We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb - no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb - no complaints”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I am a regular business traveller and I stayed here 10.01.12 on a business trip. As the hotel is located at the airport entrance you really can't miss it and parking is very easy and free. The staff were spot on - very friendly (not surly at all), the restaurant had good food and was reasonably priced and the rooms were excellent - complete with complimentary wi-fi which allowed me to catch up on emails etc.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if working around Newcastle/Hexham. The hotel was only completed in September so still feels very new and it was very cheap for the high standard of room and services. True it only has a small gym but the equipment included is very good and you can watch aeroplanes take off whilst you jog!
It is about 15 minutes drive into Newcastle city centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    576
    112
    32
    38
See reviews for
223
861
124
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year to visit family in the area, and thought it would be a nicer option that a sleeping bag on the floor... We only paid £60 for the night, so weren't expecting that much, but it was fantastic!!

Great car parking, it's free and secure and there is plenty available. Receptionist was lovely, checked us in very quickly and the chocolate chip cookie (warm) was a great touch. The room was great, and we just had a standard room. Lovely king size bed, huge TV and a couple of nice tub chairs. The bathroom was superb, no bath- which didn't matter to us, but it had a huge shower, and the pressure was fantastic. Lovely shampoo/conditioner, body lotion etc. provided, and when my partner realised that he had forgotten his razor, reception sent up a shaving kit immediately. Everything was very clean, and I'm fairly fussy!
The only slight negative I could say about the room, is that we were in a corner which had only a small window- but as we visited in December and left early, we arrived in the dark and left again in the dark... so we didn't notice this.

The bed was very comfortable and despite the proximity to the airport (you can see the terminal building) the room was silent! Slept fantastically and didn't want to leave in the morning!

Staff were great in general. I can't comment on the restaurant, as we didn't eat dinner there and didn't pay for breakfast, as we knew we were leaving early. However, we did order some room service very late at night, and got two great sandwiches brought up very promtly by the hotel manager himself, who was great.

Overall, thoroughly impressed and will be staying again- definitely to see family again next Christmas, if not before. What was supposed to be just a 'place to sleep' actually turned out to be a lovely night of luxury in amongst the chaos of family Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed over at this hotel last week as I was booked on a very early morning flight to Paris and didn't want to have to get up at 3.30am to take a taxi to the airport. We checked in at about 2 pm and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who offered us a welcome choc chip cookie. The hotel in itself is brand new, albiet not opening for about 18 months after it was the built. The rooms are very comfortable and very well laid out - the kingsize bed a positive plus! The bathroom was also well laid out, fairly spacious and had a real bath. Room rate? A snip at sixty pounds. We ate dinner in the Italian restaurant - Fratello, and we were impressed with the choice, quality and service. The bar is really comfortable with good quality furniture, a good range of beers and spirits and at reasonable prices, as far as airport hotels go. As an added bonus, the carpark is free. My wife had breakfast in the room after I had gone, which she said wasn't too warm, however if we had both been in for breakfast we would have used the restaurant where it would have been hotter, however if this was the only downside, the hotel has come up tops for me. Definitely staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance, and if you know that you won't be cancelling take advantage of the advance purc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_St_Ranger421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
509 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

stayed here for two nights before going to london. we had been waiting for a couple of years to come here as we thought it would be good to come here and relax before our holiday.the hotel had been previously left empty as previous owners had gone into liquidation but it was well worth the wait. reception staff very nice and easy check in. room was fine we got a connecting room for our kids which was great. the hotel is very clean and modern. it has a nice feel to it and when it gets more busy and established it will have a better atmosphere as when we went there were not that many people there. car park is free for when you are staying there but if you leave your car there when you go on holiday you have to pay £6 per day but the staff stated that they may have packages next year including your car parking. we enjoyed are stay there and will come back as its not far from where we live. with it being so near the airport a stone's through away it takes the pressure out of getting to the airport. staff were very professional and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Couldnt find entrance, pushed into Airport car park and forced to pay to get out, hotel barrier wouldnt open. Very nice receptionist explained about entrance slip road. After all this hassle found the hotel to be excellent in every way, lovely room, food, drink, an enormous comfortable bed and interesting views of the Airport and aircraft. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed at this DoubleTree hotel just after Christmas 2011. It is ideally located a very short walk away from the airport terminal at Newcastle which also means it is also located adjacent to the Metro station. The hotel has a large car park (including an underground car park) and at the time of writing the parking is complimentary for guests staying at the hotel.
The welcome from the front desk team was professional, friendly and courteous. The room was well appointed with good furnishings, smart bathroom with a good shower, large flat screen TV, free wifi (throughout the hotel), comfortable bed and soundproofed windows.
The Metro is a short walk away. If you want to travel into Newcastle city centre, leave the car at the hotel and take the Metro (£4 for a day card).
The hotel has various food options (including room service) and I enjoyed a good steak sandwich in the bar.
I enjoyed my stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very comfortable and friendly hotel. great location for airport but we were visiting Newcastle Rugby only 2 miles away. Room was super with a very comfortale bed. Breakfast was basic by many hotel standards but very adequate. Overall really great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niddure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing