We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Your Head”
Review of Highwayman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highwayman Inn
Ranked #33 of 36 Shepton Mallet B&B and Inns
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mind Your Head”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed the one night whilst traveling on business. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull, evening meal and breakfast were a little disjointed but adequate for the cost.
I was given a room on the 3rd floor, which overall was clean and reasonably comfortable, allthough rather cramped, i.e. no point having a chest of draws and dressing table if there is no room to open the draws, you get the feeling they have got a job lot of furniture and want to use every bit of it. The one problem I had was that the coridor on that floor had the roof joists running across it, which meant you had to duck sideways every few feet to avoid banging your head, and I m not tht tall. Unfortunatelly I forgot to do a coupe of times ! and had the lumps to show for it. I dread to think what would happen if there were an emergency and people tried to exit in the dark, the ocupantsof the third floor would be uncontious before they got to the stairs.

Room Tip: Avoide the top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
15
75
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is a very nice West Country inn / Hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable , we stayed in the end room on second floor, even though we had windows both ends of the room we didn't hear a lot of traffic noise from the A37, the hotel is on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet so you will need a car to drive into town, the restaurant serves great food at reasonable prices, in fact the plate sizes are double what you would get else where, and the food is all home made, I recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in the district for any reason

Room Tip: Ask for a room at end of hotel so you do not hear a lot of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotravellers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised our room adjoined the car park and was very quiet even on a hot July weekend, despite the whole of Somerset/Devon being a car park. We booked in advance and had a good price on a ground floor disabled access room, not needed but it had a huge bathroom. OK the decor is not 2013 but then neither am I. Clean bedding and towels and plenty of them, and everything worked as it should. The restaurant was excellent fast service very high quality menu and friendly smiling helpful staff. The current landlords have been there since January 2013, but they have a lot of experience and it shows they coped with a full house plus passing trade with no trouble and a smile. When we go to Priddy folk festival next year we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Look at bookings.com and go for a disabled room if offered they are away from the road and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

you have to have a car and shouldn't be in a rush but this was lovely after having too much mud at Glastonbury festival. it's not really cheap but the portions are massive and the food is filling and tasty. staff are friendly and everything is clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Highwayman does not know if it is a hotel or B&B. As a B&B it is acceptable, a hotel no.
We were given a twin room at the front of the hotel which after spending just over l hour we asked to be moved, the noise from the traffic was unbearable, everything from motorbikes to execessively large lorries trundle past at quite a fast speed. The rooms are cramped, far too much furniture, only needs a wardrobe, dressing table and bedside cabinet. Flat screen tv could be placed on the wall instead of on chest of drawers. Tea and coffee making facilities are a bonus. Toilet and shower were in an exceptionally small space but the size of the shower and the power shower were excellent. All bedding was clean as were the rooms. Food in the evening in the restaurant was exceptionally good, breakfast was so so. Given one slice of toast and one cup of coffe - had to ask for an extra one. The staff were exceptionally helpful and cheerful but I did not like being asked to pay for the room on arrival - it was as if we were going to leave without paying the next day - definitely a no no where I am concerned. All in all a convenient place to stay for Chedder Caves, Wooky Hole and Shepton Mallet. Would not have wanted to have stayed more than one or two nights at max.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms at the front of the premises we were in twin room No 2 - they are exceptionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Is this a B&B or a hotel, or a pub?
As a pub it is OK. as a B&B it's overpriced and cramped.
As a hotel. Don't bother.
It is however, well placed for the show ground.
We didn't take breakfast there on the last day, had a coffee in the room (yuk) and stopped at Sainsburys on the way home instead.
The roof supports in the attic part where we stayed were so low that my husband who is over 6' whacked his head on them repeatedly - and he was ducking!

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor one we were told they were a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We booked in here to go to the Bath & West Show. It is quite well placed for it, just a short drive away.
When we booked in we had to pay immediately. That worried me. We were then shown up to our room which was in the attic. Look at the pictures I have posted - the access is narrow and has beams going across so that you have to duck to get through the doors and through the hallway. My husband is 6ft 1" and I am 5ft 9". It was not fun. We then found the room and it was tiny (see picture). That we could have coped wi but there was yet another beam in the way to get to one side of the bed. My husband whacked his head on it almost immediately and had a headache for the rest of the evening. He continued to just miss or hit his head the whole time we were there (2 nights). Of course there were no other hotels to be had in the area- all booked up.
The wi-if was patchy and gave up completely after the first evening.
The food was not as good a a Little Chef and everything seemed to cost £9.95.
We left without breakfast on the second morning and went to Sainsbury for one instead on the way home.
Other rooms in the Inn may be better but 6, 7 and 8 are in the attic. Don't go there!
On the positive side the staff are very helpful and friendly and the place is very clean and well kept. We paid £148 for a double room for 2 nights so maybe we got what we paid for? Though it is B&B not a hotel.

Room Tip: Check you are not in the attic unless you are under 5' 6".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepton Mallet
6.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cannards Well
Cannards Well
#2 of 2 in Cannards Grave
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#9 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#18 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Prestleigh Inn
The Prestleigh Inn
#21 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Inn

Property: Highwayman Inn
Address: Cannards Grave, Shepton Mallet BA4 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Shepton Mallet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highwayman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highwayman Inn is situated in a stunning location in Shepton Mallet with superb views of the scenic Mendip Hills and 14 tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. All guestrooms are fully equipped with the most modern facilities such as multichannel TV, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The Inn's restaurant is where guests can enjoy a healthy and traditional dish along with a drink in its acclaimed real ale bar. The Inn is the ideal location to explore and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of Somerset countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Highwayman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highwayman Hotel Shepton Mallet
Highwayman Inn Shepton Mallet, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing