We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Doubletree by Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit to Doubletree by Hilton”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was the first time I have stayed at a Doubletree by Hilton hotel and I wasn't disappointed. It was a last minute booking and it was one of the cheaper hotels in the area for the night I required, the standard of everything was very good and just what I needed for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 687janetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    601
    119
    36
    39
See reviews for
239
906
128
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel has all of the great comforts and facilities that you'd expect from a doubletree. The gym was great and we all found the beds very comfortable. There did however seem to be a recurring theme with our group however, and that was that most of our party were very cold in their rooms. We were told in the morning that this was because of the large amount of energy inefficient glass surrounding the building. No compensation was offered and because of this, we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adsharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Adsharrison, many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. Feedback, be it positive or negative, is important to us, and enables us to maintain and improve on the high standards of service that we provide to our guests. I am sorry to note that you had problems with the heating during your stay, I appreciate your reluctance to return to the hotel but I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to return in the future. If there is anything you would like to discuss please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Who was running this event?

I don't know where to start? As we entered the room each table was dressed completely different.... some plates at the top of the setting, by the side, missing side plates, missing cutlery... missing salt and pepper.... and as for the butter? May sound petty but when you are spending money on an evening out at the double tree hilton you would atleast hope that simple standards can be met....

3 members of incompetent staff who clearly forgot to take their happy pills as there wasn't a smile in the room? Had the staff been told off before the event? My partner had asked a girl for the salt and pepper however when we asked she appeared not to understand the request? Perhaps some training in basic customer service.

And as for the desert... well all I can say is I sent it back!

What has happened to this venue? Many of our friends have expressed how much they enjoyed their christmas party at the double tree, so what happened?

few saving graces - The Upstairs bar is brilliant, Vibrant staff and a great atmosphere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Food and Beverage Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Stacey D,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on our Michael Buble Tribute night, it is only through feedback that we constantly develop our business. As per our usual procedure all tables were checked prior to service to ensure the correct standard, yes we had side plates in two positions on different tables due to numbers on each table requested by different parties. During the course of the night I only received one request per settings due to your fore-mentioned Salt and Pepper which we immediately replaced.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the Dessert, we are aware that it was not up to standard and this was replaced along with compensation to any relevant tables, along with fresh cutlery. I have received only positive comments back from guests with regards to the staff and their service.

Kind Regards
Matthew Sheath
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited the hotel for a valentines getaway. The hotel itself is absolutely amazing and good value for money, the staff were lovely and helpful and the food from the restaurant was delicious. Greatly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Airport hotels are a notorious mixed bag in the UK so it's unusual to find one that really ticks the boxes - but this one certainly does.

It's a new-build modern low-rise building, an easy walk from the arrivals area. This is the first plus-point, no hanging around for grotty bus transfers - you can see the hotel from the terminal building and even with luggage, it's an easy walk.

Inside, the hotel is modern and very high standard. The regular rooms are very well appointed, bathroom has good quality amenities and there is no airport noise. Bar and restaurant are well stocked, comfortable and spacious - good place to have a quite drink or chat with colleagues/friends. There's a small outdoor seating area for those balmy summer evenings!

Breakfast scores high - good choice of continental and typical UK options. Added bonus that the airport is connected directly to Newcastle Metro which makes trips into the city very easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I was working in the area in the cold and could not have been more delighted with the comfort and luxury of the Hilton. The warm cookie on arrival was the icing on the cake! King room was incredibly comfortable, so comfortable I availed of room service. Great showers and lovely toiletries (Crabtree & Evelyn). Really decent breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Really good value too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naas-Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,288 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing