We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you have an early flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here before an early flight. The hotel is excellent with good service. We got an upgraded room which was spacious and comfortable. Overnight parking was free and its only 2 minutes walk to the terminal building. The breakfast (served form 4am) was buffet style was adequate, although it was very busy and the staff were very busy. If you have gold/diamond status with the Hilton group you need to make sure they don't try to charge you for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if leaving from Newcastle on an early flight

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear tomboy11, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of our early breakfast. The hotel is very convenient to the airport as you mentioned giving you that extra bit of time to rest before an early morning flight
We look forward to welcoming you soon for your next visit to Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,860 - 1,866 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Me and my fiance booked a one night stay here as we were heading to the bruce springstein concert at sunderland.On arrival we recieved a toasty hot cookie it was a nice touch, free secure car parking which was great.The hotel is very modern and the rooms are spacious and spotless as far as i can gather it must be a fairly new hotel.The bed and pillows were very comfy and i had a cracking nights sleep after rocking out to the boss!!! breakfast was great buffet style just help yourself would deff recommend this hotel will deff be returning soon.xx

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear jo w, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time at the Bruce Springstein concert.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton Newcastle Airport the next time you have an opportunity to visit Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed the night before our holiday as we had an early flight. It was a relaxing start to out holiday. Check in was quick and efficient and the lady who checked us in had a wonderful sense of humour. So refreshing as some receptionists can be miserable. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was modern and the shower was brilliant. We ate in the hotel and the meal was lovely as was the service. The hotel is right next to the terminal building which is handy. Some people have mentioned aircraft noise but we never heard any.
We also used the hotels car parking service. Our car was taken to a secure site by the hotel and was waiting for us at the terminal building when we returned. All in all a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonnymac2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear vonnymac2808, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay before your holiday and found found the hotel relaxing and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are travelling through Newcastle Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I booked two rooms for a one night stay for an early flight the next morning and I'm more than impressed. The rooms my family and I stayed in were pristine condition and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Best nights sleep I had had for ages and I'm seriously not exaggerating.
We also used the 8 day car thing where they take your car and park it while you're away then have it ready when you land home. It couldn't have gone smoother.
The only negative comment I had was the bar service was slow and the lady got my drink wrong when she brought it to the table but in fairness there was some sort of England football match going on and they seemed rushed off their feet so I didn't like to say anything. It may be that they were just short staffed.

Overall as this was officially the start of my holiday and it certainly got it off on the right foot! Thank you doubletree!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Baggal21, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a good nights sleep.
We look forward to wecoming you back soon for the start of your next holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is lovely and very modern like other doubletree hotels I have stayed in & you get a nice warm cookie on arrival, only complaint was a bit noisy being right beside airport terminal with planes going out till early hours and the air conditioning unit was really noisy apart from that great place to stay for early morning flights

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Samrobg, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased to read that you liked the hotel and the convenience to the airport. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance with regards to the aircon and thank you for letting us know.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are traveling through Newcastle Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Although one of the smaller Hiltons, this is an exc choice if you're flying from Newcastle. All the rooms are superbly fitted out and new. The restaurant is more than adequate for a short stop-over and the hotel is just a mins walk from the airport. On my visit, I heard no aircraft noise at all. A nice touch on arrival is a complimentary hot cookie!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Gavins1, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay; our facilities and the convenience to the airport. The chocolate chip cookie is alway popular with our guests and I am glad you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton the next time you stopover in Newcastle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Booked this hotel as we had an early morning flight and didn't want to get up too early. Having stopped at several airport I didn't have high expectations but was more than pleasantly surprised.

First impressions were excellent, a friendly welcome and a warm cookie each that were fantastic. Even my husband who doesn't normally do cookies ate all of his.

The room was clean, well equipped with all the usual amenities, radio, clock toiletries etc. very comfortable bed with sufficient pillow and good quality bed linen.

We had been planning to go to a local pub that we know does good food but after looking at the menu decided to stay in the hotel. The bar food was more than acceptable served by friendly bar staff.

Check out at 5am was quick and easy, best part was the 3 minute walk to check in!

Would I stay here again - without hesitation, in fact I've just booked for the night before our next holiday in August where again we have an early start.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Tillycass, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay especially our chocolate chip cookie and the short distance to the airport the following morning.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in August for the start to your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,265 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,060 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,321 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range: £59 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing