We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double delight at DoubleTree!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very good hotel - I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others. Helena on reception was very good and the hotel is well located for the Metro. Room rates were good. Breakfast and size and cleanliness of the room were all great. No significant issues, though noise of planes can be a pain even with triple glazing!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank harveydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I strongly recommend Double Tree for its proximity to Newcastle Airport (right across the road) and for its A-Class services. I arrived late in night , tired coz of the long travel and for me it was a blessing to have a good hotel so nearby. The staff took extra efforts to ensure my stay was comfortable ! Thanks Double Tree and Keep it Up !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank preetyb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 reasons 1) I loved Doubletree Hilton in Leeds 2) I am an airline geek and 3) I wanted to try a new hotel in Newcastle. The hotel is practically outside the airport terminal, and you can see the hotel from the airport metro station. I asked a receptionist for a runway view if possible and was given a room where I could see the planes taxing. The corridors and public areas are very clean and modern decor, but slightly maze like. Rooms were immaculate especially bathrooms but carpet is hideous pattern. Huge bed capable of holding 3, but that is a Hilton thing. Slept great and the engines noise is not an issue. There is an Italian restaurant where I had a nice meal for a good price but beware the portions, they are huge. Also had 2 snacks in the bar next to the restaurant for good price as well. The bar does a curry Tuesday and a steak Thursday, and had a good steak meal and drink for £14. You will not go hungry in this hotel. Breakfast is served from 04:30 am for the early flights and was excellent. The breakfast room is in the Italian restaurant and the waitresses were really friendly, but that is Newcastle for you, the friendliest city in Britain. Overall prices for everything in the hotel was very reasonable, including dry cleaning. Almost perfect apart form having to pay for broadband quality wifi, although a slower wifi is free ( the Leeds Doubletree is free) . Lovely hotel. Brilliant for a early flight. Also a small gym which I used. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finster186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed over before our early morning flight. We were delighted to see that a Doubletree was available on the airport complex as we have stayed at the Doubletree Leeds on numerous occasions and it is of an exceptional standard. This hotel is extremely convenient for the airport terminal building and offers a very good park and stay deal. The public areas are comfortable and inviting, there is a good menu and the food was delicious.
The disappointments for us were that we chose to eat in the bar and our food was brought to our table by the catering staff but apparently our utensils had to be delivered by the bar staff - therefore we sat for at least 5 minutes with our meals rapidly cooling whilst a member of the bar staff had a free slot to finally bring us a knife and fork. Lovely meal but poor organisation. Secondly, the bedroom was basic but comfortable, however we had to remake the bed as the quilt had only been slid halfway into the cover as if someone was in a desperate hurry to make it ready for the next guests.
We wouldn't stay at this hotel again but it definitely won't stop us looking at other Doubletree by Hilton hotels as we have had excellent experiences in the past.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Dee977, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had in Columbus bar, although I am sorry that it took a couple of minutes for the cutlery to arrive. Our rooms are decorated to a high standard and contain modern amenities, and we receive good feedback on the level of comfort and convenience in our bedrooms. I hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Clean hotel, decent size king room and bed, located right next to the airport and perfect for the early start. Good shower and toiletries. Our room rate was £40 after cashback which represented excellent value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SMG701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a very early flight and staying here the night before was a much more relaxed start to the holiday. We could walk to the airport terminal. The hotel is comfortable and the restaurant is fine. It is better than other airport hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Attending a friends wedding evening event I faced the dilemma of getting to and from Newcastle Airport, not wanting to be reliant upon Taxi service I decided to book into the Double tree hotel. The Double tree is a very recent and thoroughly modern Hotel. I stayed in Room 301 and what a magnificent room, roomy, tasteful decor, clean and well lit with a sumptuous bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. My only criticism would be the mode of keeping the breakfast food hot, the Sausages and beans were steamed from their container being immersed in boiling water. Bar prices were reasonable just about what you would expect in a Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,308 reviews
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,044 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range: £61 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing