We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Quality stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here the night before we flew on holiday. The hotel is next to the terminal building. The hotel has its own car park - cost was 5 pounds.
Very good check-in at which we received two warm cookies - a nice touch.
They gave us a letter warning us to avoid breakfast between 9.30 and 10.30 because the hotel was busy - but when we did arrive at 0930 the restaurant was half empty.
Room was very nice, very modern, well air conditioned and very comfortable bed. As you are next to the terminal you will hear planes taking off and landing.
We paid for dinner bed and breakfast - but don't bother doing this as the set menu only has two main courses in the price - some salmon and a veggie pizza. They are obviously used to people complaining about this as the waitress went to reception and credited are account with forty pounds which then allowed us to choose from the full menu.
It's a really smart restaurant with a great menu - we had a slight issue with one of the meals which was raised with the restaurant manager, who didn't handle things as well as he could and spoke to us in a derogatory manner. We spoke to the duty manager of the hotel who understood our complaint and dealt with the issue appropriately.
The bar is really nice with great service. Apart from the hiccup in the restaurant we couldn't fault this hotel.
Breakfast was really good - a great selection and it was kept hot which is always an achievement.
Overall a quality experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tayhay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    595
    117
    35
    39
See reviews for
236
893
127
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Recently my partner and I stayed at your hotel as we wished for a romantic night away due to a very important anniversary.

When visiting Newcastle we usually stay at the Premier Inn behind Hilton but on this occasion we wanted to pay a little extra to get something special and unique, we reserved the King Deluxe Room with Breakfast for £120 which is well over our budget for a hotel. When we arrived at our room, there was no water in the room, no slippers, no dressing gowns, Bath Products were missing and the room specification did not meet the specification on the website which lead us to believe that we were not in the right room and instead placed in the King Guest Room.

We called the reception and they did not move us to another room and instead brought only a couple of the items that were missing.

We find this wholly inappropriate and this ruined a large part of our night and annoyed us as we felt that we were placed in a different room and your staff tried to compensate this by giving us only a few of the items in which we were entitled too.

Room Tip: Make Sure It's The One That You Paid For!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AshleyGraham2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear AshleyGraham2014, thank you for your review of our hotel. I understand that you have been contacted directly regarding your experience. I hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We checked in and the modern hotel gave a good . Received recognition as a HHonours member. The room was well appointed.
The only negative aspect was that the bar area is a little like a sport bar and very dark. There was limited other areas where we could sit and have a quite drink in daylight. The Breakfast at £10 was Ok ish but nothing special.

A good airport hotel

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
773 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Returned to this hotel after a stay in October. We had a slight problem with some of the rooms booked for others in our party ( ie different types of rooms than those requested) and I had emailed the hotel with this feedback.

We were told to let the manager know when we were returning and we did. He kindly orgAnised an upgrade for us, was very helpful and also phoned after we had checked in to make sure everything was ok.

This hotel is perfect - lovely spacious rooms, free wifi, amazing breakfasts, tea & coffee facilities and iron & ironing board.

Room was very well sound proofed.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines-Upon-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stay here maybe once or twice a month, It is very convenient for the airport and always delivers an overnight stay well. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay outside of the city and 100% if you are using the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayin be4 flyin out to tenerife early mornin classy hotel very clean polite staff swiff check inn ideal location stone throw from airport but the heat can't sleep and no matter how hard I try the aircon will not turn down even tho I have it on I dnt want to complain at 11 pm when I have a 6 flight but 4 the 90 pound be better of stayin at home or try premier Inn my god the heat no windows ethier. Help ha

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel - I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others. Helena on reception was very good and the hotel is well located for the Metro. Room rates were good. Breakfast and size and cleanliness of the room were all great. No significant issues, though noise of planes can be a pain even with triple glazing!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harveydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,184 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,075 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing