We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went out of their way to make it special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night as we were flying to New York early the next morning.

The room service was fantastic and they even put roses on the bed for us.

Fantastic overall experience - the manager personally took us to our room.

The only improvement would be the selection of meals via room service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,425 - 1,431 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is very good and very clean, and food is very acceptable. It's a little pricey... and it would be nice if the reception staff could be just a little more tolerant of our idiosyncracies and inexperience. It's not everyday we stay at the DoubleTree! But we shall certainly stay there again if we fly from Newcastle airport (which is excellent) if only for the 'free' parking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very good service, comfortable rooms (Premier inn Pillows more comfortable) but a very good stay. The transfer form the hotel to the airport is just minutes as it is right next to the terminal I would use this again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear iant1, many thanks for your review of our hotel. Our location makes us perfect for using the airport as it's just a couple of minutes' walk away. I hope you will book with us again the next time you have an early flight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Fantastic from start to finish... great staff, helpful. Room spacious and 2nd to none. Comfortable bed, great bathroom. No noise from Airport even though we were less than 500 metres away from it. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiltedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in the Doubletree Hilton on Newcastle Airport on 04 March prior to flying out early the next day. We were a group of 4 staying 2 to a room in room numbers 201 and 207. We all went to bed early owing to an early morning flight. We were all constantly awakened by the noise coming from the ceiling vent just inside the bedroom entrance door which we assumed was the air conditioning even though we had it turned off. We have made another reservation for 14 May and hope that we don't have another disturbed night prior to our early departure on 15 March.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

To be perfectly honest it would be very difficult to find any faults whatsoever. All the staff seemed genuinely friendly and totally professional. The quality of the accomodation was very good even tho I was not in one of the better rooms and it had only a small window it was perfectly adequate. The standard of furnishings was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Allan G, many thanks for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you thought our amenities good quality. Our staff are highly trained to deliver the best level of service possible. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago, and as a regular HHonors Gold member this was my third stay in a few months.

The checkin staff remembered me and upgraded me to deluxe room 252 which is a triangular corner room - it's larger than the others and has very funky electric curtains which you can control from the bed! I was also given a free breakfast voucher in line with the rate I paid, and a free drink voucher.

The hotel is literally right outside the airport and metro station - the centre of town is 20 minutes away and I've used this hotel as a base for it before.

For about £45 a night (or 10000 Hilton points) it is very difficult to fault the hotel. Breakfast starts from 0430(!) in Fratello's restaurant and is the usual offer at a Doubletree - perfectly fine to start any day.

Doubletree can be a very inconsistent brand but this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetset00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,567 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,445 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#11 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range: £60 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing