We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Sunday lunch on Father's Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waggon & Horses Free House

Waggon & Horses Free House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Waggon & Horses is a charming 17th century coaching inn situated high on the Mendip Hills with panoramic views over the Somerset countryside. Mike and Dawn own and run 'the Waggon' and are proud to have preserved the olde worlde charm of the inn. Open log fires, exposed beams and memorabilia from traditional country life ensures a warm and welcome retreat. 'The Waggon' offers a relaxed and friendly service, good quality homemade food, local ciders, real ales, beers and a good selection of wines and spirits. There are thirteen caravan pitches, eight with 'hook-up' facilities, and a brand new toilet block with showers and wash basins which has easy access for the disabled. There are also washing-up facilities and a chemical waste disposal point. The site is perfect for group weekends and the location is ideal for those who wish to visit the many famous local places
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great Sunday lunch on Father's Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were a little put off at first; having chosen to sit in the garden we found a few black bin bags on the lawn so we decided to come inside. The bar girl was very pleasant and welcoming but some of the kitchen staff were a little impatient in getting our order into the kitchen, as it was by then 1:45pm, and also rather abrupt with dealing with our questions. But we stuck to it and eventually reaped the benefits. The Sunday roasts were terrific with Yorkshire puds with everything, including rather bizarrely, the salmon. Everything came out hot with a wide variety of vegetables which were plentiful and cooked to perfection. The homemade puddings were also very well-liked by those who had some room left. After we had finished our meal it was explained to us that they had had a large function in the garden the night before and had been working till 3am, hence the black bin bags and the slightly irritable tones when we were ordering. They were obviously shattered and all was forgiven. It was rather a nice sight to see all the staff finally sitting down to a late Sunday lunch themselves as we left. All in all, a very enjoyable family Sunday lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pub food as it should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Three of us stopped by for lunch. Good choice of pasta, fish, steak pie etc, all obviously home cooked albeit frozen/chilled and reheated. Generous servings. We had the steak pie and two different pasta dishes followed by cheesecake and ice creams. Couldn't fault it and can also recommend the chuffin' ale. At about £10 for main course and £5 for dessert very good value! Try it if you're in the Mendips

Helpful?
Thank Montepegotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a traditional English pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Waggon and Horses sits on the Old Frome Road above Shepton Mallet. It is a traditional old style English Pub with a collection of horse brasses and welcoming open fires. The menu offers a good selection of old favourites at very reasonable prices. On Sundays they offer a choice of roast beef, lamb, pork, chicken and a vegetarian dish all coming with a very good selection of vegetables. Try and leave room for one of Dawns puddings. For those that like their real ale they offer Butcombe and Chuffin. There is nothing pretentious about the food or the pub. It is just good honest home cooking for which they have just retained their 5 star hygiene rating.

There is ample parking and a newly renovated walled garden to the left of the car park. Dogs are allowed in the small bar and for those towing a caravan there is a caravan site behind the pub.

It is wise to book if you wish to eat at this gem as it can get very busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st class sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Found this gem of a pub in the AA pub guide 2014. The staff were very helpful and attentive, but the best bit was the Sunday lunch!!! Wow, my beef was fantastic and loads of it. The veg was a good mix and plenty of it. All 4 of cleared our plates. We live in Cardiff and will definitely go there again when we are down that way. P.S. my husband says his 2 pints of Butcombe ale slid down (he wasn't driving!!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dodee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“well worth a 1 mile detour from A37”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

very tasty faggots made in house tasting mainly of liver with an excellent onion sauce. separate vegetables

cod was very fresh and the flakes fell apart easily

no room for pudding but the coffee was fresh and tasted good

mints and home made lemon shortcake biscuits provided free

price for lunch very reasonable

will revisit. this place deserves to be a success

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chickenfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waggon & Horses Free House also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Waggon & Horses Free House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing