We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect airport hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed here before an early flight and it was well worth the money. The staff were friendly and they give you a gorgeous doubletree cookie on arrival. The room was spacious and stylish with comfy beds. The bar had a great atmosphere with everyone waiting to go on holiday the next day. They serve fab cocktails and the food in the italian was lovely. Couldnt fault the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahvb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SarahBriggs86, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our chocolate chip cookie. I also glad that you took advantage of our restaurant and bar where you enjoyed our cocktails and Italian food.
We look forward to wecoming you back on your next trip through Newcastle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    563
    106
    32
    38
See reviews for
218
829
117
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

First visit to this hotel end of May as flying out to Turkey on an early morning flight. Having stayed in quite a few airport hotels over the years all over the country, I would say this hotel rated one of the best. Very comfortable beds, no aircraft noise ( or any other noise!) our meal in the Italian bistro very enjoyable and service by all the staff was excellent. We really did enjoy our stay and even when leaving at " daft clock " in the morning to check in for our flight we got a friendly NorthEast send off from the guy at the desk!
The position is great for access by car or the Metro from Newcastle and I think for the price of our rooms and 2 weeks parking for our son's car (he travelled from Cumbria with family and we came by train from Yorkshire) it was the best airport deal for a quality hotel I've ever had. I will definitely be looking at flights from Newcastle again to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Drummermum, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the great value for money of our accomodation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton the next time you are travelling through Newcastle Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Thought we would try this Hotel as an alternative to the Premier Inn.
Big mistake!
While the rooms are beautifully presented, the maintenance of them is well below standard.
We were firstly given a disabled room. This had a shower with wetroom. The water did not drain away and
flooded the bathroom and wet the carpet around the door..
The restaurant meal was poor. I was brought the wrong starter and my partner had finished his before the correct one appeared. Bruchetta should be on toasted ciabatta bread. Mine was on a slim piece of French toast which was too crisp to cut into.
We changed rooms and at around 1am it became apparent that the aircon was not working and as there were no
opening windows, it was absolutely sweltering.
Next morning, the water pressure for the shower was very low and the bath took an age to fill.
Staff were indifferent to our complaints, and one even suggested that the aircon can be over-ridden by staff?
Are they switching it off to save money? I notice other complaints regarding this on Trip Advisor.
We always stay overnight in an airport hotel so that we can start our journey refreshed, but the Hilton was
not a happy experience for us and one which we won't be repeating!

Room Tip: Make sure the aircon is working before going to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peckisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Peckisher, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you had a problem switching on the airconditioning in the room.
I believe I have responded to your comment from our hotel survey which you also filled in and if you wish to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact me personally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donny
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

After leaving one filthy hotel we needed another one quick so after a quick look online we chose this one and glad we did. Great room and very quiet (you wouldnt know it was next to the airport) quality toiletries, new big towels and a v comfy matress. Only downside was some of the breakfast offering which was not as good as some other. ( the sausage and bacon where stewing in juice and you could see the chef microwave previously grilled bacon. Cooked by people who do not now what an english breakfast should be, but for people who do). Bar and restaurant where clean and had a good atmosphere

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear weluvusa, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially are great rooms and comfy beds.
I haved passed your comments onto the Head chef with regards to breakfast to ensure this is improved
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton Newcastle Airport in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're in the area as it doesn't have the usual atmosphere of an airport hotel. The staff are excellent, pleasant, polite efficient and welcoming. Breakfast is good too. Rooms are spacious and well fitted out. Only 25-ish minutes from the town centre by the local metro train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Duck_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Travel_Duck_UK, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient to the city.
I am also very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming and you had an enjoyable breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you at Doubletree by Hilton Newcastle Airport the next time you are in Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Usualy airports hotels are just practical, and we book them just because they are there... and this was the case, as we needed to stay overnight in Newcastle to connect two trips.
But what a great surprise! It is pretty and very well designed, modern and spotlessly cleaned.
We were welcomed really nicely (dispite being really late at night) and we were given a cookie at reception! I cant tell you how DELICIOUS it was. Nice treat when you arrive famished and tired.
The bedroom was very clean, modern and comfortable. Even the temperature was right.
The bed was SUPER comfy!! The pillows... everything, Im a very fuzzy sleeper and I had one of the best nights ever. It had tea/coffee facilities too. And ofcourse a big TV.
Bathroom small but practical, clean and modern and the toileteries were of a brand I like very much.
Great service.
Our bedroom window faced a green area and in the morning I saw a family of bunnies! :)
Great end to a great stay.
I would recommend this hotel, good value for money.
Only one thing was kind of not too good: there was a sound in the early hours of the morning (almost like a lift or a humming motor) that came out every now and then, it was not loud but still spoiled such a perfect room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMalfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear LadyMalfoy, Thank you for taking time to post a review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our delicious chocolate chip cookie and our comfy sweet dreams bed which give an excellent sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton Newcastle the next time you are travelling through the airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had an early morning flight so booked in here for one night. Hotel was lovely but found it difficult to find a parking space so double parked. Once we handed the keys in though it was their car for a fortnight so we didn't care! Despite it being next to the airport it was very quiet. Room was lovely, clean with a beautiful toilet / shower room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletree_11, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Jimbo1306, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our parking package to be stressfree. I am glad that you found our rooms quiet and are shower room beautiful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree by Hilton on your next visit to Newcastle Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing