We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional retreat and rejuvination experience”
Review of Pennard Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shepton Mallet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pennard Hill Farm
Cambridge
2 reviews
“Exceptional retreat and rejuvination experience”
Reviewed 11 September 2008

It was great just to get away from all the hustle and bustle of working in cities and enjoy the views and animals. The place had and very homely feel and welcoming hosts.

They took time to chat with us make us feel relaxed and at home. I spend much of my life in hotels and this was a completely refreshing experience which was far more natural and restful. Our room was very clean and well decorated.

I can see why they had so many letters thanking them for a great experience and I would, and have, recommeded this as a great place to refresh and renew your energy. Make sure you get to use the pool, quite unique!

  • Liked — The refreshing experience away from busy world
  • Disliked — Needed a little longer there
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDJCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We were disappointed with our stay at the Golden Fleece - we booked the holiday having seen the website which emphasised the farm aspect of the holiday for children i.e donkey rides, horses, feeding sheep etc which is what appealed to us since between us we had a few children. Upon arrival the owners unapologetically told us there were no animals left (they had sold the remaining sheep a week earlier) and were surprised that this may be an issue even though their website photos were mainly of animals! In addition to this the website sold the child friendly aspect of the place by saying they could provide toys and dvd's - again we were told the toys in the garage were a bit grubby and would need a wash (by us..). The cottage was certainly not 5 star, the main lounge is in a room which used to be a swimming pool so is very dark and the rest of the cottage has a tiled floor and glass tables etc so not very cosy at all. Owners not very helpful overall and we would not recommend as a family holiday.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — overall standard of accommodation and fact that misreprestented on website
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We arrived to stay on the "farm" only be told that there were no animals at all.

The owner of the property appears to be recently separated from his animal-loving wife, and has little interest in animals himself - he has other business interests (some form of management consultant), and to refer to this place as a "working farm" is complete hogwash!

We were told that the sheep "had gone". After some questioning we were told that they had a "tendency to die" (!) and therefore he had sold them to a proper farmer.

Also, the horses had been taken away by the wife.

And the donkeys were nipping the children, so also needed to be taken care of (also gone...)

Since we have left, it seems as though (in response to our complaints) they have bought some chickens. So, go stay on this so-called farm if you want to see a few chickens... if you want some form of real farm, go somewhere else...

BTW, they market themselves as "5 star luxury" - our experience was far from that. If you want luxury, go somewhere else...

In fact, I cannot recommend this place for any reason.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DontStayatthisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We arrived in darkeness to find our cottage with its lamps on and log fire ready to be lit. Food in the fridge for breakfast and the lovely host, Phil, taking his dogs for a late-night stroll down the drive. His warm welcome and helping us to unpack the car so we could pop our two children straight into bed made for a very easy start to our 3 day break. A glass of wine in the enormous kitchen by the cosy Aga and we were ready to fall into a huge, comfy bed.

The view from our bedroom that we woke up to was utterly spectacular. Miles of breathtaking valley below with sheep looking at us with interest.

The pool was a great start to the day - stunning views from the enormous gothic window at the end of the pool.

Nothing was too much trouble. We needed internet access which wasn't available in our cottage but we were welcomed into the main farmhouse to use it and given tea and homemade buscuits.

A totally relaxing experience. We wished we had done our big food buying session before arriving as the 10minute drive to the nearest Tescos meant leaving our heavenly rural retreat for the real world.

We felt like we'd had a week's holiday by the time we left.

  • Liked — Relaxed and great views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank l0nd0nchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We first discovered Pennard Hill Farm in 2004 when we were guests at a wedding held here. We fell in love with the position and the place itself; it has a lot of character and really spectacular views and a ‘wow feel good’ factor. It is a very peaceful setting, very private and tranquil which is just what we need working in London. We came back for a week in August 2004 and had fun exploring the area and really just enjoying relaxing and unwinding. We stayed in the Hay Barn; a Victorian Barn converted into a luxury apartment and indoor swimming pool. We have both stayed in many places around the UK and abroad and have very high standards. This did not disappoint; in fact it is our favourite. So much so, we decided to come back and have just spent a glorious weekend in the Lamb Cottage. The log fire was the attraction this time - November and very cold outside! We were both surprised at how beautiful it was for this time of year. The owner bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our stay and was very friendly and helpful. We have booked again for two nights in January to help us recover from the Christmas festivities. Pennard Hill Farm is unique; go there and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Tasteful decoration, character and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Challenger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We stayed at the Pennard Hill farm recently and were not overly impressed - the owners seemed not bothered about their guests and did not seem very familiar with customer service...sure the website looks impressive...and yes the buildings and interior are very nice ...but unfortunately this is let down by the laid back attitude of the owners. We arrived in the evening (it is very difficult to find - one of our friends got lost for over an hour trying to find it as there are two pennard hill farms in this area -something not mentioned on the website). We were not even greeted and had to 'find' somebody to show us around - when he did show us around it was very poor - he did not really explain anything about the facilities or tell us anything about the area or where there were nice walks/pubs etc. Later on, we tried to find the 3rd bed and when we rang up to ask where the bedding was, they merely said they didnt realise 3 people were coming, they thought it was 2! Also one of our party had emailed and tried calling several times the week before to ask if they could provide soya milk and wheat free bread..they never got a reply and when we arrived nothing was there. To be fair after kicking up a bit of a fuss about the bedding and lack of greeting, I think the owner felt some guilt and did bring us some soya milk - lest not till the following evening, but i guess they were trying to make a token effort. The positives are the nice pool and the interior is very tastefully done and the farm is on a hill with beautiful views. We also booked some beauty treatments (separately) and we were all very pleased with this. Basically pennard hill farm has loads of potential but could do a hell of alot better if the owners were more customer focussed and welcoming.

  • Liked — the pool!
  • Disliked — the owners!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check somebody will be there when you arrive?!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thehotelinspector11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shepton Mallet hotels
3.7 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
174 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
969 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Stables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whitecroft Farm B&B
Whitecroft Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pylle
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Natterjack Inn
The Natterjack Inn
#1 of 2 in Evercreech
53 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#1 of 3 in Ditcheat
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennard Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennard Hill Farm

Property: Pennard Hill Farm
Address: Pennard Hill Farm Stickleball Hill | East Pennard, Shepton Mallet BA4 6UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership since August 2009. The multi award winning Pennard Hill Farm occupies a stunning position on the summit of the southernmost ridge of the Mendip hills and offers three luxury self catering cottages sleeping between 2 and 8 guests. The views are magnificent, taking in Glastonbury Tor, the Somerset Levels and the Mendip Hills. The farm offers a superb heated indoor pool with a gothic window with spectacular views of the hills and beyond. Pennard Hill Farm is a great location to stay with many interesting places to visit. We are near Bath, Castle Cary, Cheddar, Glastonbury and Wells to name but a few. Historic houses such as Longleat, Lytes Cary Manor and Montacute House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennard Hill Farm Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing