We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed before flying out on holidays the following morning. We had expected the basic functionality of an airport hotel, but were both pleasantly surprised to find the Double Tree went well beyond this. We found the hotel to be comfortable, stylish with a clean fresh look. Its location is perfect if you have an early flight the next morning. The only disappointing thing was that despite the fuss Double Tree make about their chocolate chip cookies, we were never offered one, and unfortunately I forgot to ask. Other than that, it was a very nice hotel to spend a night before our holidays.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    600
    118
    36
    39
See reviews for
239
904
128
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location with easy reach to plenty of attractions.

The reception staff were warm and greeted us nicely, we even got a free cookie!

The food is good, but the service in the restaurant, not so much, particularly in the morning at breakfast. To put it in a nutshell, the service was slow. That is apart from one shining light among the team at Frattellos, Lauren. She was a great waitress, very attentive. She had everything under control. So thanks Lauren!

Overall an enjoyable stay in a lovely room at a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenLBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Having not been at Newcastle Airport much in recent years but remembering having seen this hotel being built, we decided to make a point of staying one night before a departure. The decision was helped by an excellent offer at £60 including breakfast. On checking we did not get the "Chocolate Cookie" we thought we should. Still unsure we went up to our room with which we were very impressed. Still not sure about the Cookie situation we read the guest information book which clearly stated we should have received one each at checkin. When we then went out to look around we asked at reception and were given an apology and promptly received our Cookies - which we then enjoyed outside in the sunshine. Returning later we used the excellent shower to freshen up before going down to the bar. Here we ordered drinks and some food from the "Tapa" menu. When the food arrived we both looked at it with surprise as neither dish looked anything like we had imagined - much short of what we expected. Reluctant to complain we said nothing until later asked what we thought, when we both felt we had to express our disappointment. Both dishes were, to us, simply not as described on the menu. To be fair, though, the response was quick and positive with an immediate offer to half the bill. We were grateful for that response and had another round of drinks before retiring for the night.
In retrospect we decided it was probably just "one of those things" and probably not typical, and it was handled well. The room was very good though and the breakfast the following morning also - particularly at the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCTouristas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buelach, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed at the doubletree hotel in Newcastle the first time and for sure not the last time when i am in the area. Its five minutes walking distance from the airport. Friendly staff at reception and the restaurant and bar. The rooms are very nicely made and spacious. The welcome cookie is also a nice thing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here before myself and boyfriend went on holiday! Great location, very comfortable rooms and a lovely Italian restaurant.
Very friendly reception staff and love the cookies on arrival-brilliant touch!
Booked in advance for £65.
Would recommend and certainly stay again in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa22Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to the Great North Run.The hotel staff were great on check-in - with plenty of advice on how to get into the city the following day. Rooms are lovely and breakfast was well cooked with plenty of choice. On returning from the run even though we had checked out earlier in the day, the staff were there with a glass of bucks fizz and a room had been arranged to shower and change in - it was these little touches that make this an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed over night in Sept 2012, parking no problem free to guests booking was fine polite and courtious staff. Modern fresh hotel. Room just great modern, trendy double glazed could not hear any plans but you cannot not open windows you do have air con though and everything you need in an room fab bathroom large tv tea and coffee comfy bed house keeping staff very polite and friendly. We had a meal in the hotel could not fault it perfect, breakfast fab could not do enough will go back.

Room Tip: I had room 301 third floor facing airport fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,212 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing