We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Blostin's

Blostin's
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We were staying for two nights in Shepton Mallet at Longbridge House down the road. This restaurant was a delightful discovery! Very private and small, with very attentive service from the owner, we were extremely warmly welcomed.
The food was just wonderful, cooked with love and just delicious! There was nothing that we could fault. we enjoyed it so much that we came again a second time as we wanted to try other items on the menu.
We would not find a single fault. Everything was cooked to perfection, the wine choices were excellent and the desserts were just wonderful! I cannot praise this little gem in Shepton Mallet any higher and I wish the owners all the success and happiness for the future!
Thank you for a wonderful two evenings!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrejuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Its small and quite intimate so has a nice’ feel’ to it. The food is ok, nothing spectacular but ok, perhaps a little pricy for what it is, all except the so called ‘blissful garlic bread’ which was sadly lacking in garlic taste and frantically overpriced. There were four of us so we ordered two portions, a plate arrived with four pieces of very buttery baguette and we full expected a second but no such luck. One portion is just two pieces of bread about 4 inches long and at £3.00 a portion, so £1.50 a piece, has to be the most expensive bread in the country. I know butter has gone up recently but honestly, £1.50!

The fish cakes were balls rather than cakes and well over cooked, the fish soup was, fish soup! Nothing remarkable about it at all and the French onion soup lacked both onion and cheese in any quantity, the eater makes a far better one but then she does have an AA rosette. Two had hake which was good, one the fillet steak in puff pastry which was a lattice affair and the steak looked pretty dry. The last was duck breast cooked as requested as very pink and let’s face it, it would be hard to make a mess of that. The vegetables lacked seasoning but then almost all veg in restaurants do with the salt police about and the Dauphinoise potatoes, if that’s what they were supposed to be, were pretty dry and claggy. Should they have just been sliced potatoes they were, well yes ok, still dry and claggy!

From other and very much older, reviews I get the impression the menu seldom changes, not a problem for the one off diner but perhaps indicates a lack of interest from the chef. Reviews from as far back as 2011 mention dishes sounding remarkably like those still on the blackboard, fish soup, fillet steak, duck breast et al.

Service started off being fine and to be fair the waiting on staff were efficient and timely but after the dessert menus were given to us we were ignored, we gave up and eventually managed to get some coffee and then sat and watched an obvious regular, gossip, for ages, with front of house who gave 100% attention to her and did not once look into the restaurant, one of us eventually had to go to them rather than the other way round. I’m not talking about a couple of minutes talk whilst processing payment but a full on, over the fence style, gossip.

All in all a pretty ordinary experience with a couple of honking negatives and nothing in the ‘excellent’ column to balance them.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to this lovely restaurant and we were warmly greeted at the door with drinks quickly being served while we chose what to eat. The food was spectacular and delicious as usual and we had a great time once again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 8loganb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We live in Sydney but have family in Chilcompton and visit once or twice a year. One ritual that we have had for more than twenty years, it seems, is to have dinner at Blostin’s.

It is in a lovely setting, the little bar for pre-dinner drinks is cute and intimate, and the service and food is always fabulous.

I can not recommend Blostin’s enough.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SamQ_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

After a disappointing elsewhere we were resigned to another indifferent meal so were very pleasantly surprised.
We chose the £23 fixed price menu and, amongst other tasty items, we particularly enjoyed the best French onion soup and braised breast of chicken with mushrooms and really good,well cooked, vegetables.
It was, unexpectedly, a very busy evening but the staff pulled out all the stops to ensure we had a really nice evening.
The decor's a bit 1970s but comfy chairs and nice table linen were much more important

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank familybieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blostin's also viewed

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
Oakhill, Shepton Mallet
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 
West Pennard, Glastonbury
Croscombe, Somerset
 

Been to Blostin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing