We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Sunday lunch”
Review of Downside Inn - CLOSED

Downside Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We meet once a month with friends and have visited lots of pubs in the area over the past couple of years.We all agreed that today's Sunday lunch was one of the best we have had,with plenty of vegetables and all left stuffed.The landlord was very friendly and helpful as well which added to the enjoyment of our meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a lovely little find!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Was driving through Shepton Mallet looking for somewhere to eat and accidentally found this amazing little pub. It was freezing cold and windy outside and we walked in to a cozy pub, open fire and friendly faces. We had a 4 year old and 2 year old with us and they were treated like princesses. We had a beautiful homemade lasagne and a steak meal and we were so impressed. Food was of the highest quality and there was loads of it! The kids shared a lasagne and loved it too. The chap who worked there was very attentive, friendly, welcoming and it was the kind of place you could kick off your shoes and stay there all afternoon. It was a shame to leave. An amazing little find and we hope to return very soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mummyditnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been here a few times and I have yet to pick fault with Sunday lunch. This is a no frills pub which serves up generous portions, all beautifully cooked. When we called recently on a horrible winter's day there was a roaring log fire which just added to the cosy atmosphere. In Summer make for the garden which has fantastic views towards Glastonbury Tor. The Landlord is attentive, friendly but not over the top. The bitter (Exmoor last time) was served at just the right temperature.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and hospitality!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I called in here after nearly missing it as I headed towards Shepton Mallet from Bath. It is just over the brow of a small hill so indicating right before you see the pub is a must.
The carpark is a good size and although I didn't use the beer garden, it is huge so I'll be back for a summer evening with amazing views and great beer.
The landlady & landlord were both welcoming and the food was fantastic. I had, on recommendation of both the landlord, and of course the reviews on here, the fish and chips. Absolutely delicious and a good sized portion. The one "downside" was that I had no room left for one of the fabulous home made puddings.
I had a quick look into the other half of the pub and was amazed to find a Free pool table.
I also have to say that the locals were really friendly too, and the banter between the landlord, customers, and passing trade customers reminded me somewhat of "Cheers". A truly great atmosphere and a rarity in this land of pub chains.

There really is no downside to the Downside!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab for meal or light lunch”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We often stop here on our way down South. The fresh line caught fish and chips is always fabulous, this time we had a baguette for lunch, which was also superb. Stayed longer as the pool table was free and we had coffee with pouring cream, which we love. Log fire was burning, staff are always so friendly. Would recommend and we will continue to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmemetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downside Inn also viewed

Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
 
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet
Evercreech, Shepton Mallet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing