pastries and an extensive lunch menu. Would highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buffiepratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday dinner”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

After shopping at Haskins today my sister and I decided to have something to eat and drink at the Goodfellows restaurant. I went for the roast chicken dinner with chestnut stuffing at £9.50 and did not regret it. I can honestly say that this was one of the best Sunday roast dinners that I have had at a restaurant anywhere and the gravy was particularly good. I will make definitely make a point of going back on a Sunday to enjoy another roast dinner. The two waitresses could not have been more helpful and courteous. Well done Goodfellows.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daffodil_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Improved!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went for breakfast yesterday and took a friend. Pricing very reasonable. One of the owners was working there so I think service has improved greatly because of that.
Scrambled eggs were perfect as was the crispy bacon, friend enjoyed her scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Very generous and interesting selection of toasts provided at no extra cost.
Lovely waitress making coffees yesterday but will suggest generally that even if staff don't stop what their doing to at least acknowledge patrons existence. Nothing wrong with the coffee, she knew how to make it. A smile means so much and she had a good one.
Having once owned a restaurant I understand how hard it is to work out staffing needs but was surprised to see elderly patrons finding their own chairs, I suspect they didn't book, which is considerate and necessary for a large group and allows owners to provide extra staffing had they known. Owner was run off her feet.
Agree they make marvellous cakes, best patisserie selection out of France! We had no room for any until we got to Wells so later had cakes at Goodfellows there, delicious choice and lovely waitpeople as always.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TilliCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous cakes”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I really like going to Goodfellows for the set lunch special - for £10 you get a choice of drink, main dish and a choice from a beautiful range of patisserie style cakes.

A great place to meet friends for coffee and quality food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fractalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lunch.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Bad food. Poor choices, bad service, ordinary food at lunch time.
The ambience and décor is poor, and cleanliness not the best

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodfellows Cafe also viewed

Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing