We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowlish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowlish House
Ranked #4 of 37 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you like a place with character, then you won't be disappointed. Beautiful 1700's stone built house, with stunning flag stone floor in the entrance hall, and a grand staircase leading up to the bedrooms... And the owners are welcoming and full of character too. The food is well regarded by the locals, but there are several pubs in the area to give you alternatives if you want to get out and about.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_HWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    40
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
66
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A beautiful, stately old Georgian guest house. Lovely grand staircase in the lobby. Quaint creaky floors. The hosts were wonderful. Breakfast delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable with ensuites. Convenient to Wells, and other area attractions.
Our room was on the side of the house that faced the road. We had our windows open. The traffic picked up around 4:30 am and my husband said he was bothered by it. We did not have a hair dryer in our room, but neither did I ask for one. I decided to air dry. Other than that minor hiccup, everything else was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and the couple who run it are fabulous however there was one major disappointment. We had chosen Bowlish House having seen on their website they had a vegetarian menu which is quite rare. The dishes on it sounded fantastic and creative. Imagine my disappointment when we sat down to eat only to be told there was no separate veggie menu, not one of the meals i had read on their website and hardly any choice for me. The meal I was given was ok ish and my meat eating partners was ok ish. I had been looking forward to eating there but it was a total disappointment. Why have this info on your website if it doesnt exist?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Fantastic hosts and an unusual but great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable with huge rooms and a warm and welcoming atmosphere. If you are looking for a unique place to say then this is it! Olde world charm and comfort

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The old house is full of quirky corners, sloping floors and added on bits. But the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the food excellent, both dinner, cooked to order, and breakfast

This is all due to the friendly Welsh couple who run the place and to whom nothing is too much trouble. It is rare these days to find a Hotel or B&B breakfast at which you are not expected to serve yourself from a buffet. Not so at Bowlish, Everything is offered exactly as you would like it with a smile and a suggestion to enhance your stay.

We chose to stay here almost by sticking a pin in Somerset, but feel that we got a lucky break.

Worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

When I go to a hotel, it's not just the look of the place that is important, it's the soul and the character, it's the service and helpfulness that we experience on our trip.

The couple that own the hotel do absolutely everything they can to ensure that you are comfortable and they are especially good and understanding with children. Always talking and communicating with them, rather than just ignoring them and the lady in particular did everything in her power to make myself and my boys feel welcomed and catered for.

They even coped with my milk and gluten-free diet, by making the muesli with apple juice and the eggs with no butter and so on, with no face pulling or making me feel like a pain but slickly, smoothly and professionally.

On the day that we went, the doors opened out onto their beautiful garden, with the sun streaming in through the dining room windows, it was such a pleasant stay and will always be a fond memory for me.

The couple were lovely to talk to and were really interested about why we were staying, which was to check out schools for the boys, as we are opening a new coffee shop, with personality on the High Street, the lady clapped her hands together and said, 'That is just what is needed.'

Really lovely stay, really lovely couple. The hotel and the couple are full of character and charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 694karenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We're just about to check out after a one night stay here at the start of our holiday. Really wish we were staying longer! The house itself has loads of character (yes, the walls/ceilings/floors are not straight, it isn't just your eyes!) but that adds to its charm. The real bonus were the couple who run it who are brilliant. Such friendly people are rare! We'll definitely be coming back and this will make a great base for visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 was good, but generally I doubt you could find a bad room, the area is so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyJim1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
1.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
6.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#6 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.9 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Longbridge House
Longbridge House
#5 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowlish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowlish House

Property: Bowlish House
Address: Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowlish House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bowlish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowlish House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bowlish House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing