We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Bowlish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowlish House
Ranked #6 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just recently moved into the hands of new management when we stayed and they are just at the beginning of restoring it back to its former glory. Warm welcome from the owners and beautiful collie the stay was comfortable, peaceful and the rooms very clean and comfortable the staff and hospitality throughout our stay was superb. Let them know if you are coeliac before you visit and they will go that extra mile to meet your needs. Breakfast was speedy good selection and good portions freshly cooked. Would not hesitate to stay again when visiting

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Bowlish House is a wonderfully eccentric experience and one not to be missed lightly. Our party stayed over and were very well looked after by the proprietors, who combine a light touch front of house with good cooking, a sensible cellar and cheerful attentive service.
Decor is a bit tired but the rooms are spacious, the beds most comfortable and the setting quiet. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Myself and my partner (young couple) stayed at the Bowlish House for our anniversary last weekend, on first arrival we were stunned at the authentic Georgian features of the house. As we pulled up we were greeted by the owner and he clearly explained where we could park which was right outside the house. We were then taken to our room which was room 4 (king room) at the front of the house, first impressions were "wow". Very clean and comfortable, and the decor was lovely. Had a great nights sleep and was impressed by the shower. Breakfast was outstanding 10/10 and all the staff were friendly and willing to help.

The owners told us they had just taken over the Bowlish House 3 days prior to our arrival so this review is a credit to their abilities as hosts having been there for such a short time.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Somerset, we also got a cab to wells which was quick and inexpensive from the hotel.

Overall 10/10 experience could not have asked for more, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had just booked a 'nearby' bed for the night following a trip to Longleat. This is so much more than that. From the entrance hall, the room, the staff.... We just can't fault the place. To put that into perspective, we are fortunate enough to stay in some very nice places. The experience here matches and in some ways beats even the best hotels. It is impeccably clean and the welcome is as warm as you will get anywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBoococks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The B&B was fine for the night stay we needed in the English country side nearby to wells and on the way on up to the Cotswolds. But given it's price and lack of surrounding attractions on the drive in and around the B&B it was just a quick un-remarkable stop for us. Not much to say bad, but nor did it particularly stand out. The food was good but not the best by any stretch. The courtyard was pretty but not picturesque. The owners were pleasant and responsive. There was some re-modeling done in bathrooms, but overall our stay was "average". The real bright spot was that there was a shortage of B&B's availability for the weekend we were traveling so this did work well for us, even though it was slightly pricier than other options (that were already booked up).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raerae1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Big beautiful, old Georgian house, warm, clean, perfectly located for visiting historic sites and outdoor locations. Welcoming fun, generous hosts, delicious breakfast, and we are sorry we missed their dinner.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms and all were unique. The upstairs 'attic room' was spacious, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We needed to find an overnight stop over on our way to the ferry in Plymouth and booked Bowlish house. We are glad we did so the place was full of character and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal. We enjoyed the traditional atmosphere including the creaky floors. Beds were very comfortable and the breakfast first class. We left refreshed and relaxed. The owners were charming and made us feel very much at home, good hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
1.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
1.2 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#15 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
256 reviews
3.5 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowlish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowlish House

Address: Wells Road, Shepton Mallet BA4 5FF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range: £86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowlish House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bowlish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowlish House Hotel Shepton Mallet
Bowlish House Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing