We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Superb location for Newcastle Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Superb location for Newcastle Airport”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We did overnight stay & parking as had a early check-in for a morning flight, It takes the stress out of getting up at daft o'clock in the morning to drive to the airport & park up before checking in. Location is excellent, 1 minute walk to check-in desks. The staff were friendly & helpful. Warm cookies on arrival. Hotel & room modern, everything of good quality, very nice comfortable stay, everything was perfect. We had a meal it was very nice, great service the drinks list is on an Ipad! A great way to start your holiday. We will stay again, Many thanks to the staff at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanGirlRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear CaribbeanGirlRedcar, many thanks for your kind comments. Our location indeed makes us perfect for guests using Newcastle Airport as we are adjacent to the terminal. Your comments and thanks will be passed to our staff, and we hope that you will return next time you use the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    600
    118
    36
    39
See reviews for
239
904
128
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with one of my children & a family member. Rooms were spot on - clean, comfy, everything we needed. Met friends in the bar; staff attentive & cocktails lovely! Breakfast lovely. All staff we encountered were really great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel looks to have it all, walking distance to the airport, yet quiet inside. A great restaurant, bar and facilities. But the beds were extremely hard, the air con continued to make noise despite being switched off, and the shower pressure was so low it was more of a dribble. All things considered not what I'd expect from a Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Nathan H, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues during your stay with us, and I can assure you that your comments have been passed to the relevant departments to be actioned. I am glad that you found our hotel to be otherwise enjoyable, and I hope that you will return to the hotel in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am always wary of driving to Newcastle Airport for an early morning fight so booked into this new hotel at the airport and what a treat! Welcomed by smiling staff and a warm cookie! Rooms were fabulous tho the only twin room we could book, ie twin beds, was a room with disabled facilities so the bathroom wasnt quite right for us. I do like my friend but was not hapy to share a bed with her! when i tried to book on line the only twin room i could book was with the disabled facilities and I felt quite guilty, as an able bodied person, using it! The beds were divine, rooms soundproof, food in the bar was great, massive portions and very tasty. I felt I had started my holiday a day early. Well done DoubleTree!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed overnight on business and had conference facilities booked the following day. Found all the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Really nice hotel, good facilities, room was spotless, really comfortable bed, food was good standard. Location is brilliant - I flew in to Newcastle for the first time and almost got into a taxi until I spotted the hotel about 150 yards opposite the Airport terminal :-) Free Internet connection as well which made a pleasant change. Many hotels charge. I will definitely book again next time I'm up there on business. Room rates very decent for such a good hotel as well. Although I didn't use it so can't comment on it, they have a Gym as well. Very impressed overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Arriving from Scotland by train, then Metro to Newcastle Airport for a business event, you hope for a good welcome at any hotel. Doubletree excelled! Smiling staff, a warm cookie and expert service.
My room was perfect in all ways, the bed was brilliant, the bathroom had all the right amenities and most of all even the room staff smiled and said hello as you passed by.
Now some food… there was a group of us and yes it took a little while to get us all served. But seated in the warm bar with a amicable barman, the wait was OK. The food however was exceptional – massive portions and wonderful quality.
Next our event; nothing was too much trouble. Tables re- organised – no problem, a little cooler please – no problem, sound down please – no problem. A total pleasure to stay here and organise an event here. Big thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Hants_Travellers, thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments. It is always great to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and come away from our hotel feeling well looked after. We aim to provide the best experience possible for guests and event organisers no matter how big or small their event might be. I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel the next time you use Newcastle Airport, or organise a conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked this hotel because they did a great deal for 1 week's parking combined with a night in the hotel for only £86. Parking alone was going to cost £46, so this meant a night here would cost us the same as the Premier Inn across the road so we opted for a little bit of luxury. The hotel is extremely clean and modern. The check in process was friendly and very quick and there was free wi-fi.
The room was amazing! There is tonnes of space, the most comfortable bed and a bathroom with a super powerful shower and nice products to use. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic as well. We had a pizza which was delicious and the atmosphere is really nice.
This hotel would make me fly from Newcastle again just because it made me feel like we were already on holiday. It is a 3 minute walk across the road to the airport too so no shuttles or taxis to worry about!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,287 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,212 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,096 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing